We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Attic Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Attic Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at The Attic during a recent business trip. I had a single private room which was small, but adequate for my needs and at a price that couldn't be beaten.
I was also impressed by the location. You couldn't ask for a more central backpackers. It is close to everything, a few minutes walk to the supermarket, sky tower and downtown Auckland.
The place was clean and the kitchen was large with everything I needed.
The reception staff were friendly, and went above and beyond to help me with a few questions I had for them.
No complaints at all. I would recommend The Attic to anyone considering a stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for making time to leave us a detailed review. We are stoked to find that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, And look forward to your return next time.
Cheers
The Attic Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    181
    49
    13
    8
See reviews for
11
54
306
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hostel I located in the fifth floor of an old building in the city centre near Queen Street. I really liked my stay here at the Attic. The beds were really comfortable and clean, the staff could not have been nicer or any more helpful, and of course it is located right in the city centre. There is a well/stocked and clean kitchen available. The WiFi is not free, but you receive a free voucher for 24 hours of internet use upon check-in.

There are enough showers, toilets and kitchen utensils that I never had to wait for anything, even though the hostel was fully booked.
The only thing that might count as a negative was that the showers could have profited from more frequent cleaning. I do understand, however, that with the hostel fully booked, the showers are highly frequented, and so they might not look as nice after some use even if they get cleaned daily.

There are lots of amenities including a deck with a barbeque, a TV room, a lounge room, a locker room, and a storage room for your baggage after check-out.

Altogether, my stay at the Attic was vey enjoyable and I would definitely choose it again.

Room Tip: I found the rooms with uneven numbers to be a bit more quiet during the night, as they get less nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for making time to leave a great review, We spent a lot of time planing our hostel layout and facilities. Enjoy the rest of your Nz trip and look forward to your return.
Cheers
The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Fantastic location, super clean, great facilities (Mega comfy beds!) and the friendliest most helpful staff ever. Not a bad word to say about this place except for I wish I had stayed longer. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockiesroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to leave your excellent feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are very grateful to learn that you enjoyed our cleanliness, facilities, staff and comfy beds! Please do come back and see us again should you return to Auckland, enjoy your NZ adventures! Thanks, The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Attic Backpackers is one of the cleanest Hostels ive stayed in. All staff are friendly and have a great knowledge about activities and locations around not only auckland but much of New Zealand, especially the north island. The kitchen is layed out really well with more than enough preperation space and has really good cooking facilities. All the people that stayed at the Attic during my stay were really good entertaining people from all walks of life and from all over the world. The atmosphere in general is exceptional as there are many social areas where chatting and interacting with other guests is what takes up most evenings (when not going out drinking!!). There is a nice lounge and large t.v when having a quiet night in and even a new addition of a pool table. I'd recommend the Attic to anyone staying in central Auckland or even Auckland in general as its just that good......!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Awesome review, Thank you for making the time. Enjoy the rest of your Nz trip and look forward to seeing you on your return.
Cheers
The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Literally the cheapest and most central hostel I could find online and wow, what a clean, fresh and friendly hostel. Its not a stand alone building, but on the top floor of other businesses. That aside, welcomed by the very helpful staff, was given 4hrs free wifi, shown all round the hostel and there's free lollipops on reception. Rooms were kept clean, along with bathroom and kitchen. Rooftop decking socialising area also. Convenient to get airbus to and from airport also, just to top it all off.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angharad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for making time to leave us a detailed review, Enjoy the rest of your trip. The Attic Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is the only hostel I ve had so far in NZ, and -believe me- it is the best one you can get in Auckland ! The service is great, the staff does everything to make it as easy as possible for you! You can ask them anything and they give you great suggestions about things to do in Auckland/NZ!
The hostel is located right in the city, so easy : lots of things are in walking distance, or if you need to go further away, the staff helps you with a smile to get the right buses/trains...
All the rooms are clean, the common areas (tv room, chill room, reception area, toilets...) are kept clean at all times. The kitchen is well equipped, only on 'rush hours' it can be busy. And off course the deck is very nice to hang out! :)
Just everything you need! Hope you ll enjoy it as much as I did!
Thanks Attic Team! You re doing a great job!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karhld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for taking time to leave us a review, Were glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels,
The Attic Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Fantastic hostel! Staff are so professional and helpful! A refreshing change. Highly recommend! The location is fantastic , situated in the heart of the city! 2 mins walk from the main high street and the port. Rooms super clean and tidy. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Auckland - stay here! Will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thanks so much for leaving your fantastic comments! We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We do really try to keep our hostel looking spick and span, so I'm so glad you commented on this as well as our helpful and friendly staff! :-) We do hope that you will visit us again should you return to Auckland, enjoy your travels and NZ! Cheers, The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attic Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attic Backpackers

Property: Attic Backpackers
Address: 31 Wellesley St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Topfloor Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Attic is a fresh and vibrant, newly refurbished top floor backpackers situated in the heart of the city centre, on Wellesley Street, just steps from the iconic Auckland Skytower and the hustle and bustle of Queen Street. Sleeping a maximum of 100 guests, we are a smaller inner city hostel than most, offering guests a central location and budget accommodation with a difference. Ride our traditional, 'old school' service lift to the top floor, which opens straight out on to The Attic. Enjoy a tour of our place upon check in, no impersonal pointing to your room and off you go, we want you to feel at home with us. Some of our larger dorms feature dividers so that even our most budget options are still as comfortable as a smaller dorm, attention to detail is important here at The Attic. Incredibly friendly and helpful, we go the extra mile to make your stay with us that little bit more special. Our guests comfort is the most important thing for us and we pride ourselves on creating a chilled, helpful and caring hostel environment in Auckland city centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Attic Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attic Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing