We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, better than any hotel and cheaper too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in Waldorf apartments a few times and always a great experience. Far better than staying at a hotel, I'm not sure why more people don't stay in apartments. Although service is reduced (I.e. No new towls each day) that far out weight the benefits (fully furnished with dishwasher, washing machine etc)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of May. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 8th floor. Both bedrooms had external windows and were a reasonable size and the bathroom was spacious.

The furnishings were good quality and comfortable although the sofa had slight damage.
The bathroom had a reasonable supply of toiletries, but shower gel would be welcome rather than the soap dispenser.

The apartment was very well equipped and was quiet overnight. There is the hum of traffic from early until late, but this is expected in a such a central location.

The apartment was very clean but we were disappointed that the room smelt of smoke after being closed up - we needed the windows open when we were there. The receptionist had offered to find us another room if necessary.
Our room was serviced on the 2nd day.
Friendly staff, both at reception & housekeeping.

Room Tip: Bedrooms with external windows, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traval25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Booked a 2 bedroom apartment through Expedia and got a lower rate than hotel offered direct.
Apartment small but very good value so close to city centre.
Lounge area quite roomy and full kitchen facilities. Bedrooms small especially second one but adequate.
Has a balcony.
Easy access to restaurants, rentals cars etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnieNelsonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Waldorf Stadium for two nights, Saturday and Sunday. I have stayed, and happily a number of times however there were a number of issues for me during this stay. At 4 star and expensive for two nights I expected higher quality.

Check in was good. My credit card was requested for payment of the night not covered by the deposit. I was ok with that, although more used to paying on the way out. The receptionist was polite and helpful.
The room was less acceptable. There were holes in the covering and the chairs and sofa are none too clean. This was not a clean or two away from clean, but long term grime.

In the promo pictures, there is bedside lamp in the twin room. There was none in our twin room, creating inconvenience, including inability to read while the other occupant slept, and the need to navigate the room in the dark once the light was off. Additionally one bedroom room was an internal room with a partial glass wall at the top. When the light was on in that room it shone through the glass into the other bedroom.

The dispensers for hand cleaner and in the shower are simply awful. We did use the hand one, but the shower one….it's not 4 star. The only other place I've seen this is in the Ibis Luton. Two star. The shower one had mould around the dispenser button.

The apartment was not serviced, and when I queried this I was told it can be serviced on request every 4th day. This us advertised as serviced apartments, and I could not find anything on booking.com nor their web site to say they are only conditionally serviced.

On check out I was once again asked for my credit card to pay the other night. As I am not on internet banking for my credit card I could not check this and am currently awaiting the statement to ensure there has been no duplicate charge. An easy mistake but as the payer not a comfortable one, and one that places the onus on me, the customer, to follow up.

All in all this was not a good stay. My 8 year old niece commented on the lack of cleanliness and the holes in the furniture, and we certainly felt very let down indeed. I emailed the hotel for comment but had no reply.

Room Tip: Ask to see it first before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerNZ146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Well located. Car parking & swimming pool are in separate buildings. Apartment well set up but no draws in the bedrooms or hooks in the bathroom to hang towels. No clothes rack to hang clothes, only a rail behind the toilet. Good for families. Enjoyed the breakfast on offer.

Room Tip: Junior Suite 2 bedroom good size for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wreysbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we booked via a travel agency so we were not sure what we will get.\We were pleasantly surprise as the rate were sharp and we did not expect such a quality accommodation. The location was very central yet quite and the 2 bedroom hotel suite very spacious modern and comfortable.\excellent choice for quality Auckland accommodation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solag88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great place to stay while in Auckland.good central location in the city..very luxurious but not too expensive,good size units and very helpfull staff.we had a very good 4 nights stay in a great city near the water front ofAuckland

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galidabour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
796 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Address: Stadium Apartments 40 Beach Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £68 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Stadium is the Waldorf Group's premiere apartment hotel in New Zealand. Situated in the heart of Auckland City, these luxury self contained apartments offer guests high quality accommodation close to all of the attractions Auckland City has to offer. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Stadium, or enjoy one of the many dining options Auckland City has to offer. Britomart, just 400m away is Auckland's newest entertainment precinct and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Stadium, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadium Waldorf Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing