We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, otherwise disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We chose to book at this apartment because of its proximty to Vector Arena and as such it can't be beaten. The venue was right at the back door and we were probably the first in Auckland to be home after a fabulous concert.
There were some down sides though - the apartment was very small - the second bedroom was barely wider than the queen bed and had no window (other than 2 hgih ones to let in light from the bedroom beside it) or natural ventilation. Cleanliness was not what I'd expect for a 4star plus establishment venue - hair on the bathroom floor on our arrival, floor not vacuumed where sofa had been moved, etc. Kitchen equipment was barely adequate and one plate was badly cracked and stained. Saucepan in cupboard still had food caked on the inside and had to be scrubbed before we could use it. Servicing each day was minimal - no vacuuming done, had asked for extra towels and these were not left.
On the good side the beds were very comfortable and laundry facilities good. parking is an issue - the management cannot guarantee a parking space will be available - not great when you have a party member with a disability.
I would stay again because of the proximity to the arena, but it doesn't match up to other apartments I've stayed in here or overseas

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank browser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,628 - 1,634 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2009

I visit Auckland 5 times a year and usually stayed in a CBD hotel. I tried Waldorf Stadium apartment hotel as it was recomended by a friend. It was great- the location was very close to our regional office as well as other local attractions. The 1 bedroom hotel apartent was very large & spacious and enable me to work in a desk/study area. Very modern apartment with cheap internet service ( NZ$30 per week!!!). Secured building with limited services but great value and very pleasant stay!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank gold0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Great location, easy walking to the central buisness centre. very modern, looked after furnished hotel apartment, spacios with suuitable work area and good internet service. very secured complex with good service at very reasoable rate. Great find!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank ragg0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

AMAZING! And i am not easy to please. Lovely, lovely apartments! Soooo clean, modern, and brilliant! Couldn't say a bad word about this place. Apartment style, but with hotel amenities. You even get laundry detergent, It was perfect for our family of 5. Walking distance to all. We didn't purchase the internet option, just walk to Queen Street and their is an electronic store and we checked email there... shhh! Or, Esquire coffee houses seem to offer free internet as well. You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank doesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We visit our family in Auckland and stayed for 11 nights in Stadium Waldorf Apartments Hotel in the central city. The location was very good, about 500 m from Queen Street, 300 m from railway syation, 100 m from 24/7 FoodTown supermarket and c;ose to a lot of coffee shops & reastuarnats. The apartment was very spacious and 5 of us shared a 2 bedroom apartment with a veranda, kitchen, laundry, internet & car parking. very secured complex with good Gym and just very nice feeling about it!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
38  Thank Madhou00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

stayed at waldorf stadium for 10 nights. the location was great- 4 minutes walking to the office, very spacious 1 bedroom + office accommodation with good internet service- could work from the hotel!!!. very modern, luxurious fully equipped hotel apartments at central Auckland location- good value!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank davidbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Modern building with apartment units with all the comforts of home: washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, oven, good fast internet LAN (not free, but reasonable cost), fridge and ceran hotplates. The Link city bus stops right in front of the building. Auckland's largest 24/7 supermarket is right around the corner and there is a large Asian supermarket across the street. Walking distance to many of central Auckland's sights. Parking available at extra charge. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
39  Thank Hillymika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
946 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
747 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#30 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,271 reviews
0.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Address: Stadium Apartments 40 Beach Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £68 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Stadium is the Waldorf Group's premiere apartment hotel in New Zealand. Situated in the heart of Auckland City, these luxury self contained apartments offer guests high quality accommodation close to all of the attractions Auckland City has to offer. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Stadium, or enjoy one of the many dining options Auckland City has to offer. Britomart, just 400m away is Auckland's newest entertainment precinct and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Stadium, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadium Waldorf Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing