We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Ranked #25 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service, very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

To begin with, they didn't put much effort into welcoming me to the hotel and the unacceptable service continued. The TV didn't work and after calling reception with no answer I went to reception and asked for it to be fixed. No one ever came to fix it. The next morning I explained what had happened and was made to feel like it was my fault it didn't work. I asked for some type of compensation and was rudely told that he would speak to the manager. I unfortunately had a room booked for the second night and when I returned to the hotel the reason was the a plug wasn't in porperly - not my fault although it was made to feel that way. I was rudely told that the room hadn't been paid for which surprised me since paypal had said the debit had come from my account. Finally I met the manager who was patronising but eventually agreed to wipe the car parking fee to cover the TV fault.
In summary - bad service, average room, no facecloths or complementary toiletries, poor up keep (curtains off the run). Not what the pictures would tell you!

Room Tip: 1 bedroom room has two bathrooms if you want a second bed in the lounge. 2 bedroom rooms has only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfApartments, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Katie C,

Thank for your reveiew. I am very disappointed to hear about your bad experince with us. This is not our normal operating standards. Let me assure you that we have taken all measure action to make sure that this dosen't happen in future.

We would like you to give us another chance to show you our best service and to ensure you that this not our operating standard. Please send me an email on tetrapm@waldorf.co.nz when visiting Auckland next time.

Kind regards

Ajit Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    162
    105
    61
    38
See reviews for
147
152
35
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

These apartments have been well designed and built and then neglected by incompetent management.
The one bedroom apartment smelled badly until I realised it was dirty rancid oil accumulated in the cooker fan filter that obviously had not been cleaned for many weeks. I spent an hour scrubbing it with my own shower soaps - the office was closed - to get rid of the smell.
The lounge settee was filthy as well so I layed a towel over it before sitting down.
Of the four days I was there the lifts were out of action for two full days - I was on the seventh floor and I am partially disabled so it took me more 15 minutes each time to climb painfully up the stairs.

Lots of promises and apologies to fix it but little genuine action. Sack the manager

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfApartments, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Wayne H,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us . Guest feedback is very important to us and all comments, both positive and negative, are taken very seriously.

Please accept my sincere apologies for disappointing aspects of your stay. I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not our operating standard. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at tetrapm@waldorf.co.nz if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Kind regards

Ajit Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Nice accommodation in a very good Auckland city location.good value and very clean and well furnished one bedroom hotel apartment.nice coffee shop very goof value for Auckland dhort stay.it was very close to the university so it was quite suitable

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Goular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otago Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I didn't realise that this was an unserviced apartment. Three nights & no rubbish collection or towels etc. Parking was around the block & didn't open until after I wanted to leave.
Not suitable for a business traveler but maybe suits a backpacker holiday maker.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank workineverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I'm not a big fan of Auckland anyway but I spent 3 nights and found it to be better than I thought. The room met my needs as I only needed a place to stay not live. It had everything I needed. My days were full on so each night I slept really well. All the utilities were working fine and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was a small hotel room with a kitchen sink in it -- think "hotel" with do-it-yourself cleaning.

Bathroom: previous guests' hair; Soap in shower was a hand-soap dispenser. Shower did not drain (had to turn off and step out and wait to avoid flooding bathroom). Bathroom sink bench wobbled.
Bedroom: not serviced during the stay (no clean sheets, no clean towels). Reception is off the street on "level 1" and we stayed on "ground" (basement?). No air conditioning (there was a portable fan in the room, with a clock-work "off" after 2 hours). Had to leave bedroom windows open all night to get any air.
Breakfast: cafe next door, where only non-fried option is muesli.
Have recommended to my company to never book staff here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTraveller375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I spent two nights in a two bedrooms appartment in familly, with 2 young children.
The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need, it was clean and spacious enough for us.
The only inconvenient wih two young children is that it is located uphill; and you have to climb the street from Queen's street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments

Property: Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Address: 85 Wakefield Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Tetra offers affordable self-contained apartment accommodation in central Auckland. Located within walking distance to Auckland and AUT Universities it is a great location for students as well as tourists, as all of Auckland CBD's main attractions are easily accessible from the Waldorf Tetra. In room kitchenette's allow guests to self-cater with cutlery and cooking utensils provided in room. Guests can purchase groceries from one of the local markets to cook in-room or enjoy experiencing some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. Conveniently located on the ground floor of Waldorf Tetra is a cafe serving breakfast Monday to Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tetra Waldorf Budget Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing