We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Attic Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Attic Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were impressed with how clean and well organized the kitchen and bathrooms were. LOVED that they had a free blow dryer/straightener. Great outdoor patio space and really friendly staff. For us the only minor draw back was that it was pretty loud most of the night lots of people hanging out and drinking, not a huge deal but worth considering if you are trying to sleep before your flight like we were!
Overall great place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hey Corrine!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your positive feedback. It's awesome to hear that you found the hostel to be clean and organized, and the staff to be friendly, this is important to us. We hope you made good use of the free hairdryer and straightener! ;-) Sorry however to hear that you were disrupted by some of our guests, we do not rate ourselves as a party hostel at all, but a clean chilled out environment to enjoy a drink or two in a fantastic central location. Hopefully this experience didn't tarnish your opinion of The Attic. We hope that you will come and see us again should you return to Auckland!

Cheers and safe travels- The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    181
    49
    13
    8
See reviews for
11
54
306
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Probably one of the best Hostels in Auckland. It's best rated and very new. Clean and you get everything you need. Moreover it's very central. Can highly recommend it. It was a little bit hard to find but that might just be me. In the end it was quite obvious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Dominik,

Thanks for your feedback! It's great to hear that you found our hostel to be "the best in Auckland". We are pleased you liked the cleanliness and awesome central location of The Attic. Hope to see you again next time you visit Auckland!

Thanks-The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Auckland, was my first stop, after a year of living in Australia. I chose Attic bAckpackers from the previous good reviews I'd read. I wasn't disappointed. On arrival I was taken round the hostel and shown where I would be staying and also the communal areas. After over 10 months of working in a hostel I was really pleased with the whole package, I stayed in both shared and private rooms, with both of them having the same standard. I would most definitely stay here again, especiAlly as a female traveller. The people.who work here are really helpful, especially the manager.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicedaisy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for making time to leave us a review, Its great to have people review us that have stayed in lots of other hostels. Enjoy the rest of your trip and look forward to your return :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice sociable hostel. The staff were very friendly/ helpful, everything is clean, good spacious kitchen, location is perfect being right in the centre. Will happily stay here when I next visit Auckland!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 47Toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for taking time to leave us a review, Were glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels,
The Attic Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kakanui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

When planning to meet a friend from overseas, she sent me a link to the backpackers she had booked into. For convenience I decided to stay in the same place. This was my first trip to Auckland and I found the location of this backpackers to be fantastic, right in the heart of the city! It was located on the top floor of a block and was accessed by a vintage looking elevator. In complete contrast, the backpackers was ultra-modern. My single room was practical, clean and tidy whilst the kitchen facilities were awesome - featuring shared breakfast food and free tea and coffee. The bathrooms was generous and clean (always a nice touch) but the highlight for me was the roof-top deck. A great place to have a drink and take in the experience. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanieWigzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for making time to leave us a review, Enjoy the rest of your trip. Cheers The Attic Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

it located in centre of city and it is very convenient for visitors. Also, the room is simple and tidy that make people feel comfortable although there may be some noises from the bars at mid-night.
The staff are friendly and nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kw0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you liked the convenient location of our hostel and found your stay to be comfortable as well as the staff friendly. As we are in such a great city centre location, there is some occasional noise, the general hustle and bustle of the city. We hope this didn't affect your stay too much. Please do visit us again next time you are in Auckland.

Thanks

The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hostel was quite average. Booked a twin private room and could hear the girls in the next room all night, which kept us awake. The walls seemed almost literally paper thin - couldn't have had gyp-rock between them. Locker room on against one of the other walls meant we could hear people banging around all night. If you're after a private room, don't stay here. Also - only private hostel room I've ever stayed in where I needed to rent a towel :/

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trixdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi There,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. Sorry that your stay did not meet yours or our expectations. Towel rental is a pretty standard thing in most city hostels I am afraid. Never-the-less, we hope you will give us another chance and please do visit us again next time you are in Auckland.

Thanks

The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attic Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attic Backpackers

Property: Attic Backpackers
Address: 31 Wellesley St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Topfloor Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Attic is a fresh and vibrant, newly refurbished top floor backpackers situated in the heart of the city centre, on Wellesley Street, just steps from the iconic Auckland Skytower and the hustle and bustle of Queen Street. Sleeping a maximum of 100 guests, we are a smaller inner city hostel than most, offering guests a central location and budget accommodation with a difference. Ride our traditional, 'old school' service lift to the top floor, which opens straight out on to The Attic. Enjoy a tour of our place upon check in, no impersonal pointing to your room and off you go, we want you to feel at home with us. Some of our larger dorms feature dividers so that even our most budget options are still as comfortable as a smaller dorm, attention to detail is important here at The Attic. Incredibly friendly and helpful, we go the extra mile to make your stay with us that little bit more special. Our guests comfort is the most important thing for us and we pride ourselves on creating a chilled, helpful and caring hostel environment in Auckland city centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Attic Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attic Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing