We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean spacious 1 bedroom serviced apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Ranked #24 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean spacious 1 bedroom serviced apartment”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I have arranged for my mother accommodation in Waldorf Tetra Serviced apartment for her recent Auckland visit. I choose Tetra as it was only 300 m from our apartment. We were not disapointed as in addition to the location near us the apartment was quite spcious,clean and in a secured complex. Reception was very polite and welcoming and the apartment had a full kitchen and communal laundry was at the ground floor of the complex. The complex is also been used as part student accommodation so it is quite alive but it has very good management & security.

Room Tip: Tetra accommodation Auckland
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank blas88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    172
    107
    64
    40
See reviews for
153
156
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We decided to try the waldorf tetra out for our visit to Auckland city for a few nights due to the location and the price. First of all the location is around uni's, colleges & schools, more like a student accommodation then an apartment! Second to that the place is hard to find and access and when you do find the place you are instructed to park illegally out the front to unpack until you get your parking space tag, why would I have to park illegally you ask? Because the carpark facility is a few minutes walk up the road and not part of the hotel at all. Once you get into the apartment first impressions are that it is fairly stock standard, modernish and tidy but then upon closer investigation you will notice how filthy the place is. Once we cleaned the place up so it was a bit more livable it was time to have a shower which was more like a small bath due to the plumbing not seeming to cope at all with the water flow of the shower and filling the base up to the point of having to turn the water pressure down so that it doesn't overflow. The next point I will bring up is the street noise, it is noticeably loud so obviously they haven't double glazed the windows on the place, a simple thing that would make the place more comfortable to stay in and we were near the top level.. Hopefully your a animal fan! as we woke up the first morning to some cockroaches crawling in our kitchen, which was cleaned the night before so I'm not sure what there issue is there but fingers crossed they get on top of it before they get to big!
I got a pass to the "gym" I use the term lightly as it is nothing like a gym at all, in a nutshell it's a apartment with a few scattered weights a treadmill and a half assed weight machine that doesn't work, all of this in a filthy unserviced room with rubbish laying everywhere.
The mattress on the beds are too big for the bases so you always felt like you were going to fall off.

Room Tip: Avoid this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Waldorf Tetra.

We are very disappointed that you state you would have preferred to stay in a caravan. Being a city centre property, the apartments are indeed very handy for the local schools, colleges and universities but they are also handy for other city centre features such as shopping, bars, nightlife and tourist attractions.

To the best of our knowledge, all of our website affiliates advertise that the parking at Tetra is located off-site, therefore unfortunately the only options available are to either park outside to unload luggage or carry the luggage from the off-site car park.

With regards to the gym facility, this is not something that we advertise as a feature of the hotel and as such it is offered as an added extra. We have other city centre accommodation which allows residents to use local full gym facilities, but this is not applicable to our budget properties.

Without knowing the specific room you were located in we are unable to comment on the cleanliness issues that you mention. A copy of your notes have been passed to the Property Managers for their review but we do trust that you discussed your concerns with them directly upon departure.

Waldorf also offers high-end apartment options in Auckland centre and you may find one of these more to your taste should you be returning to the city in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

This will be the last time we ever stay at a Waldorf apartment.

When you arrive, there is no indication where you can park, there is no street parking, so we were in a panic to find out where we could park so we could check in, but we had to take out all our luggage and leave it on the street and then go park in a parkade on another street and then check in.

BTW no one told us we had to pay for parking, so at the end of our stay we were billed $20 a day for parking. WOW how nice! Maybe someone should have told us!

The room we got was in the basement and felt like a prison cell, our window looked into the lower level of a parking garage and was very dark.

The walls are very stark and there is zero ambience in this place. It's like living in an office cubicle, with only the basics, a tiny counter to prepare food and a few pots and dishes. None of which amounted to enough to make a meal for 2 people effectively. It's only good for one person.

You get one towel each and nothing else, no maid service, no new towels, no face cloths... gross.

Oh and there's no night stands so you have to leave anything in the bedroom right there on the floor to step on. Not even a night table? Come on. That's a basic expectation.

I couldn't imagine staying here longer than a day or two, we couldn't wait to leave. It was the worst place we stayed in all of New Zealand and we were at 11 different motels, b&bs and hostels.

It's not particularly convenient to be here or anything either. You still need a car to drive and get some groceries and there's no restaurants nearby.

Oh and the first day we were there the door handle broke in half when we entered the room. That has NEVER happened before, it just broke clean in half and we had to wait until the next day to tell someone because there are limited staff hours.

It's just too much like an office cubicle and not a place for a decent stay in the city. We've been traveling around the world for almost 8 months and few places have disappointed us this much. Next time we'll just stay on the Coromandel coast instead of having to drive out there from Auckland and back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thanks for your recent review of Waldorf Tetra.

Please accept our apologies that your stay was not as successful as you had hoped.

We do endeavour to inform drivers both via our website affiliates and our direct confirmations that our parking is off-site and that there is a supplementary cost applicable. To our knowledge there is no site that informs guests that our parking is complimentary.

It sounds like you were housed in one of our new studio apartments on the lower ground floor. These are brand new rooms but they are smaller than the 1- and 2-bedroom apartments available higher up in the hotel. If spacious accommodation is what you are after then we definitely would recommend booking a larger apartment rather than the studios.

Our Tetra property is a budget property but we do have a portfolio of Auckland centre accommodation, including high-end apartments, so we do hope that you would consider an alternative Waldorf property on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The apartments are really well located, a few minutes' walk from the main Queen St but much quieter. I had a studio apartment which was very comfortable and so sparkling clean that it looks brand new. The owners were really helpful and remembered my name after I met them on the first morning, which makes you feel very welcome.
The studio apartment isn't really set up for lounging around in, no couch or armchairs, so if you plan to spend a lot of time at the hotel then a bigger apartment might work better, but the studio is a good budget option if you're planning to be out most of the day.

Another thing to be aware of - their reception closes around 5 or 6pm so if you're arriving late, make sure you call to get a code to let you in. They may provide this code by email if you book directly through them, but I booked through Hotels.com and didn't get any notification that I'd need a code. I just called them after reading one of the other reviews here. They do provide an on-site number to call, but that could be tricky if you don't have a mobile phone that works in NZ.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank KathrynBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thanks for your recent review of Waldorf Tetra.

Our studio apartments are indeed brand new and we are glad that you found them to be comfortable. You are correct in saying that they are geared more for the nightly stay rather than longer term, simply due to the space restrictions. There are larger 1- and 2-bedroom apartments available for longer stays!

Thanks for your comments regarding the limited reception times. We have endeavoured to inform all of our website affiliates of this and do attempt to either capture an estimated arrival time on booking or contact the guest to determine this prior to arrival. However, some websites do not provide contact details for guests. If in doubt, the best course of action is to contact our reservations team by email and they can advise whether a keysafe entry will be required.

We hope you will return to the Waldorf soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

A very pleasant location, just off the main drag. Units can accommodate a family of 4-5.
Comfy & spacious apartments with all mod cons. Separate living area & kitchen with 2 bathrooms. Auckland is very steep, so any walking will involve a climb up to get home.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank AlanGelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thanks for your recent review of Waldorf Tetra.

We are delighted that you found the apartments to be conveniently located, comfy & spacious.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a Waldorf soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The only question I have is why the complex is called "budget"!!! I stayed in few Auckland "4 star" accommodation eg Bianco in the past which are not as good and qulaity as Tetra "budget" apartments!!. I stayed in a newly built/refurbished ,modern studio apartment with A/C, nice kitchen ( there is a communal laundry in the complex) for a week for a bargain rate of abour $70 per night ( maybe that why they calls it budget). Very secured and well managed complex with great on site staff that went all the way to assist me. Good & cheap internet service- only $15 per week!. The full breakfast in the cafe was good and chaep- less than $10. Great value and quality in Auckland not to mention the greal centrall location!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank grath99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you for your recent review of Waldorf Tetra.

We are pleased that you found the apartment quality, facilities and services to be of good quality for the price paid.

Tetra is classed as budget mainly due to the limited reception service hours so we are naturally pleased that you would rate it higher than some city centre competitors who are of higher star rating!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We have a modern Studio hotel apartment on the ground floor of Tetra Budget serviced apartments.The apartment was small but with good design, very modern ,clean and quite suitable for a couple.It has A/C, haeting and the kitchen is fine for 2 persons stay,We loved the location as it was only 4-6 minutes walk to Queen Street main area. The on site coffee shop provides reasonably priced meal and there are quite a lot of othe coffee sops & restaurants within minutes away. The daily rate (NZ$100) was good and the internet high speed service good A& cheap

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank glas8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Many thanks for your review of Waldorf Tetra.

We are so pleased that you found the accommodation to be value for money. We feel that our new studio apartments are ideal for a city centre stopover so we are very happy that you thought so too!

We hope to welcome you back to Tetra soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments

Property: Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Address: 85 Wakefield Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Tetra offers affordable self-contained apartment accommodation in central Auckland. Located within walking distance to Auckland and AUT Universities it is a great location for students as well as tourists, as all of Auckland CBD's main attractions are easily accessible from the Waldorf Tetra. In room kitchenette's allow guests to self-cater with cutlery and cooking utensils provided in room. Guests can purchase groceries from one of the local markets to cook in-room or enjoy experiencing some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. Conveniently located on the ground floor of Waldorf Tetra is a cafe serving breakfast Monday to Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tetra Waldorf Budget Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing