We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bamber House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

this really big old house is great hostel in a good location, quiet and safe, with great atmosphere, friendly and crazy staff, good facilities, you feel like home when you have to stay in the city more than a week. A lot of activities, shared meals, big deck, big garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harturopas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    102
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
100
162
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Bamber House is a beautiful structure located in a lovely, residential location, with just about all the amenities (including kitchen facilities) that one could want. Friendly, helpful staff, and lovely location - just about a stones throw away from perhaps the best vista in Auckland - Mt. Eden. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_b0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were in one of the newer self-contained cabins out back. Super clean. You get a fridge, 2 glasses / 2 mugs and a kettle, which is nice because we could make coffee and tea. Towels are provided as well. The common areas in the old house are awesome. Big comfy couches to read or use the wifi. We got free-wifi vouchers that were so much data it was almost impossible to use up.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, arranging airport transfers and giving directions for taking the bus downtown (one bus, cheap and direct).
The area is nice with a shopping centre and restaurants within walking distance. Great big, clean kitchen and large dining area.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelingcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

After 26 hours of travelling to get to New Zealand, Bamber House was the perfect place to arrive to. Lovely hostel in a great location. Short walk to Mt Eden shops/cafes which all serve great food and coffee. Huge kitchen in the hostel with large dining room. Big outdoor space. Lounge with TV room. Room was really nice and quiet!! Bathrooms are good with nice showers and lots of hot water. Chilled out atmosphere. Would really recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank februaryhove2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

my past experiences of staying in a hostel, I was pretty disappointed with the hostel quality in Auckland city. I knew Bamber house before I arrived Auckland, after spending one night in a hostel in the city, I made up my mind to move to Bamber house the next morning.
I called Bamber house to check on availability and Tim was really helpful and friendly.
The moment I stepped into Bamber house, I feel in love with this hostel. the hostel is amazingly clean and beautiful (those cleaner did very good job as i watched them cleaning the place everyday) and beautiful. big kitchen, spacious movie room, huge chill out area, the room I stayed was cute and mt.eden was just right in front of my window. although there were many long term backpackers, I never encounter any problem with the shower or their friendliness.
Staff were extremely nice and friendly, they knew who you are and always with a smile on their face.
I extended my trip in Auckland because of the atmosphere in the hostel.
I have been telling people this is the best hostel in Auckland and the best I'd ever stayed.
keep up the good job, Tim, Grajuana (sorry if I spell wrongly) and team, you gave me a reason to come back to Auckland.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyTio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Bamber house is a quaint cute place. Its a bit out of reach from the city so it makes sense only for those that have a bit of time on their hands... as a hostel it is perfect but i guess i was disappointed only due to the location. The staff is super friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luktuke-Ashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suse, Manager at Bamber House Hostel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we really appreciate your comments about the hostel itself. With regards to our location we actually consider it as one of our best assets. The majority of our visitors agree they would never want to stay in the city centre and we offer a secure and quiet environment that is still only a ten minute bus ride away from the town's central attractions. With Mount Eden's beautiful parks on our doorstep and a wealth of great bars and shops we consider our location as a prime reason people choose to stay with us. Nevertheless we're definitely still pleased you chose us for your recent vacation. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Defenetly the best hostel I've been to in 6 month of travelling oz and nz. Very home-like atmosphere and most friendly staff. Bus stop is just across the road. Takes you five minutes into the city.

Everythings very clean and the whole atmosphere makes you not want to leave

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
1.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 113 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
1.5 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamber House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamber House Hostel

Property: Bamber House Hostel
Address: 22 View Road | Mt Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamber House is a family owned and run backpacker hostel located in beautiful Mount Eden, Auckland, complete with Mars and Clyde our dog and cat. Mt Eden is an iconic Auckland neighbourhood complete with an extinct volcano. Bamber House has a range of accommodation options including traditional backpacker shared and double rooms with shared bathrooms as well as ensuite double and twin rooms. It is about 3.5 kms from the city centre. There is a bus stop really close. We have lots of free off-street car-parking and spacious grounds. The closest stop for the Skybus is Mt Eden train station which is about a 10 minute walk. We are close to supermarkets, cafes, bars, restaurants, banks, post offices... A longtime favourite of travellers from all over the world. Free high speed wifi is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bamber House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamber House Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing