We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back in a hurry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Won't be back in a hurry”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have stayed in the hotel a number of times over the past few years usually when going to concerts at vector arena. I'm not sure if the place is under new management but it certainly was not up to the 4 plus star rating that it advertised or what I have experienced in the past. The room was what I expected but the condition was poor. Holes in the furniture and not that clean, soap dispensers in the shower and bathroom and one very small towel. This is what I expect in an airport cube hotel not a downtown Auckland hotel. The tv reception came and went depending on the wind and the kitchen seemed to have less utensils (no coffee plunger). These are advertised as serviced apartments yet house keeping now needs to be requested and this now consists of them lending you a vacuum cleaner for 30 minutes. The staff at reception were very polite but when it came to anything out of the box they were outside of their script and didn't know what to do. However they where very good at offing apologies. For me I will be looking for a new place to stay when next in Auckland

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackhat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    588
    185
    70
    37
See reviews for
573
454
49
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We enjoyed vey much our stay in Stadium Apartment Hotel in Auckland.Quite unique type of accommodation which presnts very spacious 2 bedroom hotel apartment with modern decor and quality furnishing.Very reasonable rate at a very good central Auckland location near the city centre.Recomeend4d for for short or extended stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88bagis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Everything I needed for a short (4day) business trip - location, facilities & well equipped. Near the central transport hub, a good supermarket just down the road and walkable to Queen St.

The staff kindly upgraded me to a 2 room apartment on the top floor (thank you!). The apartment was very clean, modern & roomy, and the kitchen really well equipped - I appreciate when there is enough cutlery and the kitchen is equipped with the type of tools that you might need.

A tiny matter - the shower took an awfully long time (some minutes) to run hot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marywgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It was a great place to stay while we spent 6 nights in Auckland. Very central and safe location near most of the nice areas Auckland can offer to visitors. Very modern and spacious 2 bedroom suites on the 8th floor with great kitchen, laundry and excellent quality WIFI.Nice breakfast daily yet very close to a lot of restaurants and coffee place. Good service, clean and well maintained modern apartment in a very reasonable rate

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salun00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We only ever stay here when we come to Auckland, normally for a concert or casino event. Location is great - reception was very efficient and friendly, the apartments are modern, very clean and have everything we want in them. I don't know about the wifi as I use my own hotspot when I travel as I don't like to rely on hotel internet as its usually expensive and unpredictable. However, the rooms are perfectly good enough for us. Yes, the second bedroom is very small and I would prefer fresh milk and not the long life stuff they provide, however, those are the only negatives really. The balcony is lovely as my husband is a smoker and I'm not, so he gets to enjoy his smoke without having to leave the room and go outside. I love the small kitchenette and the fact that there is a washing machine and drier in the bathroom - very handy if you need to do a quick wash with no extra charges. We stayed with our adult son and there was plenty of room for the 3 of us. We will always go back here as the price is good and the service is great. We've stayed in many so called 4 star places in Auckland and none of them come close to this place in cleanliness and modern apartments. Just love it.

Room Tip: Check with Trivago as prices vary on different booking websites - we found Hotels.com to be the chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citylights10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights over the rugby weekend in a two bedroom apartment. The room was clean, tidy and well appointed. The second bedroom is extremely small and with a bed, desk and wardrobe included there is little space left but as it was for one person and only used for sleeping it was absolutely fine. We were on the 10th floor and away from Beach Road so was pretty quiet for being in the city. Also very close to the car park and at $18 a day that was pretty reasonable for Auckland! Great location to Britomart, Queen Street and the Viaduct. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the road as it is quieter. Also, if there are 4 people staying enqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GeriK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
240 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for five nights in a 2 bedroom apartment (609). We were not at all satisfied.

Our (bad) impression was based on, amongst other things:
- second bedroom is a joke, really just a bed with walls around, no other furniture or any window. You need to keep the door open to get air.
- only two dining chairs around a small dining table, even though this apartment is announced for four persons
- only seating for three people in the living room area
- there is nowhere to put things, no desk, shelves etc. Also nowhere to hang your jacket by the door or elsewhere
- cheap soap in the shower
- no light at/over the bathroom mirror
- magazines etc in the room was wrinkled and had coffee stains upon arrival
- balcony had trash on the floor and an ashtray that wasn't empty, again on arrival
- so called "housekeeping" on second day did basically nothing, except vacuum the (black) carpet, take out the trash and take away four towels and leave only two behind. Glass tables not cleaned, beds not made etc. (I know it's called a mini service, but this is nano/nothing…)
- holes in the sheets and pillow cases
- noice all hours
- dish washer didn’t really work very well. Many times we had to put it on again as cups and dishes weren’t clean
- wi-fi might be cheaper than many other places, but it is unstable and the Mb goes fast. If you buy the cheapest option it is limited to one device.

Location is good and front desk staff is very friendly, and you won’t get ill by staying there or anything, but we cannot recommend this place. Especially if you are more than two people, and even then there is just too much lacking in this place.

Room Tip: If you are more than two adults go somewhere else. Second bedroom is a bed with wall on all sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Property: Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Address: Stadium Apartments 40 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Stadium is the Waldorf Group's premiere apartment hotel in New Zealand. Situated in the heart of Auckland City, these luxury self contained apartments offer guests high quality accommodation close to all of the attractions Auckland City has to offer. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Stadium, or enjoy one of the many dining options Auckland City has to offer. Britomart, just 400m away is Auckland's newest entertainment precinct and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Stadium, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadium Waldorf Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing