We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accommodation, sharp pricing,poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barclay Suites Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Average accommodation, sharp pricing,poor service”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is my 4th stay (former Chiefly Suites) over a number of years. Repeat visits attest to previous good experience, but this time will be my last. Stayed with hubby and parents in a 2 bedroom exec apartment. The good: price - NZD210 per night, two bathrooms, central location, beds (really comfy), self catering. The bad: long wait for lifts, the service, view (opposite courts), noise (no double glazing), no air-conditioning (but too noisy to have windows/doors open), Worst thing was arrogant and argumentative front desk staff and non-response to requests for extra towels (booking for 4 people, but only 3 towels (same problem both nights of our stay) and response on a polite request for a toaster to be bought up was to argue that there was one there, he hadn't looked properly, told my father to check again, he did so and responded definitely not there, then was told, we'll come up and check ... he was affronted and although widely travelled, had NEVER been treated so rudely by front desk service staff - left a very poor taste.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from Albert Street should help with noise issues. Deluxe 2 bedroom have better r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelcums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback Nelcums

I thank you for staying with us 4 x previously, All suites here at Barclay Suites have portable heaters and fans (more can be provided on request)

All Barclay Suites are fully self contained with kitchenettes, White ware (Stainless steel) and washer/dryer, linen and comfortable beds.

All our hotel guest requests are actioned in a professional and timely manner ensuring this is done with the utmost respect to all guests, I am very surprised and disappointed to read your feedback.

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    240
    119
    41
    13
See reviews for
150
227
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Got a free upgrade from 1 bedroom to 2 bedroom..very clean room..awesome..git the 24 floor suite..big balcony with awesome sights of auckland..got me by surprise why it does not comes with AC in room..only to know how chilly the weather is..10min walk to skytower n nearby shopping area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermanshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback Hermanshah,

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

All Barclay Suites have balconies with great views of Auckland City and the Waitemata Harbour, For our guests comfort all 1 and 2 bedroom suites have portable fans and heaters in each suite. (more can be delivered on request)

As you have mentioned Barclay Suites is close to most attractions including Bars, Restaurants and only 3-5 minutes Queen Street the main Shopping district.

I look forward to welcoming back to Barclay Suites soon.

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Beautiful property, lovely appointments including washing machine/dryer and even dishwasher in kitchen, central location but a lot of street noise all night. I would suggest you ask to book a rear room away from the street

Room Tip: Ask for room at the rear to avoid news
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback Cheryl B

I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Barclay Suites as you have mention has all Kitchen and Laundry Facilities with spacious 1 and 2 bedroom suites and we are centrally located in the heart of Auckland city.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We chose these apartments because if the location, price, and laundry facilities in the room.
What I didn't notice was that this place didn't have AC. Luckily it was fall and cool enough to open the windows and use the fans....unfortunately the bars below were open til 4:30 am on the weekend and were too loud to get any sleep.

Front desk staff was ok but the place was filthy. The halls weren't vacuumed the whole time we were there. Big cobwebs in the room show it wasn't properly cleaned in a long time. The most frustrating part was that the tv audio was 5-6 seconds behind the video which was quite confusing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback Hilo Chris

Barclay Suites appreciates all guests’ feedback.

We have addressed your concerns during your stay.

Thank you for staying at Barclay Suites, We hope to see you again on your next visit to Auckland

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is my second time at this hotel (I stayed here once before the name change). My impressions:

- apartments are huge and they have absolutely everything you could need
- wi fi works very well
- tv has a reasonable number of channels
- bed is comfortable
- bathroom is nice and they provide small bottles of shampoo, shower gel and cream

My only criticism would be the sign they put at the front which says "no guests allowed between 10pm and 7am" I hope they don't really enforce that rule since I believe that I have the right to have people over to visit me at any hour of the day.

Also to all those other reviewers complaining about the level of noise, that's the most ridiculous complaint I have ever heard! They do sell those things called ear plugs at any pharmacy, if you travel without them you only have yourself to blame since all cities have "noise"

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_au1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback Globetrotter_au1982,

As you have mentioned Barclay Suites has all you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay, spacious suites, great views and is located in the heart of Auckland City.

Barclay Suites is only minutes from Restaurants, Bars and just a short 5 minute walk down to Queen Street (Main Street of Auckland City) Being in the Central Business District we do experience street noise.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd stay with us.

Regards

Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It was probably my oversight, but I thought that Barclay was more a hotel, than serviced apartments before I booked. On the plus side, like the other reviewers have said, the location is perfect for those who want to be located in the the city center. The view of the city is awesome from the 23rd floor. The size of the apartment was great, with a bedroom, bathroom (and clothes washer), small kitchen and lounge. There were some downsides though. The wifi was problematic to say the least and the apartment in general was low tech. City noise was very evident, especially at night. (windows are single glazed). The one day peaked at 30 degrees during the day. As there is no aircon in the room, it remained unbearably hot throughout the night. The room decor was starting to feel tired, with a large broken tile in the kitchen, a dirty duvet cover, and grime covering the light switch and kettle. Ah yes, I forgot to mention the smell of stale fat throughout the lounge and kitchen, probably because the stove extractor fan had not been serviced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamnewanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback Iamnawanda,

Thank you for staying with us I am glad you tried a Apartment style Hotel, we do have all facilities as you have listed in our spacious self contained suites.

All our suites have portable fans in all bedrooms extra fans can be brought to your room on request.

Thank you again for all feedback

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We get a 2 bedroom apartment on level 5. The apartment was clean, new, modern, very nice. The bedsheets were so smooth and silky, I can sleep for hours. The location is in the heart of city, very close to Elliott stables and a shopping mall. Although finding the free car parking was a headache, the Wilson pay parking was just behind the hotel. This hotel is great for group of friends or even family..just comfortable. Totally recommend this place for its price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsFloridaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback Ms Floridajo,

I am glad that our suite exceeded your expectation with our spacious clean Suites our central location in the "heart of city" and yes I agree.... especially with our high quality linen!

As of mid last week, I am pleased to advise that Barclay Suites have our own reserved allocated Wilsons car parks which makes the parking situation easier.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,045 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Suites Auckland

Property: Barclay Suites Auckland
Address: 74 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barclay Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Qualmark 4.5 star rated Barlcay Suites Auckland is only 100 metres from Queen St, in the heart of the CBD - and look out for fresh new suite decor in 2014! With an average of 50 sq metres per suite, there are 110 one or two bedroom configurations to choose from. Each suite is fitted with contemporary furnishings, quality kitchen and laundry appliances along with full self catering facilities. A special feature in all two bedroom suites is the inclusion of two bathrooms. We have thought of everything for your stay - flat screen TV, SKY TV, broadband internet access (fee applies), stereo with iPod/MP3 playout to name just a few of our features. Enjoy the sparkle of the Waitemata Harbour from our Harbour View suites or enjoy the fast pace of the city in our CBD View suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barclay Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Barclay Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing