We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like your soul is getting sucked out”
Review of BK Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BK Hostel
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hostel is clean, in the city and quite modern. (The staff are a bit rude though) But honestly, you get depressed of this place and it's way overpriced. The kitchen is ok but all over the place (including the kitchen) are lots of angry notes like 'Don't touch the food, buy your own!!!' and so on. All the other hostels have such nicer atmospheres. You just don't want to be here, except to sleep. And the wifi isn't included.


At every minute you spend here it just feels like it's getting harder to breathe.

Stay at Freemans instead!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Recently I was visiting my girlfriend in Auckland and we wanted to stay together in a private room while I was there to avoid giving up privacy in a dorm room – after a small research on the net, BK Hostel was our accommodation of choice.

We didn’t really know what to expect as the TripAdvisor reviews I read were mostly good, however Auckland isn’t famous for its nice hostels, especially in a “dodgy” place like K’Road, and furthermore the rating on the BBH website was barely average. But when we first entered our double bed room, I was quite satisfied. Note that we booked a room with window, they also offer the same room type without windows, which might be a bit cheaper but I rather pay $2 more and get access to fresh air if I need to. The room was reasonably spacy, had a small TV (which we didn’t use at all), two narrow closets and two big windows of which one could be opened.

This one might be not the best choice for people who like to sleep with open window as K’Road is always pretty noisy at night, especially on Fridays and Saturdays – but we didn’t mind so it was fine. One problem we had were that the bed’s springs we damaged in some way which caused that we felt their ends if we sat or lie on certain spots. Once we figured out where they are, we were able to avoid them, so it’s not a big deal as the bed was comfortable in general.

The staff was always very helpful and friendly, the bathrooms are okay for the price (but towels would be nice, currently you have to use your own) – the only thing which bothered me in the beginning is the kitchen on the main (2nd) floor. Although being tidy and only having some glances of dirt at some occasions, there are only two small tables which can fit 4 people as there are no more chairs available. The equipment is old, but works; the cutlery cupboard is a mess but that’s also no big deal for me, as long as there are enough spoons/knives/etc.

Overall it’s an okay place to stay for a while in Auckland, it’s not far away from the City Centre/Queen St with 15 minutes walk plus, you have four major bus stops one minute away from the hostel’s entrance. When I get back to Auckland at some point I’ll probably go book a dorm bed there as this one makes a much better impression than Base, Nomads and many other big hostels in AKL which are partially even more expensive! Only the price of $4 for washing machine and dryer seems high to me, but I don't know about other hostels in AKL so I can't compare this.

Room Tip: When booking a double bed room, go for one with a window, it's worth the money I reckon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromEtoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is definitely a comfortable hostel with a budget price that you can find in the city center area. Most importantly it is a cleaned and safe hostel to stay. Additionally it is closed to all city amenities like universities, public library, super markets and the bus stop. It has dormitory that only share with 4 people in a room and the rest of the room is mostly twin and double. It comes with windows and without windows room as well. The price will be varied on the type of the room you choose. I have been staying in this hostel for about a year now and i really enjoy staying here. Would definitely recommended to my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aim226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My friend n i stayed here from Feb 2012 to Jan 2013!

This place definitely is one of my favourite hostels in New Zealand!!

The staff were very nice n friendly! The rooms r clean n tidy ,

The kitchen is open 24 hrs.the location is perfect near the bus stop ,

asian market n restaurants!

There is a tv room which is superb n comfortable!

I will definitely be going back when I return to Auckland and and

\very much look forward to staying there.

這裡應該是我在奧克藍 住過最久的hostel了!
老闆是人很好 雖然看起來有點嚴厲 但卻是一個很用心的經營者
房間很舒服及乾淨 廚房該有的設備都很齊全
還有一個超級舒服的tv room

地點靠近巴士站
樓下就有一間亞洲超市(蔡林南)所以 交通 購物也都方便
是一個很適合長住的地方

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This is a comfortable hostel though feels a little impersonal, perhaps because the reception staff are hidden inside a "cabin". The rooms are clean and it has a wardrobe and desk, which is a nice touch. The kitchen seemed OK and the showers also. You need to leave a 20NZD key deposit, which is refundable when you check out but if your check out time is before their reception opening hours (08.30 am), you will need to leave your credit card details, otherwise you cannot keep your room. The location is ideal if you are arriving from or going to the airport as the Airport Express bus stop is a 3 minute walk away at the top of Queens Street where it meets the Karangahape Road, but the hostel is quite a walk if you are arriving in town on the Inter City bus (stops at Hobson Street, midway between the hostel and the harbour on Quay Street) and an even longer walk if you are arriving on the Naked Bus (stops at the Harbour on Quay Street). However, the Karangahape Road may make some solo female travellers uncomfortable, not because there are strip clubs there, but on the whole it is a bit run down and I think is one of the few places in New Zealand in which you may get unwanted attention.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunchick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

All in all a very pleasant and comfortable stay combine with great location to make this excellent value for money. The communal spaces, including a great lounge, gives this place a surprisingly homely feel, considering the central location building. I stayed for 3 nights and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkijbmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed in this hostel for two nights. The location is ok. Could be better but if you don't mind walking, the city is in your reach.

The hostel is a bit worn down but ok, the staff are helpful and nice and prepared to keep the office open if you're arriving late. The kitchen is (as they attend to be) a little bit messy and the pots and pans have seen their best days ages ago.

Our room (219) was very basic but it smelled like something had died there recently. The room was also very noisy as it was located near downstairs club or pub that played dancemusic all night and I mean ALL night! Have seen more affordable and better hostels than this one.

Wi-fi was also missing. Luckily we found one in a really nice cafe near by called Alleluya. So if you're staying in this hostel and enjoy a good cup of europeanly made cofee and need wi-fi, it's the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanneSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
K Road City Travelers Hostel
K Road City Travelers Hostel
#61 of 134 in Auckland Central
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#20 of 134 in Auckland Central
285 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#29 of 134 in Auckland Central
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Nomads Auckland Hostel
Nomads Auckland Hostel
#68 of 134 in Auckland Central
684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metro Adventurer Backpackers
Metro Adventurer Backpackers
#33 of 134 in Auckland Central
18 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#38 of 134 in Auckland Central
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BK Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BK Hostel

Address: 3 Mercury Lane, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £14 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — BK Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BK Hostel!Located in the centre of Auckland, major sights like Queen Street, the Aotea Square, the Civic Theatre, many parks and gardens and the Waterfront are only a few minutes walk away. Having cafes, bars, restaurants, post shops and banks close by daily jobs can easily be done from here.Rebuilt in 2003, our hostel offers a total of 49 rooms with most of them having large windows. Whether you are a backpacker looking for a budget dorm bed or prefer a bit more privacy in a single room we can find the right thing for you. We also offer weekly rates for those who want to experience Auckland for longer than just a few days. All our beds are freshly made providing linen, sheets, a duvet and a pillow as well as good quality mattresses for our single and queen-size beds. Every room is regularly cleaned and equipped with closets. With the exception of the dorm rooms all our rooms are also equipped with a desk and a chair making your stay as convenient as possible. The two kitchens are spacious and clean and equipped with everything to store, cook and enjoy your food. Both of them provide a separate tap for filtered water as well as an unlimited access to hot water. Our bathrooms provide separate, clean, self-contained shower cabins and toilets. If you do not feel like getting into Auckland’s nightlife make yourself comfortable in our spacious lounge. You can watch TV or a movie out of our DVD library or have a game of pool with your mates.Other features of our facility are:* Very safe (Fire safety & High tech security camera approved)* Friendly helpful staff* Coin operated laundry* Luggage storage (short & long term storage available) – bikes, bags,surfboard…* Towels, iron, hair dryer, fans, scale, adaptor etc available for hire.* Internet/Wi-Fi available* Pay phone* 24 hour access with a card key provided* Visa, Master Card, Eftpos available* Link bus route* Airport transport on arrangement or from the close by bus stop of the AirBus ExpressEnjoy your stay in Auckland! :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your BK Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BK Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing