We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms & location but hard to get internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good rooms & location but hard to get internet”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed in a 2br Appt. The rooms & bed are ok. Basic kitchenette and washer/dryer (didn't use). The only issues were with the extra charges for a few things:
- no wifi, we were told they had wired only (no mention of cost)... With only iDevices, it was a bit tricky but with an AirPort Express, can make a local hotspot, only to discover that Internet is chargeable, cheapest option 8$/day.
- parking: they refer guests to a nearby carpark and charge 18$ for the exit cards. A whole day stay in the parking if you pay yourself is only 10$. So it's only convenient for multiple entries...

Location is good, a short walk to ferry terminal & viaduct harbor

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Klodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    596
    191
    70
    37
See reviews for
584
459
53
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

That was the response from the “manager” at the Stadium Waldorf when we asked about a move to another room as we had been asking for a move for the last 3 months but they always said that they were full and could not move a long term resident!
He said that while the Rugby world cup was on we would need to pay this extra money and move out of our apartment and relocate on the ground floor at the back of the building where all the offices workers and staff from the hotel go for their smokes. How nice to pay extra for that.
He said if we did not pay we could move out as he could rent the room out for a $1000 a night while the World cup was on. This is the style and level of “management” that you can expect from this hotel. They just want to rip off, gouge, and profiteer from the guests. This was the last time that I spoke to any of the staff again and found myself another apartment to stay where they actually know what service and hospitality means.
Due to work commitments we were booked into a one bedroom apartment at the Stadium Waldorf (SW) for 3 months. The SW advertises as having hotel rooms and apartments. First impressions were good as it was lovely and clean, a modern building and a decent size compared to others that I had stayed in, in Auckland. The furniture and decoration were modern and included a two ring hob, oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine and a dryer. No cleaning utensils are supplied, storage space is limited and kitchen utensils are not of the best quality, but overall it was comfortable within the apartment.
We asked for a high floor at the back of the hotel as the front was situated on a main road that carried a lot of trucks heading into and out of the container port and it looked like that it would be very noisy day and night. We were placed on the third floor at the back looking straight onto an office block where I could watch all the people working as they were 15 foot from our windows. When I went onto the balcony I got a cheery wave from the call centre people in the opposite office, I could also watch the TV that they have mounted on their wall. Due to all these reasons, we went straight down stairs to ask for another room as this one was not suitable for us.
This is the start of our troubles with the “management”.
They did the usual typing into the computer and said that they were fully booked just now and to come back in a couple of days and they would see what they could do.
We settled down for the weekend before work on Monday and to be fair the SW is very quiet at night time and has a no party policy and no noisy bars nearby; the only noise you get is the heavy trucks and their exhaust.
We asked a couple of times about moving but always got passed on and eventually spoke to the manager who informed us that we could not be moved as the bottom floors went to long term residents we knew this was untrue as our friends were on the 10th floor. But then lying is a tool used by the hotel.
We were told that we had to clean our own rooms!!!!! Or we could pay an extra $150 a week for the cleaners to do the job. I asked for spare sheets he informed us that we could rent ones for $150, I asked for spare towels and the answer was rent them for $150. I asked for 20 coat hangers to be sent to my room as we only had 6 of them in the 1 and only storage cupboard, none ever arrived. 24hrs later I went down to reception and asked for 20 coat hangers, I got 6 so once again went out and bought more. There is no cleaning utensils in the apartment and you have to go down to reception and borrow the vacuum to keep your apartment clean and either buy other cleaning utensils or borrow.
You sort of get the picture now.
Now the SW has a mixture of long term residents and normal hotel residents but for any long term people there is absolutely not enough storage space in the room so you end up still living out of your bag or else you have to buy some plastic storage boxes. Due to our proximity to the offices opposite we had to keep our curtains closed or we had unwanted eyes looking in. As the office was a call centre, it was populated more often than not. Due to surrounding buildings blocking the sun and having to draw the curtains from prying eyes, the apartment was dark quite often as we felt we had no privacy if the curtains were open. The hotel has no car parking facilities. You can use the public parking at the back of the SW and they have no dedicated spaces, so if a show is on at the ‘Vector Arena’ then there is a good chance that the car park will be full and you will not get parked. Please see picture of car park staircase not the safest to use at night time and the lift does not go to ground floor you still have to carry bags down another 10 stairs. The price you pay for parking varies from between $10 to $20 a night. When you walk from the multi-storey car park to the back door of the SW, you see a small 6-8 car parking spot which runs up the side of the SW. This has signs up stating that it’s for hotel guest short term parking, the “management” do not tell you about this place as they park their cars their all day every day, so much for the customer comes first.
The SW web page shows a swimming pool and a gym. They have converted a ground floor room into a gym, see picture, but you have to take your own remote for the AC down as they do not like you using the AC. They had a broken on/off switch on one of the machine. I informed them and it took them 3 weeks to put a ‘DO NOT USE’ sign on the machine and a week later the machine was gone and not replaced.
Now the swimming pool advertised on the web page is in another gym in another building 500 meters away and you have to ask for the swipe entry card to use these facilities. We got the card one day and went along to be told that the card admits one person only and that the SW only has one card for the whole building i.e. 10 floors. This is ok if you get in first and are single – not so good if someone else has gained access to it and you have someone you would like to go to the gym with. A few times during my stay they gave the card away to somebody and did not note their room number so they were carrying the card around and nobody else could use the gym as they did not return it after use. The staff demonstrates a ‘don’t care’ attitude and have a great attachment to the word ‘no’.
There is a huge building project next door to the SW and I had 3 months of jack hammers and the place is still not built, see pictures.
There is a child care centre behind the building, and all day every day the kids are in the open air section screaming their heads off and the noise just funnels right into the apartment. I could not open our balcony as the noise from all of this was deafening and smokers tended to congregate at the back of the hotel under our balcony.
All in all not a pleasant stay and am glad to be leaving.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfStadium, Manager at Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
This is quite a strange review.
The person stayed in our serviced apartment for more than 12 weeks- it seemed that the facility was good enough for more than 3 months.
We had a special offer for long stay guests during the Rugby World Cup 8 week period- for additional NZ$200 per week (or NZ$28 per day) we were extending their stay during this peak period in which some hotel operator are charging NZ$500-NZ$1000 per day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

A very good combination of location,value and quality in downtown Auckland. The staff truly showed an interest in assisting us in both our accommodations and daily activities such as mail and parking. TGreat business hotel; with good anad cheap internet service in the apartment. .. The hotel apartrment room itself was an apartment with 2 bedroom in total. A standard equipped bedroom, bathroom, living+dining+kitchen and a spare room which we had no use for (it did have a desk and a single bed along with a little balcony with the unusual view of a walkway). Much more room than a couple could use. There was a balcony which was for drying clothes or smoking. The kitchen had all the needed equipment to cook your own meals. A definite bonus if you are staying a few days and want to save a bit on costs. The bathroom and bedrooms were clean and tidy. There is laundry in the bathroom area. The hotel is centrally located between the core downtown and chic Parnell district. Both are within walking distance as well as the ferry terminal, train station and harbour district. There is a great large Countdown s

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank rassy0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Waldorf Stadium is my preferred hotel when I travel to Auckland- I've tried a few others. in my previous trips but made my mind
Check-in is always friendly and efficient. Rooms are contemporary, clean and quiet ... On times I have been upgraded to a 2-bed suite the extra space is certainly worth paying more for.
The free internet is cheap, quick and a god-send, especially compared to other properties that still charge $30 per day and cap your download. in Stadium at NZ$25 per week it is reasonably priced for a hotel of this quality.
It would be great to have some loyalty scheme that recognises frequent guests though - but aside from that I think the Waldorf Stadfium is a pretty good package.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank sorgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Very good Auckland location, We stay ina studio hotel apartment in April for 2 night.Very modern,luxurious accommodation- great value-we will come back

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank rootrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We spent 3 night at the Stadium WaldorfAuckland in JUNE 2011. The suite were large and clean and the bathroom had a washing& drier and shower. It is a very modern looking room. Nice veranda so I could smoke!The Heavenly bed was heavenly!

We found the location gtreat . It is on the quiet side of the harbor walk and it takes about 6minutes to get to the main Queen Street area with restaurants. Sky City is about a 12minute walk from the hotel.

Good speedy internet service in the apartment.Very good value for money Auckland accommodation!

Very spacious,modern & upmarkrt suites.Very secured conplex with 24/7 reception & security, I can recommend it for anyone staying in Auckland.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank berlin0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We enjoyed our week end stay in a modern, spacious 2 bedroom hotel apartment in Waldorf Stadium Aopartments Hotel in Auckland. Great location near the main railway station and plenty of cheap food & coffe shop outlets. Great 24/7 Countdown supermarket. Near the water front & vector Arena. 8 muinutes walk to Quuen Street. On the bus round around the city service.Very good rate for family of 5!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank evans0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Property: Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Address: Stadium Apartments 40 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Stadium is the Waldorf Group's premiere apartment hotel in New Zealand. Situated in the heart of Auckland City, these luxury self contained apartments offer guests high quality accommodation close to all of the attractions Auckland City has to offer. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Stadium, or enjoy one of the many dining options Auckland City has to offer. Britomart, just 400m away is Auckland's newest entertainment precinct and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Stadium, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadium Waldorf Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing