We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and handy to the CBD.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bianco off Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bianco off Queen
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Cheviot, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and handy to the CBD.”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Room was spacious and clean. Excellent shower/bathroom. Was a bit noisey at night from street below. Outlook was ok. Nice wee balcony to sit on. Breakfast was ok but some muslie would have been nice. Location was good if you don't mind walking and buses are very close and run often. I would stay again as price was reasonable. Reception desk was very helpful with all our enquiries. We stayed in Tower A level 11 room D.

Room Tip: We chose a superior double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Burnett77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you found our location convenient, Great rooms, Great price, with complimentary breakfast and our staff friendly and willing to assist. Although we maintain a high level of standard here at Bianco Off Queen, Auckland.

Further, we are in Central Auckland, some amount of minimalistic noise is to be expected when opening up your balcony door. I am happy to say that our rooms are well insulated in general and therefore retain heat well and keep away most sounds. None the less, we will do some investigation to see what can be done to limit these sounds in the future.

We hope to see you welcome back in the near future.

Take care and safe travels back to Cheviot.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    217
    135
    95
    139
See reviews for
219
162
50
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed twice for a total of three nights at the beginning and end of our NZ trip

The value that this place offers for a capital city is stupendous, just a few bucks more than we were paying in provincial locations and with Internet thrown in as well. Everything in the spacious apartment was in good order, the bed was comfortable with the right sort of bedclothes and the Internet was quick (so long as one remembers to log into the system for the floor on which the apartment is located).

However, the location does offer challenges which severely diminished the experience. Despite opting for an upper floor on the supposition that it would be quieter this was not the case. There were the early morning cries of "merry revellers" on Queen Street nearby together with constant emergency vehicle sirens. On the second stay we were also troubled by the continuous hum of the airconditioning units on the nearby student accommodation.

It is also quite a hike down (and up on the way back!) to downtown activities, no problem for a pair of fit pensioners but probably difficult for those unable to walk very far or with young children.

Staff are generally good though the trainee who checked us in on our second stay needed more training and somebody attempted to deliver breakfast twice just as we were trying to get our heads down for a nap after a long flight. That said a special effort was made to get the room ready early after we dropped our luggage off after an early morning landing.

And finally. Do not build up you hopes of the "complimentary" breakfast. When Bund partakes of the meal he is happy with a simple Continental of bread and preserves if not enjoying cooked fare or cold meat, so a collation of Muffin, Oaty Bar and Yoghurt was never likely to impress. matron is more tolerant but a first bite into the Muffin convinced her that it was nothing like any other she had tasted and absolutely to be avoided.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MorrieBund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns.

Further, we are in Central Auckland, some amount of minimalistic noise is to be expected when opening up your balcony door. I am happy to say that our rooms are well insulated in general and therefore retain heat well and keep away most sounds. None the less, we will do some investigation to see what can be done to limit these sounds in the future.

We are very sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are always trying to find better ways to make this better. Our guest feedback is very important to us. It allows us to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for your support.

Please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return!

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2013

If this was a budget place you could live with it being run down and grotty. My apartment was terrible - holes in the chairs, hairs on the sink, the bathroom had a horrible smell and it looked out onto some run down, rough looking apartments. They did move me to A Tower from B Tower when I said I wouldn't be using the bathroom because it was too awful. That was better but the apartment was still not great - an old fashioned tv smaller than my computer monitor at work, rock solid bed. I wouldn't go back

Room Tip: Ask for the A Tower (B is worse)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit_abroadNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love for you to contact me directly at boq.fom@vrhotels.co.nz as there a number of issues you have raised in your review that are a real concern to me. I am not one to take such things easily and need to address them after receiving more information.

I look forward to hopefully hearing from you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

NZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

First experience at this hotel was terrible. Cleaning missed replacing towels, supplying breakfast & ensuring all the soaps & powders for the kitchen & laundry were replaced. It was a phone call every night about something missing or not done.

3 months later & this return visit was much better. Stayed in 13d, tower A facing directly into the whithouse :). The same old basic breakfast was supplied a muffin, juice & fruit. No major as the apartments have fantastic cooking facilities with all the utensils however had coffee plunger but just clicked no little Sachets of beans... location is ok in upper queen street but only a 5-10 minute walk to all main attractions.

Parking a nightmare, very tight, nice dent in the back of the car after a piler jumped behind me well I was reversing. Checkin parking terrible every park out the front of the lobby was fill.

Overall would go back staff alot more helpful this round.

Room Tip: Go to the supermarket first before heading into the CBD. Long walk from the hotel to nearest superma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJnzNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns. We are sorry for the parking situation. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are always trying to find better ways to make this better. Our guest feedback is very important to us. It allows us to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for your support.


Please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return!

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We were booked into a double room here by others and found it rather disappointing. The room was very cramped and there were lots of minor irritations - no bedside light on one side of the bed, no power point near the table (so it could not be used for work), no ironing blanket on the ironing board (had to use a towel, which was rather tricky), a brush for the kitchen floor area but no dustpan, powder for the dishwasher (which we did not need to use) but no washing-up liquid, nowhere in the bathroom to put washbags, very few channels on the TV etc etc.

Our room was not serviced at all during the three days we were there, and the tea/coffee for breakfast was not replenished until I made a specific request. Breakfast (supplied the afternoon beforehand) was a muffin, banana, yoghurt, an oat bar and fruit juice, with no choice of flavours. The room was reasonably clean but definitely not spotless. In addition, it was noisy with the windows open, due to air conditioning units and seagulls. We were on the 8th floor but the view was mainly of the backs and roofs of nearby buildings.

The good aspects of Bianco off Queen were the location (a 15 minute walk to the ferry pier down the main shopping street, 5 minutes from the bus stop for the airport), free and fast wifi internet, and the washing machine/dryer in the room. Staff at reception were friendly but I suspect rather overworked. The hotel certainly seemed to be busy as it provides budget accommodation in an expensive city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff, free and fast WiFi internet and convenient location. I was very concerned that your recent stay was not up to expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for some disappointing aspects of your stay. Clearly, the experiences you have encountered are not at all the kind of fine service we strive to provide all our guests. The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed and we are committed to make adjustments and take the necessary measures to prevent these issues from happening to future guests.

The next time that you visit Auckland, I do hope you will honor us a return visit to our hotel and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you deserve and should rightfully expect.

Kind Regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My partner and I stayed here for our first night in New Zealand and were pleased with the spacious room we received. I booked 3rd party and felt it was a great value for what I paid. We had a one bedroom apartment. The balcony and large windows were nice for ample light and ventilation. A muffin, breakfast slice, banana and yogurt were provided for each of us. It wasn't a luxury accommodation or breakfast, but I feel it was very comfortable and well-appointed for what we paid. The gentlemen who checked us in and out were both very courteous and pleasant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel Loving L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of Bianco Off Queen, Auckland. We are delighted to hear that you had a first class stay with us. We are more than happy to welcome you and your guests in your future travels.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Turk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Paid $155 for "Large 60SQM apartment with two well appointed bedrooms, a spacious lounge, sofa bed and large balconies all with the convenience of daily servicing. Conveniently located to all major CBD attractions. Separate living and Bedroom."
My thoughts -
Hotel is one block behind Queen Street and very convenient to Queen Street. We walked back at night and seemed safe enough.
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and that goes a long way. I can't say enough about how nice they were!
Car park is easy to manoeuvre around vs some in AKL which are pretty hard to get, especially with a ute! $20 per night.
Room was two bedroom and a fair size, you do not feel cramped. And while it was generally clean, it needed a proper dust up in corners, etc. Halls are also a bit tatty.
Continental breakfast provided in room was nothing special but more than enough.
Beds were comfortable and new and linen nice and comfy.
TVs in lounge and larger bedroom.
There are two balconies but one is very very close to adjoining building.
Shower fantastic. No bathtub.
Full length mirror in main bedroom which is a must in hotels which are "female-friendly" and often forgotten!
My only real issue was that I wanted to sleep with the doors/windows open and the building is directly opposite an ugly building with many many AC units and the noise was extremely loud all night long. Best if you sleep with door/windowns shut and use AC! No street noise though as the street below is very quiet.
I would stay again... it may not have been perfect but it was good value. You don't get much for $155 in Auckland these days and a decent sized two bedroom apartment where you don't feel at all cramped at $155 is pretty good value!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollowVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review. I am glad that you found our location convenient, Great rooms, Great price, with complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi and our staff friendly and willing to assist. Although we maintain a high level of standard here at Bianco Off Queen, Auckland.

Further, we are in Central Auckland, some amount of minimalistic noise is to be expected when opening up your balcony door. I am happy to say that our rooms are well insulated in general and therefore retain heat well and keep away most sounds. None the less, we will do some investigation to see what can be done to limit these sounds in the future.

We hope to see you welcome back in the near future.

Take care and safe travels back to Hamilton.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#48 of 66 in Auckland
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 66 in Auckland
1,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#37 of 66 in Auckland
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.2 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#54 of 66 in Auckland
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bianco off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bianco off Queen

Property: Bianco off Queen
Address: Bianco Off Queen 2 White Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bianco off Queen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether travelling to Auckland for business or pleasure, Bianco off Queen serviced apartments offer the perfect location for your stay. Superbly positioned within minutes of Auckland ’s business, retail and entertainment districts. This is a serviced apartment hotel that will exceed expectation.All of Bianco off Queen’s spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments feature fully equipped kitchens, washing machines & dryers and large balconies. Limited onsite car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bianco off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bianco Off Queen Hotel Auckland Central
Bianco Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing