We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sliding glass door with a curtain does not make a 2 Bed Apartment in my book. Also excessive building noise starting at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sliding glass door with a curtain does not make a 2 Bed Apartment in my book. Also excessive building noise starting at”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed at these apartments after my husband had actually spent a very good stay here for the world cup in a 1 bed apartment. However, our return visit was as a family with our toddler. We booked a 2 bed apartmment so we could all get some rst and not have to creep around the place! However beware. The 2nd bedroom is actually wedged between the master bedroom and the bathroom, is as wide as a queen bed with a tiny gap to shuffle into the bed, and is prctically windowless - oh except for the sliding glass door which has a curtain which is their substutute for a door to the second bedroom. No doubt to mak up for the fact that without it the room would be completely depressing.

However the sliding door isn't sound prof. You can hear everything in the lounge and as a result is completely unsuitable for a family in my opinion.

Staff helpfully told me that yes it's not a good solution for a second bedroom, and showed me a 3 bed room as an alternative - then asked me to cough up an extra $150 (which they said was reduced!) to have the pleasure of a door on our second bedroom.

So we moved our chld into the master bedroom (the room with a door) and shifted the furniture around to make it safe for her.

Finally anyone staying here over the next 6 months or so should be aware that a large building is being errected next door and as the staff cheerily advised "oh yes they begin at aou 6.30am". Charming.

Room Tip: If you are getting a 2 bed apartment ask for one with an actual door. Also request one on the oppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbinozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    612
    199
    74
    39
See reviews for
601
471
55
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We had a 2 bedroom apartment for our family of five. Stayed 1 night. Very Clean, quiet place to stay. Comfortable beds. Modern apartments. The phone didn't work when we arrived, someone came up almost immediately to try to fix it. Very friendly polite staff, Would definately stay here again. We walked into the main shopping centre and back a few times, and down to the harbour - everything is close. Countdown supermarket (Woolworths) is just around the corner if you've forgotten anything, including alcohol. We were going on a cruise so it was very convenient to walk to the harbour. We are 50, and our children are aged 15-21 and we are all reasonably fit. Don't forget your jacket the wind in NZ can be very cold even in December.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

When we first drove up to the Hotel, I thought! What have I booked. It seemed to be a very shabby lobby! But the check in staff provided a great check in service, especially as we were concerend where to park our car (we chose to pay to have the hotel car park at a fee, rahter than the $3 less at a nearby public carpark). Worth it for the conveinence - but ask for it in advance as it is a small carpark and may be full if you ask at check in)

And then we got the keys, got to our hotel 'apratment' Absoulety gorgeous. A One bedroom with a lounge and a study room, with a seperate bedroom. Very well furnished. And new kitchen appliances (and washing machine - but no dryer!)

Basically the room was very clean and we certainly wanted to stay longer. But our schedule didnt allow it

Apart from the room, the location was also excellent to the city, the harbour and the casino - if thats what you wish for! The car certainly stayed in the carpark.

(although I do have to say, there is one reception member who wasnt very well informed about the Auckland things to do. eg I asked if the city was open for shpping that night - being a Friday night - he said No it wasnt. But, it was! And I could of had more shopping time! Still managed to fit some in!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atheniancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We picked this hotel because of the kitchen facilities, location and the local gym access. The kiitchen was great and it helped there was a supermarket down the street. The location was not far from the wharf and that is where we caught the hop on hop off bus to tour Auckland. They have an arrangement with a small gym down the road and we used that a couple times, which was more than adequate.

On checkout we had a slight issue because of the early checkout times, but overall the hotel was good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOtheConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I recently stayed here for my sisters wedding. I was impressed with the size of the room and bathroom! The apartment was very modern and clean. The staff are excellent, they were very friendly and helpful! Will definately be staying here again. The only downfall is that you have to use a public carpark close by.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights with our family of four. The staff was helpful. The apartment had a fully equipped kitchen, and 2 large, comfortable double beds, and a sitting area with lots of room. It is a great choice for families. The decor is modern but far from luxurious. Other reviewers had described the apartments as new, ours was not, but was perfectly adequate. One weird thing was the large white walls with no artwork at all. Again, not a reason not do go, but do not expect five star decorating.

The supermarket nearby was useful and convenient. While the immediate neighborhood was dull, it was a short walk to the main area of downtown.

We would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmom35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

nice and clean could have stayed longer but wanted to get traveling, a nice start to new zealand, easy and secure booking

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
0.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Property: Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Address: Stadium Apartments 40 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Stadium is the Waldorf Group's premiere apartment hotel in New Zealand. Situated in the heart of Auckland City, these luxury self contained apartments offer guests high quality accommodation close to all of the attractions Auckland City has to offer. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Stadium, or enjoy one of the many dining options Auckland City has to offer. Britomart, just 400m away is Auckland's newest entertainment precinct and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Stadium, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadium Waldorf Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing