We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been fine without the traffic noise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 16 February 2012

When we asked for a quieter room, there was none. The other end of the building was woken at 6am with a construction site. We moved out and were very pleased to receive a refund for the two nights we didn't stay.
The pros were the very helpful staff and the 2 bedroomed apt. was a reasonable size.
Don't forget the earplugs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mortsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,412 - 1,418 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

we had 2 nights their and found the one bedroom apartment great. good facilities had a good view from the 10th floor room 1009. staff are helpfull and the vietnamese attached to the corner of the hotel was great.location 5 mins from city and countdown/woolies and liquor shop 2 mis walk .
would higly recommend

Room Tip: book direct with the hotel and don't be afraid to ask for a room with a veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment from 7 - 9 February.

This was the only apartment style hotel we stayed at during our 6 night visit to the North Island and was the least impressive of all our accommodation.

The pros of were: location, reasonable parking rates, good sized living area and the staff were helpful.

The cons were: the rooms were small to the point where the door to our bedroom didn't not close without us pushing the bed out of the way; the apartment wasn't serviced daily (something I don't recall reading anywhere when I booked); for a three bedroom apartment there was only one bathroom; there was only a soap dispenser in the bathroom which was empty and two of our party complained of a funny smell.

There is also no convenient place to pull up into to load and offload on arrival and departure. There is street parking for about 5 cars across the footpath but they need to available on arrival and departure.

If you plan to stay here in the next few months be aware that there is a construction site next door which might be disruptive but I didn't find it too bad.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgentM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Loved the location, it was close to Auckland city centre, ferry terminals, cruise ship dock, lots of restaurants, 24 hour Countdown grocery store, close to Parnel district, within walking distance to quay, skytower, Mt Eden, art gallery, theatres and some shopping.
Front desk was very very helpful - we arrived to the hotel early so they kept our bags until our room was ready. They arranged a taxi for us to get to the airport at 4:30am.

Our kitchen had oven, stove, fridge, freezer, toaster, kettle and microwave. They could have had more dishes, only had a set of 4, small glasses would have been good and extra cutlery.

Rooms were quite adequate but could have used more shelving and hooks to hang clothing on. More shelving in the bathroom and bedrooms would have helped. Only had one shelf in a closet in bedroom and no drawers. Would have been nice to have a night table on both sides of the bed. Could have used more lighting in the front room area. It was very hard to read in there.

Washer and dryer was nice to have. They should have better instruction on how to remove the filter from the dryer.

Wireless would have been nice in the room, although we did take advantage of the internet.

All in all it was a great deal, very clean and location was great. We would definately stay here again if in Auckland and would definately recommend friends stay here.

Room Tip: We faced Beach Road, it was noisy in the room with the window. 2nd bedroom, no windows was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Booked a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights. Spotlessly clean, quite new looking apartment in a very well managed complex. Location a few minutes walk from transport and ferry terminals as well as 24/7 Countdown supermarket. Had room on 9th floor facing Beach Road. Unfortunately noisy traffic seems to run 24 hours but cannot blame management for that!
Only minor quibbles on what is otherwise an exceptionally well equipped apartment. It's a pity to have to use the main lights to be able to see to read and some instructions for the washing machine might be helpful to those not used to the NZ top loading machines.

As a base to experience what Auckland has offer it makes ordinary hotels with their limited facilities and expensive add-ons pointless. It would be nice if internet access was included but I guess you can't have everything. At least at $20 for a week/2Gb it is not exorbitant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBalbeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

One of the best apartment hotels we stayed at during our trip. We were fortunate enough to stay in a studio apartment with patio on the top floor of the building with a view of the city. The modern-chic layout of the room was inviting and comforting. The sliding glass door to separate the bedroom from the living room was a small detail making it feel like a separate bedroom. We enjoyed the kitchenette complete with a stove and oven on days we wanted to stay in. There was a 24 hour countdown grocery store nearby which we used. Complete washer & dryer was included in the apartment bathroom and very convenient. Although no parking was available in the building, there is a 24-hour parking garage just around the corner for a fee. We used it to park our rental car, rather than searching the streets for free parking. This location is located within walking distance of many local sights; our rental car was used whenever we left the city for a day trip. Service from the concierge was great - 24 hour availability (not all establishments offer that). Great price for the accommodation. Would definitely consider staying here again next time we visit Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_traveler_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Convenient location, only a 10 min walk from where the airport shuttle bus drops you off. We had a one bedroom apartment which was modern, clean, huge and well equipped with a balcony overlooking the main road. Traffic noise was minimal with the door open and non existent with the balcony door closed. Only 5 mins walk to a huge Countdown supermarket which has everything your need including alcohol and is open until 10pm. All the main places are only a 10 min walk such as the ferry terminal, viaduct area and Queen Street. Carparking is available in a public carpark just behind the apartments at a cost of $18 a day. Our tip for a great place to eat is at Neptunes Cafe on Princes Wharf (just before the viaduct area) we ate there a few times as the food was also great and good value. Also the Northern Steamship pub is great for a drink and a meal (only a 5 min walk heading towards the ferry terminal). For car rental we were quite happy with APEX, their customer service was exceptional from the start when we started correspondence by email. We would definitely stay at the Waldorf Stadium Apartments again when we come back to Auckland, it certainly ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: One bedroom facing the main street with a balcony. Traffie noise was minimal and that's with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
796 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Address: Stadium Apartments 40 Beach Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £68 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Stadium is the Waldorf Group's premiere apartment hotel in New Zealand. Situated in the heart of Auckland City, these luxury self contained apartments offer guests high quality accommodation close to all of the attractions Auckland City has to offer. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Stadium, or enjoy one of the many dining options Auckland City has to offer. Britomart, just 400m away is Auckland's newest entertainment precinct and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Stadium, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadium Waldorf Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing