We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In desperate need of renovation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Travellers Auckland
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed on and off here for 3 months basically due to its location which is a 2 minute walk to Queen Street and its value for money as you will be hard pushed to find anywhere else that offers the same facilities for the price.

The staff are friendly enough and will try to help to the best of their abilities.

I will have to say though the building is showing its age and is desperate need of renovation and the cleaning of the rooms is abysmal!

Room Tip: Try and get an apartment on a high floor at the back of the building if you want a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomTom803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

For the price we paid, we couldn't really expect a lot, but there was a decent bed and the bathroom was clean, so that was alle we needed. The location is convenient, it is not really in the city centre, but therefore it is also quite at night so you can sleep soundly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have just had a week in City Travellers, and paid around $50 a night on a 7 night deal directly through their website. The location is the best thing about this place. It is close to Queen Street and the harbour, only about 5 mins walk, and Britomart, which is what we needed to be close to. And for the amount we paid in such a central location, we can't complain about the facilities.
We stayed in a studio which was fairly spacious, with an ensuite, kitchen and tv. The shower was really good, but falling apart, and the bed was pretty big and comfortable. However, none of the facilities worked properly, we had to ask them to fix the tv almost everyday and the stove top took ages to heat up. But it was a comfortable stay for the week. If you don't mind average facilities or having the cleanest of rooms, then this place will be no problem. If you do book this place, check out the offers on their website, they usually have deals for 3 or 7 night stays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandA1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Our stay at this place was ok since its location was very good with easy access to everywhere. We stayed in a studio so we had a coach and small kitchennete to cook so need to east out. But it was so noisy!! I didn't sleep.comfortable during our whole stay. Elevator did not working for several days and we moved alk our stuff to.third floor!!! But the point is it almost worth for what you pay in a place like auckland

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank AzadehTehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Found this place by chance after leaving our previously booked accommodation on arrival - and so glad we did! Viewed a studio room before agreeing to 9 nights stay in March. We found this room to be a good size with basic facilities but had everything we needed, and generally quite clean. Useful laundry facilities, and great location to go and explore - huge countdown grocery shop only a few minutes walk so no need to rely on smaller independent shops nearby. Good reduced rates directly on their website - you get what you pay for, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BailS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I dont know who took the pictures but he must have been a good photographer....the rooms dont look like that at all! We paid 90 dollars and the shower was moldy and fell apart when i tried to close it. The room itself is so dirty i wouldnt pay a cent to stay there if i hadnt already paid online. When we arrived there was noone at the reception even if we arrived within office hours. After an hour we finally found out to push a button outside the hostel so someone would come and check us in....we didnt get wifi even if we paid for it....all in all a terrible place only the location is a plus.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Struggling to give this place even 1 star, but the one good thing about it was the location (5 min walk to Vector Arena which is why we chose it). Other than that, this place is a dive and doesn't look much like what you see on their website at all. We had a studio apartment which had half the shower door missing, no bathmat, no soap/shampoo/conditioner provided as implied by the photos, washbasin was rotten and had been painted over, phone was broken and wires hanging out, kitchen dirty, 2 thin pillows provided and no spares, hallway reeked of cigarette smoke, thin curtains - I could go on. We had booked for 3 nights but left after 1 night to another nearby establishment which was the best decision.
Do not stay here! Even for its low price, its not worth the money and you couldn't pay us to stay there ever again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quest on Eden
Quest on Eden
#67 of 132 in Auckland Central
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B...
#4 of 62 in Auckland Central
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jucy Snooze
Jucy Snooze
#11 of 62 in Auckland Central
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#56 of 132 in Auckland Central
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Travellers Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Travellers Auckland

Address: 93 Anzac Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Hotel Class:2 star — City Travellers Auckland 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Travellers is designed with the budget traveller in mind. If you’re looking for affordable accommodation in the centre of Auckland that is handy to all the excitement of the CBD, come and stay with us.We provide safe, cheap and conveniently located hostel accommodation for the budget conscious traveller who wants to be close to public transport, the Vector Arena and downtown Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Travellers Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Travellers Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
City Travellers Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing