We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels like home”
Review of Attic Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Attic Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

If you've ever been here you'll love it! promise :)
For either traveller or long termer it’s one of the best places in Auckland you could stay to choose. Great location (heart of the city), great atmosphere, great staff and people, various spots to hang out and have a good time (sun deck, chill/ tv room, lobby, kitchen). Comfy new beds!!!
So stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gizzy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hi there,

Thanks so much for your amazing feedback! As a fairly new hostel, your feedback is crucial to our success, so we are really grateful for you taking the time to leave your comments! Thanks for commenting on our staff, they are the key to our success, as well as those comfy beds ;-) Please do come and visit us next time you are in Auckland! Enjoy your NZ travels,

Cheers, The Attic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here and enjoyed my stay. It's right in the city centre, so my only problem was the car parking.

The hostel is on the 5th floor with a large roof garden and funky furniture & BBQ. Showers and toilets are kept very clean and teh kitchen has quirky light shades.

Holly and Laura were very friendly and helpful with everything I had to sort out for the start of my trip here in New Zealand, which made my 'take off' so easy.

thanks for all your help and a very pleasant stay. will try your other hostel in Ponsoby at the end of my trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxTa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Hi Max!

Thanks for taking the time to leave these lovely comments! It's great to hear that you found our facilities to be squeaky clean and that Myself and Laura made a lasting impression on you :-) We hope you are enjoying your NZ adventure! Make sure you do visit our hostel in Ponsonby at the end of your trip, we'd love to see you there and hear all about your travels!

Cheers The Attic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a fantastic hostel, right in the centre of the city. It is on 5th floor and has views right over the city. There are loads of separate communal areas, including a sun terrace, TV room and large room with computers. The kitchen is large and well equipt with lots of utensils. The beds are so comfortable with soft fluffy pillows and a duvet- getting out of bed was so hard! Stay here, you'll love it!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikzstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Hi Vicky,

We're loving your awesome comments, thanks for being our first tripadvisor reviewer! It's awesome to know that so many aspects of your stay made it an enjoyable one with us! We do hope you will visit us again and enjoy your time in NZ!

Cheers, The Attic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ramona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aklhostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Agathe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaeddii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 131 in Auckland Central
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 131 in Auckland Central
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#14 of 131 in Auckland Central
254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#2 of 131 in Auckland Central
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#5 of 131 in Auckland Central
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attic Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attic Backpackers

Address: 31 Wellesley St, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Topfloor Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £19 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Attic is a fresh and vibrant, newly refurbished top floor backpackers situated in the heart of the city centre, on Wellesley Street, just steps from the iconic Auckland Skytower and the hustle and bustle of Queen Street. Sleeping a maximum of 100 guests, we are a smaller inner city hostel than most, offering guests a central location and budget accommodation with a difference. Ride our traditional, 'old school' service lift to the top floor, which opens straight out on to The Attic. Enjoy a tour of our place upon check in, no impersonal pointing to your room and off you go, we want you to feel at home with us. Some of our larger dorms feature dividers so that even our most budget options are still as comfortable as a smaller dorm, attention to detail is important here at The Attic. Incredibly friendly and helpful, we go the extra mile to make your stay with us that little bit more special. Our guests comfort is the most important thing for us and we pride ourselves on creating a chilled, helpful and caring hostel environment in Auckland city centre! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Attic Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing