We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best suite- hotel we stayed in!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We spend 3 night in this apartment hotelafter been disapointed from our first night inital hotel choice.Firstly, this apartment is situation in a newly rejuvenated port area a good of Auckland Central 5minutes walk from the city center (Quuen Street), 5 minutes from the railway station and the Harbor.. if you're looking for a lovely suite in what felt like a new hotel in a nice friendly & secured atmosphere, go for it. We had a large 1 bedroom+office hotel apartment with a large kitchen/lounge, separate bedroom and a huge bathroom with laundry. The balcony was fab and we ate out there at night. There is a lhuge 24/7 supermarket a 200 m walk away but there's also few nice asian restaurant right across the street. . why pay to eat in a restaurant, we thought, when we can enjoy this is the privacy of our own luxury suite.
The hotel also has graet and cheap internet service .This hotel definitely ranked as one of the nicest places we stayed in NZ - highly recommended. Easy on-site parking ( 50 m from the entrance)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank daisygroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

Hi. We stayed here for four nights in August 2011. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. On our first morning we went out and came back to find the cleaners had been in and cleaned our dishes and made our beds!! Above and beyond the call of duty we thought and very much appreciated. There is a countdown supermarket very close by (100 metres away) which is very handy. Good central city location. Great views. Modern appartments. Only negative comments I would make are that it is on a main road and it is used by a lot of trucks which can be a little noisy, although it was not bad enough to worry us. Unfortunately in our last morning we were cleaning up and checking we had not left things behind and found a dirty nappy underneath the bed in the childrens rooms!!! Must have been left by the guests before us! But overall the rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. Would recommend these apartments and we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank marie24974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

As I am now in Auckland every few months for work I spent a few times checking out different accomodation options. I have decided the Auckland Stadium Apartment Hotel is the place I will call home when in Auckland. The apartments are spacious, modern,comfortable, have great internet & security And the best value I could find in Auckland central. Recomended

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank danny888s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Thought this place looked great from the reviews but was disapointed when i arrived. The rooms were ok but not great a little dirty (or look unclean) good size and had most things you need.

Service is just not there, check in was very disapointing. I felt like i was in the way and they wanted me out of there hair as fast as they could.

Would not stay again, I would try one of the other 4 star hotel in town

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maree j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed in Stadium Waldorf Apartments Hotel in Auckland for 5 weeks.Great concept for extended stay accommodation as an alternative for hotel. Spacious modern, 2 bedroom hotel apartment with internal laundry,kitchen and small deck.Good security, very professional service and accommodation provider- great value for extended stay hotel accommmodation- pity we do not have it at home!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank goodin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed in a 2br Appt. The rooms & bed are ok. Basic kitchenette and washer/dryer (didn't use). The only issues were with the extra charges for a few things:
- no wifi, we were told they had wired only (no mention of cost)... With only iDevices, it was a bit tricky but with an AirPort Express, can make a local hotspot, only to discover that Internet is chargeable, cheapest option 8$/day.
- parking: they refer guests to a nearby carpark and charge 18$ for the exit cards. A whole day stay in the parking if you pay yourself is only 10$. So it's only convenient for multiple entries...

Location is good, a short walk to ferry terminal & viaduct harbor

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Klodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

That was the response from the “manager” at the Stadium Waldorf when we asked about a move to another room as we had been asking for a move for the last 3 months but they always said that they were full and could not move a long term resident!
He said that while the Rugby world cup was on we would need to pay this extra money and move out of our apartment and relocate on the ground floor at the back of the building where all the offices workers and staff from the hotel go for their smokes. How nice to pay extra for that.
He said if we did not pay we could move out as he could rent the room out for a $1000 a night while the World cup was on. This is the style and level of “management” that you can expect from this hotel. They just want to rip off, gouge, and profiteer from the guests. This was the last time that I spoke to any of the staff again and found myself another apartment to stay where they actually know what service and hospitality means.
Due to work commitments we were booked into a one bedroom apartment at the Stadium Waldorf (SW) for 3 months. The SW advertises as having hotel rooms and apartments. First impressions were good as it was lovely and clean, a modern building and a decent size compared to others that I had stayed in, in Auckland. The furniture and decoration were modern and included a two ring hob, oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine and a dryer. No cleaning utensils are supplied, storage space is limited and kitchen utensils are not of the best quality, but overall it was comfortable within the apartment.
We asked for a high floor at the back of the hotel as the front was situated on a main road that carried a lot of trucks heading into and out of the container port and it looked like that it would be very noisy day and night. We were placed on the third floor at the back looking straight onto an office block where I could watch all the people working as they were 15 foot from our windows. When I went onto the balcony I got a cheery wave from the call centre people in the opposite office, I could also watch the TV that they have mounted on their wall. Due to all these reasons, we went straight down stairs to ask for another room as this one was not suitable for us.
This is the start of our troubles with the “management”.
They did the usual typing into the computer and said that they were fully booked just now and to come back in a couple of days and they would see what they could do.
We settled down for the weekend before work on Monday and to be fair the SW is very quiet at night time and has a no party policy and no noisy bars nearby; the only noise you get is the heavy trucks and their exhaust.
We asked a couple of times about moving but always got passed on and eventually spoke to the manager who informed us that we could not be moved as the bottom floors went to long term residents we knew this was untrue as our friends were on the 10th floor. But then lying is a tool used by the hotel.
We were told that we had to clean our own rooms!!!!! Or we could pay an extra $150 a week for the cleaners to do the job. I asked for spare sheets he informed us that we could rent ones for $150, I asked for spare towels and the answer was rent them for $150. I asked for 20 coat hangers to be sent to my room as we only had 6 of them in the 1 and only storage cupboard, none ever arrived. 24hrs later I went down to reception and asked for 20 coat hangers, I got 6 so once again went out and bought more. There is no cleaning utensils in the apartment and you have to go down to reception and borrow the vacuum to keep your apartment clean and either buy other cleaning utensils or borrow.
You sort of get the picture now.
Now the SW has a mixture of long term residents and normal hotel residents but for any long term people there is absolutely not enough storage space in the room so you end up still living out of your bag or else you have to buy some plastic storage boxes. Due to our proximity to the offices opposite we had to keep our curtains closed or we had unwanted eyes looking in. As the office was a call centre, it was populated more often than not. Due to surrounding buildings blocking the sun and having to draw the curtains from prying eyes, the apartment was dark quite often as we felt we had no privacy if the curtains were open. The hotel has no car parking facilities. You can use the public parking at the back of the SW and they have no dedicated spaces, so if a show is on at the ‘Vector Arena’ then there is a good chance that the car park will be full and you will not get parked. Please see picture of car park staircase not the safest to use at night time and the lift does not go to ground floor you still have to carry bags down another 10 stairs. The price you pay for parking varies from between $10 to $20 a night. When you walk from the multi-storey car park to the back door of the SW, you see a small 6-8 car parking spot which runs up the side of the SW. This has signs up stating that it’s for hotel guest short term parking, the “management” do not tell you about this place as they park their cars their all day every day, so much for the customer comes first.
The SW web page shows a swimming pool and a gym. They have converted a ground floor room into a gym, see picture, but you have to take your own remote for the AC down as they do not like you using the AC. They had a broken on/off switch on one of the machine. I informed them and it took them 3 weeks to put a ‘DO NOT USE’ sign on the machine and a week later the machine was gone and not replaced.
Now the swimming pool advertised on the web page is in another gym in another building 500 meters away and you have to ask for the swipe entry card to use these facilities. We got the card one day and went along to be told that the card admits one person only and that the SW only has one card for the whole building i.e. 10 floors. This is ok if you get in first and are single – not so good if someone else has gained access to it and you have someone you would like to go to the gym with. A few times during my stay they gave the card away to somebody and did not note their room number so they were carrying the card around and nobody else could use the gym as they did not return it after use. The staff demonstrates a ‘don’t care’ attitude and have a great attachment to the word ‘no’.
There is a huge building project next door to the SW and I had 3 months of jack hammers and the place is still not built, see pictures.
There is a child care centre behind the building, and all day every day the kids are in the open air section screaming their heads off and the noise just funnels right into the apartment. I could not open our balcony as the noise from all of this was deafening and smokers tended to congregate at the back of the hotel under our balcony.
All in all not a pleasant stay and am glad to be leaving.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfStadium, Manager at Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

This is quite a strange review.
The person stayed in our serviced apartment for more than 12 weeks- it seemed that the facility was good enough for more than 3 months.
We had a special offer for long stay guests during the Rugby World Cup 8 week period- for additional NZ$200 per week (or NZ$28 per day) we were extending their stay during this peak period in which some hotel operator are charging NZ$500-NZ$1000 per day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
827 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Address: Stadium Apartments 40 Beach Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £66 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Stadium is the Waldorf Group's premiere apartment hotel in New Zealand. Situated in the heart of Auckland City, these luxury self contained apartments offer guests high quality accommodation close to all of the attractions Auckland City has to offer. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Stadium, or enjoy one of the many dining options Auckland City has to offer. Britomart, just 400m away is Auckland's newest entertainment precinct and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Stadium, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadium Waldorf Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing