We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barclay Suites Auckland
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Barclay during a visit to Auckland to see a concert at the Vector, It was better than expected the room was spacious and clean, with a nice kitchen and lounge area and king bed .The Staff were good and parking was a breeze as they have a deal with Wilson parking for 24 hr parking for $32.00 . It was an easy walk to the Vector and we would stay again , give it a go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback Angela H

I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us!

All Barclay Suites is suited for all occasion whether you are going to a concert, shopping or just a night out.

Barclay Suites is located in the Heart of Auckland city close to everything eg Sky Tower Restaurants, Bars and Public Transport.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites on your next trip to Auckland.

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    235
    115
    40
    13
See reviews for
143
223
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We flew into Auckland from Vancouver, a 14 hour overnight flight, arriving at 5am. We booked an additional night so that we could get a room rather than wait for the 3pm check in time. Good move. The room was a self contained flat with fully fitted kitchen, lounge/diner, bathroom with washer dryer, everything the traveller could need. We had lots of sleep to catch up on before moving on with a hired campervan. This enabled us to really chill out, catch up with our domestics. The Suites are situated centrally in Auckland so everything is within easy walking distance. The staff are friendly and helpful. Areally good place to stay, highly recommended for small families, they do two bedroom suites, or two couples.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback MikeyboySouthUK


I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us!

As you have mentioned we are located in the heart of Auckland City close to attractions

With a short walk to restaurant and Bars.

Yes we do have spacious well equipped 1 or 2 bedroom suites

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites, next time you are down under from the UK

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Arrived a couple of days ago, the guy on reception was brilliant and he allowed us to check in a little early.Great customer service :-) We'd booked thru Wotif and got a fairly good rate.

Our apartment was on level 2 but still got a small view of the sky tower but not much else. Apartment was spacious, clean and modern.

Night time wasn't so good. We arrived back after our night out (just after midnight) and a council truck was parked across the road for over an hour with it's engine revving and lights flashing so even though we'd closed the blinds the noise and light made it impossible to sleep.

I know this was out of the hotels control and the hotel is located in the middle of a large city but I feel black out curtains and double glazing at least would have helped.
So consequently got very little sleep which spoils the experience a little.

Otherwise, good location, nice apartments, good price and good service - just bring your earplugs and eye masks!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoesandhandbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback Shoes and handbags

Barclay Suites appreciates all guests’ feedback.

We have addressed your concerns during your stay.

Thank you for staying at Barclay Suites, We hope to see you again on your next visit to Auckland

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2227
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very clean and well equipped apartment,parking is reasonably close,comfortable beds, and all staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.This is a central city location so comes with advantages and disadvantages of down town city location. We asked to move from the third floor because it was too near the main street.The 19th floor was much quieter and we loved the spectacular views from the harbour one way to the lit up Sky Tower the other way.Reception staff went out of their way to help us,great service and nice guys.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor unless you are a night owl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback mama2227

I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us!

As you have mentioned we are located in the heart of Auckland City close to attractions, sky tower, restaurant and Bars, and with our spacious well equipped suites and our friendly team who are always here to look after you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

On the last destination in NZ, we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. On the first night, we got high floor, which offered nice view but my friend could not sleep because of outdoor noise. The next morning we asked to change the room and the receptionist in charge, Brad, was so friendly and helpful. We moved to other side and lower floor, it was perfect. On the same day, the parking gate was out of order and we could not take our car out. Brad was again very helpful and efficient, the technician came not long after he called. The hotel location is really great, very close to the Sky Tower. Overall it was a great experience in Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangkoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback Mangkoe

I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you experienced excellent customer service from one of our Suite Ambassador Brad.

All Barclay Suites have great views of the City or the Waitemata Harbour. I thank you for sharing your great photos.

Barclay Suites is located in the Heart of Auckland city close to everything eg Sky Tower Restaurants, Bars and Public Transport.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip down under from Bangkok.

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I recently returned from a 3 week stay in this serviced hotel/apartment, it is rated 4.5 stars, but beware European travelers it is equal to a low 3 star. Our room had an air of grubbiness to it, dirty cushions, window blinds stained, dirty windows, visible streak marks on cupboard doors. Bed linen was a polyester/cotton mix, would have expected pure cotton. Some of the crockery was chipped and there was a cheap white chopping board supplied which had yellow staining on it, while I am aware that these boards stain easily, they are cheap and easily replaceable alternatively use a different color or ceramic/glass ones. Room service was very lax, sheets were changed and towels replaced, floors vacuumed but vacuum cleaner not supplied as stated, no dusting, I actually wrote "dust me" and "dust me too" on tv and tv stand, but after two days could wait no longer and bought furniture polish. Also lift was out of service for several leaving only one to service all 25 floors as we were high up using the stairs was out of the question, they did apologise but only after 3 days. Reception staff very friendly and helpful, but area very small and tight if more than 6 people in it, it feels claustrophobic. Parking is very expensive about €20 per 24 hr period cheaper option is available but car must be removed by 6 a.m. or charged €3 every half hour thereafter. Internet service also available but also expensive, Sky TV refers to one sky movie channel and one sky TV channel, 2 sports and sky news and MTV, we lost one channel half way through, was expecting better really. If I had booked 3 star I would have got what I expected, but having saved for this trip was disappointed with accomodation.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have less a/c noise, we had a car park or something below and large roof fans run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback Jelly bean 142

Barclay Suites appreciates all guests’ feedback.

We have addressed your concerns during your stay.

Thank you for staying at Barclay Suites, We hope to see you again on your next visit to Auckland

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night here, room was nice size and had everything we needed. Liked the fact we had our own bathrooms. Not hotel parking but there is a rate with public parking next door, bit annoying. Good location, close to sky tower. Wifi has to be paid by the hour.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Issy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback Issy C

Barclay Suites appreciates all guests’ feedback.

We have addressed your concerns during your stay.

Thank you for staying at Barclay Suites, We hope to see you again on your next visit to Auckland

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Suites Auckland

Property: Barclay Suites Auckland
Address: 74 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barclay Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Qualmark 4.5 star rated Barlcay Suites Auckland is only 100 metres from Queen St, in the heart of the CBD - and look out for fresh new suite decor in 2014! With an average of 50 sq metres per suite, there are 110 one or two bedroom configurations to choose from. Each suite is fitted with contemporary furnishings, quality kitchen and laundry appliances along with full self catering facilities. A special feature in all two bedroom suites is the inclusion of two bathrooms. We have thought of everything for your stay - flat screen TV, SKY TV, broadband internet access (fee applies), stereo with iPod/MP3 playout to name just a few of our features. Enjoy the sparkle of the Waitemata Harbour from our Harbour View suites or enjoy the fast pace of the city in our CBD View suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barclay Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Barclay Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing