We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bamber House Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Plum Lodge(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
City Towers(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Alpers Lodge(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auckland Newmarket Motel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Mount Eden Motel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quest Ponsonby(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
The Surrey Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
282
112
19
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
112
19
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount edennew zealandthe main housecommon areasdominion roadoff street parkingfree wifitransport linkswell stocked kitchencity centrehome away from homebig kitchengreat place to stayother guestsliving roomlong termbunk beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Couldn't decide between two and three stars. However the other 3* reviews reflect my impression quite well.

The building is nice, as well as the common area. Staff welcome is pleasant, lots of tips, free wifi. Kitchen ok, outside seating area fine. Showers and toilets kept clean.

All the magic is gone when you enter the room (twin room, ground floor). It's small, worn out and not properly maintained with old dirty carpet on the floor. Leaking window. Just to go to bed and fall asleep as soon as possible. If you're lucky and there is no noise from outside.

Slowly we understood that the majority of occupants are the long-termers working in the area. Obviously their interests and lifestyle don't meet with the needs of the travelers on their holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiddler_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nzsuze, Owner at Bamber House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for bringing our attention to the window no one has mentioned it before. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations but we are a backpacker hostel and you stayed in an economy twin our cheapest twin room. The room was professionally painted just over a year ago. The beds are hotel quality, innerspring and likewise relatively new. All the linen has been replaced for summer. We have in the last couple of weeks taken some longer term guests (about ten) as it is now the low season and as well as being a financial necessity there is nothing worse than a large empty hostel in winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I spent a couple of nights at the Bamber House before leaving New Zealand and the place is a real delight. The premises are clean, tidy and well equipped.
There a peaceful atmosphere and no noise during the night which enabled me to have a good rest.
Also, the managers are very nice and helpful and provided me with many information regarding what to do in Auckland, how to get to the airport, etc.
I recommend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amandine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hostel is located in Mt. Eden a nice suburb of Auckland. 15 minutes away from city centre (by bus). We went here two times. First time after a long flight of 40 hours, it was really good to take a rest down here. Second time after 3 weeks drive around the whole country, it was a pleasant return. The hostel is clean and the beds are good. The staff is really nice as well. The kitchen was well equipped. There are a lot of shops close by with a large supermarket included. Would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

unlike the other hostels in the city, it more like a home. spacious deck, trampoline, friendly friends from around the world, etc. you can walk or take the bus to the city. bus stop is just on the opposite side of the road.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lovely building, kitchen was well equipped and staff were friendly, we stayed in a room in the ground floor and felt like the hostel needed some more toilets downstairs, plus it always smelled of cigarettes in the toilet, maybe coming from the outdoor smoking area. The room was fine, nice to have electricity plugs on a timer to save power. Compared to other BBH hostels in NZ we expected more based on the 88% rating.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Priscila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews