We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Not the Best Hotel For Business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barclay Suites Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Barclay Suites while travelling for business in Auckland. My 15 night stay was OK. Good location, close to everything. However, the amenities leave a lot to be desired. Wifi is outrageous for what you get, when there is free or very cheap internet available in the area *DON'T GET THE HOTEL WIFI!* The cleaners never left me enough toilet paper (My package only came with weekly cleaning), and there is no central heating or air. A few quite cold nights, and I would image the summer months could get really hot. The staff were all friendly and really helpful. For a 15 night stay, I would have hoped that they would give me a room on a higher floor, but I was on the 3rd floor. I could hear all the traffic and noise on the weekends.

Hotel would be good for a couple of nights, but I wouldn't recommend it for business travelers.

Room Tip: Above level 5 or you will hear all the noise and people on the streets.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nicolehender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback nicolehender,

Barclay Suites appreciates all guests’ feedback

We have addressed your concerns during your stay.

Thank you for staying at Barclay Suites, We hope to see you again on your next visit to Auckland

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for Barclay Suites Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night back in March whilst visiting Auckland, the apartment was spacious with a decent size bathroom, adequate kitchen facilities, lounge/TV and a comfortable bed. It was clean and affordable id definitely stay there again. Great for groups (concerts etc) or couples who don't want anything too pricey. Location is also great- in walking distance to main shopping streets and bars, with the viaduct just down the hill

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Becshutson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback Becshutson,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites.

As you have mentioned Barclay Suites is located in the heart of Auckland City, close to most facilities - (Skycity, supermarkets, public transport, Queen St, Harbour )

We pride ourselves on our clean spacious self contained Suites and our friendly team members who are here to assist with all our guest requests, All Suites have private balcony with great views

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Franz Staufer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

One thing which is the best about this property is its awesome location.Its right in the Auckland CBD area and near to majorly all the places around.So me & my father during our Auckland visit for some business choose to stay in barclays & yes we were really very happy & satisfied with our choice.Though one cant locate the building that easily for the 1st time as it does not have a big billboard & its a quite lean building,not much wide.But the best part was the walking distance to the harbor,queen street was just round the corner,the grocery stores & the britomart bus and train hub.We initially booked a inner facing room towards the city but on arrival we were given a upgrade to the harbor facing room and it was indeed a view to die for.The Auckland tower was just in your living room ,so near & that was amazing.The room was spotless clean with all basic utensils for cooking,clean toilets & rooms & we called in for room service twice during our stay.Overall the people at the reception were really very helpful and gave us many excellent tips for the city as we were new in Auckland.I did not find any negatives for the property though i am not concerned much about what other people say negative about this property but for us it was a excellent stay.Surely will visit again.

Room Tip: Please choose higher floor rooms only facing the skytower as well as the beautiful harbor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sagar363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback Sagar363,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites.

Barclay Suites is located in the heart of Auckland City, close to most facilities (Skycity, supermarkets, public transport, Queen St, Harbour )

We pride ourselves on our clean spacious self contained Suites and our friendly team members who are here to assist with all our guest requests, All Suites have a private balcony with great views! as you have mentioned of the Sky Tower which is only a few minutes walk from Barclay Suites.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Franz Staufer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was our second stay and pleased we chose to stay again. We forgot to book a high floor apartment and they were booked out when we checked on the phone but when we checked in they offered us one with the same view as last time and was really neat. Hotel staff went out of their way to see how our stay was going and gave us extra washing machine sachets etc without charge (Have paid up to $6 per sachet back in au in similar hotels!)
Washing machine took two hours and no quick cycle but other than that we loved it. Will be back!

Room Tip: Book a high floor apartment - hands down worth the cost - the views are spectacular from 21st floor
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ali a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback Ali a,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites.

Barclay Suites is located in the heart of Auckland City, close to most facilities (Skycity, supermarkets, public transport, Queen St, Harbour )

We pride ourselves on our clean spacious self contained Suites and our friendly team members who are here to assist with all our guest requests, All Suites have a private balcony with great views!
I agree with your statement "Book a high floor apartment - hands down worth the cost - the views are spectacular from 21st floor" Just fantastic views...

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites on your next third visit.

Kind Regards

Franz Staufer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Such a great view to the ocean and across the sky tower - I was impressed it was lit up at night and quite lovely.

The apartment was large we booked the big one bedroom option and plenty of space for 3 nights. Staff friendliest we have had in New Zeland - nothing too much trouble. We found the location really lovely and saved on using the car during the day. Took the Concierge reccomdenation and did brunch at Depot? I think it is called that - anyway best coffee by far in town and thank you

Room Tip: View of the ocean is worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rachelbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback Rachelbau,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites.

Barclay Suites is located in the heart of Auckland City, close to most facilities -nothing is more than 150 meters (Skycity, supermarkets, public transport, Queen St, Harbour )

We pride ourselves on our clean spacious self contained Suites and our friendly team members who are here to assist with all our guest requests, All Suites have private terrace or balcony with great views!
The inside concierge information is always the best around town.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Franz Staufer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

had a lovely room whith some pretty neat views over Auckland. Found the staff to be great and responsive for me and my group of friends that were visiting the city. Fantastic location and close to everything. Would definitely recommend as great value for money

Room Tip: try for a higher floor as is worth the view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mazzaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback Mazzaleigh,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites.

Barclay Suites is located in the heart of Auckland City, close to most facilities -nothing is more than 150 meters (Skycity, supermarkets, public transport, Queen St, Harbour )

We pride ourselves on our clean spacious self contained Suites and our friendly team members who are here to assist with all our guest requests, All Suites have private terrace or balcony.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Franz Staufer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Barclay (formerly Chifley) Suites are located in Auckland cbd so location is good but be aware, a taxi from the airport to the cbd will cost you approx NZ$100 so shuttle is much more cost effective. The Barclay Suites has modern concrete ambience. The reception staff are very polite and friendly but the hotel is run down. The lifts took us to the 12th floor and there should have been sensor lights the turned on when the lift opens but they are clearly broken but that helps to hide the carpet which looked like it hadn't seen a vaccuum this millenium. Inside the suite was spacious with a separate lounge, kitchenette and bedroom but there was no central heating/cooling, only a small column heater (woefully inadequate for such a large area) and a pedestal fan. There is a fully functional kitchen with oven, hotplate & dishwasher (which only worked if you used a pen to push the on button because the button was missing). There is a washing machine in the bathroom which would be handy if, god forbid, you needed to stay there for a prolonged period. The room was an Executive Suite with a King bed but it was 2 single beds pushed together which is OK if you are short (which I am not) so sleeping was cold and uncomfortable. To top it off there was a youth rep water polo team from NSW staing there as well so it was a competition as to who could make the loudest noise at night, the drunks from the nearby pub or the teenages that felt the need to slam doors all day and night. Complaints to management werer politely received but to 0 effect. Never again.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback Mark C

Barclay Suites is located in the heart of Auckland City approx. 30 kms from the Auckland Airport, a taxi should cost you between $75 - $90 depending on traffic (as per the NZ Taxi federation website) alternatively Barclay Suites is close to all public transport bus stops. Another great option is the Airport Airbus service which will only set you back $16 each way – fantastic value.

Barclay Suites has a modern ambience as we are only five years old and our décor has been awarded several industry prizes for the industrial theme echoed throughout all public areas with exposed brushed concrete walls designed by Greenstone Group.

We pride ourselves on the customer service provided to all guests by our Suite Ambassadors and thank you for acknowledging this.

Our King beds like most hotels are single beds that are zipped together and we have a mattress protector covering the entire bed – this eliminates roll-together for a superior sleep. I myself am over 6ft2 and the beds suit me perfectly.

We are half way through our refurbishment programme and are market leaders for the presentation of our property – your comment the hotel is run down is unjustified. We also provide extra fans and heaters and these could have been promptly delivered to your suite had you informed us. We do not want to clutter the suites with extra equipment, hence we have a full list of amenities available for guests to request.

We have addressed your concerns during your stay and I do apologise for the noise complaints that were made by other guests with in the property.

Thank you for staying at Barclay Suites.

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Suites Auckland

Address: 74 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £88 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barclay Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Qualmark 4.5 star rated Barlcay Suites Auckland is only 100 metres from Queen St, in the heart of the CBD - and look out for fresh new suite decor in 2014! With an average of 50 sq metres per suite, there are 110 one or two bedroom configurations to choose from. Each suite is fitted with contemporary furnishings, quality kitchen and laundry appliances along with full self catering facilities. A special feature in all two bedroom suites is the inclusion of two bathrooms. We have thought of everything for your stay - flat screen TV, SKY TV, broadband internet access (fee applies), stereo with iPod/MP3 playout to name just a few of our features. Enjoy the sparkle of the Waitemata Harbour from our Harbour View suites or enjoy the fast pace of the city in our CBD View suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Barclay Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Barclay Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing