We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“QUIET BUT STILL CENTRAL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Carlaw Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quest Carlaw Park
Ranked #16 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“QUIET BUT STILL CENTRAL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

QUEST CARLAW PARK

We booked this Quest Apartment because we wanted a change from our usual Quest that we use when in Auckland.

It's new and in usual Quest style, comes as a fully fitted apartment with washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, electric hob and oven, plus a decent sized fridge freezer for all the food and the wine. (No point on going on holiday unless there is wine to enjoy)

Beds are very comfortable, the staff are friendly and prepared to listen to individual requests and there is a car park right next door which makes it convenient for the motoring traveller. The main CBD is just a short Link Bus trip away and there are restaurants to cater for all tastes just nearby.

A special thanks to the very nice receptionist on duty on Saturday the 29th of December: you were excellent and handled our special request with professionalism that met our needs.

If I have a criticism, its that the TV is a small, almost insignificant wall mounted one that's hard to view. Considering that a decent 36" LCD or Plasma TV is cheap as chips, the one supplied was a disappointment. But then you could say, we didn't go on holiday to watch TV.

Many thanks!

VERDICT: A great place to stay
RATING: A+

Room Tip: Get a car park ticket from reception as it is cheaper than getting a parking ticket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    56
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
71
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eketahuna, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Booked through Grabone, got a great deal with a free bottle of wine and wifi access. The room was nice and clean and the staff were very courteous and friendly. Easy walk to lovely Parnell and the Vector Arena where we were going to a concert. Also not too far from Auckland University and Queen Street. Only down side was the disabled toliet. It was a wet room and it got a bit slippery after our showers. Minor niggle for such an awesome stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I picked this hotel because of the convenient location as I was visiting the office across the road. The price was reasonable too. This place is very new and the apartments themselves are fantastic. Bed's comfy and clean. Modern shower and bathroom. Kitchen has a proper oven and a dishwasher! The cafe and restaurant downstairs are excellent.
One other plus must be stated and that's the friendliness of the staff. I arrived very early and they kindly let me check in as the room was available. Having traveled 20+ hours from the States that was wonderful.
I forgot to mention there's a walking trail out the back of the hotel that takes you straight up and through the "Dominion" park up to the museum. Very nice.
This was my first trip to Auckland and the Quest apartments were one piece in making it a very pleasant experience all round (that plus the phenomenally good food everywhere I went!)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed here for a work trip - it's not close to the CBD but it was fine for me as I needed to visit the university and elsewhere on the North Shore and access to the motorways was handy. You do need a car if doing business. Don't expect a view - the apartments face another building. If you are self catering, there is a Countdown supermarket about 15-20 minutes walk away as you head towards Vector Arena. Otherwise there is a whole string of restaurants in Parnell about 1km away, plus a cafe on the ground level of the apartment block.
I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. The kitchen area was tight and a lot of cupboards were up high. The kitchen was fairly well stocked with kitchen utensils and pots and pans. There is a microwave, full sized fridge, hot plates but no oven.There was a tiny two seater lounge and the TV was positioned in a tight corner at an angle. A sliding door separates the lounge/kitchen from the bedroom. Bathroom was OK, water pressure was reasonable. Garbage/recycling was replaced on a daily basis, but the room itself wasn't serviced.
Internet charge was a rip off, but I managed to get unlimited access because of the nature of the work I was doing.
Car parking was NZ$10 a night in a secure car park - actually part of a public car park.
I would stay here again even though it is a little out of the way, but I prefer no city traffic noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We've just had another 4 night stay at Quest Carlaw Park in penthouse 302 this time. It's not as enormous but still huge, very clean and so well set up. We were in Auckland for a family trip to Radiohead so with our two adult children.
We debated staying here again after our last experience in penthouse 301 being a little noisy from the car wash and service station. The noise wasn't an issue this time as much.
Pros - huge, clean, modern, comfortable beds, lovely showers, easy to drive to / from, lovely walking in The Auckland Domain out the back, and up to Parnell for cafes, and for us easy access to bars and Vector for the concert. Down stairs on week days there are great food places, closed in the weekend unfortunately.
Cons - not for everyone being right next to offices, a wee walk into the CBD (20 mins)
We will stay here again, it's so spacious and clean and easy with a car. Next time we are going to ask for 306 - although once the new University halls construction is over.
Thanks Quest Carlaw Park.

Room Tip: The Penthouses on level 3 are enormous with decks which are great. 301 was a little noisy but 302 OK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Purchased grab one voucher and took my niece for her birthdayand I mentioned this on the phone when I booked a room.When we checked in and out of the hotel the receptionist Kimberly made my niece feel very special by asking if she enoyed her stay.
The rooms were lovely and clean and especially liked the extra care they took to make guests feel welcome. The Kitkat chocolates and the earplugs came in useful.
Loved the fact that there were cooking facilities so we really made the most of the room.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the office building. We stayed during the weekend and there was a little bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Easter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

bought a grabone voucher for the labour weekend and did not regret it!
we forgot to check-in on time, got caught up checking the sales ;-), but the after hours receptionist/manager made everything smooth for us and even checked-in on us to see if were ok or if we need anything. the unit was spacious! loved it! and everything was so modern and tidy and clean!
the location was close to vector arena where the hot chelle rae concert was held! no parking problems there coz it was just 5-10 mins walk from where we were staying.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ela1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Carlaw Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Carlaw Park

Property: Quest Carlaw Park
Address: 15 Nicholls Lane | Carlaw Park, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Carlaw Park 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New property in between Auckland CBD & Parnell. Suitable for both Leisure and business travellers. All rooms have full kitchen and laundry facilities. on-site cafe, Italian, Sushi & Japanese Restaurant for your convenience. Walking distance to Museum, Parnell Village, AUckland CBD, University, Vector Arena, ASB Tennis Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quest Carlaw Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Carlaw Park Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing