We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Attic Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Elliott St Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Econo Lodge City Central(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
371
220
63
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
220
63
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshair straightenersgreat locationnew zealandbed dormprivate twin roomfree tea and coffeebig kitchengreat kitchenfifth floorclean kitchencommunal areassky towerfree wifiquiet at nightgreat facilitiesqueen streetenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This really is one of the best hostels around New Zealand, probably the best in Auckland. It's the simple things like being shown not only to your room but also around the hostel so you know where to find the bathroom, the kitchen, the laundry and the TV lounge. The staff on the desk were very friendly and helpful too, and with most of them being backpackers themselves they understand the important things like where to get good coffee, food and free/cheap attractions in Auckland.
The rooms were comfortable and there was tonnes of space, you didn't feel crammed in like a sardine the way you do in some other hostels. The beds were comfortable, great after a long day exploring or a long night partying.
The free hair dryer and straightener in the girls' bathroom was also a really cool thing, as were the free food boxes in the kitchen, so if you suddenly realised you didn't have butter there was usually some or you could make sure your excess food had a good home when you left.
Fantastic place overall!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrabYourPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you so much for you impressive feedback! It's so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your recent stay at The Attic! We pride ourselves on having friendly,helpful and attentive staff, so we are pleased to know that this was reflected during your stay.

I am also pleased to hear that you made good use of the free hair dryer and straightener in the female bathroom :-) We hope you will return to stay with us again next time you are in Auckland!

Safe Travels-The Attic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

One of the best hostels, easy to find and access, great for first night after 24 hours of travelling. Rooms are really clean and cleaned daily. Staff are very friendly and helpful with advice on what to do.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miriw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write your great feedback! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Attic Backpackers and found our staff to be helpful and friendly as well as the hostel to be kept very clean. We do pride ourselves on these points. Please come and visit us again next time you are in Auckland! Safe travels- The Attic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

One of the best hostels around, great location, great service, clean and tidy an very helpful staff. Would definitely recommend to stay if your in Auckland! The hostel has plenty I chill out space and a very social atmosphere. They can also help out with all of your travel around NZ!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank AndyAnnable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hello Andy,

Thanks for your awesome feedback! It's great to hear that you really enjoyed your experience at The Attic Backpackers. Please do come back and visit...any time!

Cheers, The Attic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were impressed with how clean and well organized the kitchen and bathrooms were. LOVED that they had a free blow dryer/straightener. Great outdoor patio space and really friendly staff. For us the only minor draw back was that it was pretty loud most of the night lots of people hanging out and drinking, not a huge deal but worth considering if you are trying to sleep before your flight like we were!
Overall great place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Hey Corrine!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your positive feedback. It's awesome to hear that you found the hostel to be clean and organized, and the staff to be friendly, this is important to us. We hope you made good use of the free hairdryer and straightener! ;-) Sorry however to hear that you were disrupted by some of our guests, we do not rate ourselves as a party hostel at all, but a clean chilled out environment to enjoy a drink or two in a fantastic central location. Hopefully this experience didn't tarnish your opinion of The Attic. We hope that you will come and see us again should you return to Auckland!

Cheers and safe travels- The Attic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Probably one of the best Hostels in Auckland. It's best rated and very new. Clean and you get everything you need. Moreover it's very central. Can highly recommend it. It was a little bit hard to find but that might just be me. In the end it was quite obvious.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Dominik,

Thanks for your feedback! It's great to hear that you found our hostel to be "the best in Auckland". We are pleased you liked the cleanliness and awesome central location of The Attic. Hope to see you again next time you visit Auckland!

Thanks-The Attic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews