We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bamber House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“home away from home”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

'Bamber House' is an amazing hostel that's got that home-away-from-home vibe and very friendly people. The facilities are great and very clean and the staff is really helpful. I enjoyed my first nights in NZ at this hostel and will def come back. Also, the pets from house are really sweet and add that extra feeling of being comfy at home.
The only bad thing is that people who are living/staying longer tend to leave the room a total mess, which is not so nice.

Room Tip: Room 14 is not very quiet, being so close to communal and dinning areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giulistuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    105
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
105
172
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wookey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in February 2013 for a few days to recover from the tortuous flight from the UK and found the place a very good introduction to NZ hostels.

Located in Mount Eden suburb, it is a bit of a trek to town but that was what I wanted. Bus stops very close to hostel or about 30 minutes walk. 5 minutes to the base of Mount Eden with a corner shop and supermarket close by.

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was perfectly acceptable even if the bunks do rattle a bit.

Good sized kitchen/dinner with a large decked patio out the back.

Staff were sociable, professional and knowleable about activities etc.

Generally a good hostel for those looking for a base away from the trashy city centre ones!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichyRich99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Despite crackling bunk beds, suffocating hot rooms in the afternoon without air conditioning, electrical burnout, poor internet reception and leaking showers, I still stayed for three weeks as it was close to my place of reseach. As a long term guest at Bamber House and having travelled around the world staying in different hostels, I would have say that I have never met a manager who is as aggressive and bullying as Steve. Just 2 days before I am due to check out, Steve decided that as a manager and kick me out with a full refund because he did not like me speaking back him. The manager wanted me to move my bags into the cupboard for other guests even though there was enough space for other guests and the bags were there for three weeks without a problem.
Instead of charging me the weekly rate, I was charged a daily rate over the entire 19 days that I was there.
Worst place I have ever stayed in New Zealand and the rest of the world.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank veryunhappy1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suse, Owner at Bamber House Hostel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
While we regret, Ling, that you have chosen to be so disparaging of our staff on a public forum we do appreciate the opportunity to set the record straight. We do ask that guests be considerate of their fellow room-mates in ensuring your possessions are neatly tidied away. Your many bags and accessories littered the floor and became both a nuisance to other guests (as per complaints received) and a significant hazard with regards to obstructing fire escapes. I can ensure you we acted in everyone's interests in requesting to have these items put away into the storage cupboards and drawers provided in your dorm room. The manner in which you refused, both verbally and in the physical manner in which you brushed aside a female staff member left us with little option but to ask you to leave. A staff member not involved with your dispute was drafted in to help collect your items, book a taxi and arrange alternative accommodation for the night which I can guarantee is a service not many hostels or hotels would have afforded you given your behaviour.

With regards to not receiving a weekly rate, during our peak season of December to March we only charge per night. We regret that you have chosen this opportunity to fabricate a scenario in which you felt you were discriminated against.

The words you have chosen do nothing but help highlight the eccentricity of your behaviour. They underscore the abnormality of this review amidst a great number of positive comments that genuinely reflect the enormous efforts the staff at Bamber House put in to achieving the perfect environment for travellers of all persuasions. We hope with hindsight you will begin to see it the same way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

upon landing at auckland and arriving at bamber house, I thought this is just how new zealand hostels are. coming back after 3 months I can safely say - this is the best hostel in New Zealand. other hostels too have their TV or wifi, but no where else you walk in and are automatically friends with all the other guests. the atmosphere is amazing, the staff is super nice, they really helped us out when our car broke down... in short - if you're in auckland, you should totally stay there, you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuvalush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Staff were super friendly and very helpful. The hostel is a beautiful older building which has been well maintained. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you would need and was clean. Outdoor areas are airy and comfortable. Bed mattress (double) could do with updating. Mattress protector and top bed sheet would have been good for hygiene. Overall though a great stay for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed here two nights at the beginning of our NZ travels. Very clean and spacious, pretty quiet as hostels go, staff were very nice and helpful. Nice couches out on the balcony upstairs & down. A slightly older vibe (25yrs +) but still good. Location not very close to the city but Mt Eden is a nice suburb and the walk up the hill has a great view, just off Mt Eden Rd. Would stay here again though as bus stops are very close and buses run frequently to/from the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, North Devon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in Nov 2012.
Met by a very friendly and informative member of staff who showed us around and took us to our room.
Room was basic but bed comfy and very clean. Showers/bathrooms were immaculately cleaned and did not have to wait long in the mornings have a shower etc.
kitchen areas well stocked and again very clean. Plenty of big, clean fridges to store food and lockers provided by hostel to store dry food.
Nice social areas (big sofas and tv room).
Bit out of town but a bus stop is opposite the hostel which drops you right in the centre of Auckland.
Definitely a hostel to consider. We enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ab3b4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
689 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
685 reviews
2.1 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,493 reviews
1.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 123 in Auckland
318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamber House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamber House Hostel

Property: Bamber House Hostel
Address: 22 View Road | Mt Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamber House is a family owned and run backpacker hostel located in beautiful Mount Eden, Auckland, complete with Mars and Clyde our dog and cat. Mt Eden is an iconic Auckland neighbourhood complete with an extinct volcano. Bamber House has a range of accommodation options including traditional backpacker shared and double rooms with shared bathrooms as well as ensuite double and twin rooms. It is about 3.5 kms from the city centre. There is a bus stop really close. We have lots of free off-street car-parking and spacious grounds. The closest stop for the Skybus is Mt Eden train station which is about a 10 minute walk. We are close to supermarkets, cafes, bars, restaurants, banks, post offices... A longtime favourite of travellers from all over the world. Free high speed wifi is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Bamber House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamber House Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing