We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a night or two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bamber House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok for a night or two”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lovely building, kitchen was well equipped and staff were friendly, we stayed in a room in the ground floor and felt like the hostel needed some more toilets downstairs, plus it always smelled of cigarettes in the toilet, maybe coming from the outdoor smoking area. The room was fine, nice to have electricity plugs on a timer to save power. Compared to other BBH hostels in NZ we expected more based on the 88% rating.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Priscila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    102
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
100
162
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rangiora, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Bamber House was in a nice area and really close to town. It was cleaned regulary. The other guests were generally friendly and quiet. I was in the 3 bed dorm which wasn't too big or too small. The kitchen had everything I needed. The supermarket and bus stop are close by. I had a really good time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

My friend and I shared a twin private room. It was comfortable and clean, with 200mb of free wifi on arrival. The wifi was pretty pricey if you blew through that and were sticking around for longer but worked well for us.

Location was a bit out of the way but it benefits with plenty of free parking and if you have a car as we did it's not difficult to get to the cbd.

Beautiful old house but with well maintained toilet, shower and kitchen facilities. Had a lot of information for things to do around Auckland and the guy at reception was friendly enough.

Only stayed one night but it was quiet and hassle-free. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on a return to Auckland.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Backwardblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Bamber House is indeed a beautiful and very spacious house in the Mount Eden area of Auckland. It has bright airy rooms and large common areas and whilst its a long-ish walk into town, its not too long, and you can always get the bus should you choose. There's a big supermarket around the corner and Mount Eden is at the top of the road...I can certainly recommend taking a little walk up for a sunset one evening.

For me however, I just felt the house really lacked atmosphere despite the large communal areas. The staff aren't really around that much either which often makes a big difference when it comes to hostel experiences. If you are travelling as a couple or in a group, I suspect you will have a better experience, but I would probably look elsewhere if you are travelling solo.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

the hostel was in a a nice area however nothing really to do there so found myself spending money to get into centre all time. wifi was 200 for $20 but did get free $200 when checked in but didnt seem to matter how long you stayed for though. beds were average quality. when checked in arrived early but no where to store luggage but then signs up everywhere saying lock your belongings away which meant after being told to leave out stuff in hall way became little concerning. the cleaning staff do seem to be working really hard and seemed like given alot to do in little time therefore things were not cleanest. also arrived at a time the office should be open and no one was at reception or anywhere to be found which was confusing and weird.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelle323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here a few days after arriving in Auckland. Friendly staff, but you don't see much of them. We had a private room, which was nice and clean and comfortable. Can't comment on shared rooms as we didn't see any. Good communal spaces and facilities. Worked well for a reasonably priced place to crash and get over jet-lag after a long flight.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
673 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Had a rental car and was in dominion road area and needed place to stay as I wanted to go to the Clare inn Irish bar
First night,there was a long haired nice guy in his early thirtys at reception
Offered me a twin room to myself for a good price
All good
Great free wifi and all facilities if needed
Good room, bed and shower
No tv though
Next evening after a long drive north I was in the same area and tried again
Some concert and rugby was on and the city had heardly any rooms left
This time I was talking to a cranky dark haired woman in her early thirtys who I think is the manageress
No rooms , ok no worries
It was around 8 pm
I asked her could I use the wifi to check for rooms elsewhere
Or the computer
She also told me the backpackers nearby was full but they had one room left on hostelbookers which I just missed as had to find Internet cafe No way would she let me use wifi so I end up driving to an Internet cafe
Nothing much online except the room in pent lands that after I booked it they rang me to tell me they had given it away!
Eventually after two hours checking motels
I found a motel on great south road
Called budget motel, very good place
So in short the manageress needs to improve her attitude and not have an attitude of we are full so go away !

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank samboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
1.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 113 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
1.5 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamber House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamber House Hostel

Property: Bamber House Hostel
Address: 22 View Road | Mt Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamber House is a family owned and run backpacker hostel located in beautiful Mount Eden, Auckland, complete with Mars and Clyde our dog and cat. Mt Eden is an iconic Auckland neighbourhood complete with an extinct volcano. Bamber House has a range of accommodation options including traditional backpacker shared and double rooms with shared bathrooms as well as ensuite double and twin rooms. It is about 3.5 kms from the city centre. There is a bus stop really close. We have lots of free off-street car-parking and spacious grounds. The closest stop for the Skybus is Mt Eden train station which is about a 10 minute walk. We are close to supermarkets, cafes, bars, restaurants, banks, post offices... A longtime favourite of travellers from all over the world. Free high speed wifi is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bamber House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamber House Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing