We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgustingly dirty” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bianco off Queen

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bianco off Queen
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disgustingly dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked for 2 nights and held out for 1 - this is supposedly a 4-star Qualmark establishment. The room stank when we got there and had to have all windows open to get rid of the smell (stale cigarette smoke?). The carpet was filthy. We wore socks the whole time. We requested that the carpet be cleaned (had not even been vacuumed) as it was so dirty - stuff had been spilt onto the carpet and not cleaned etc. We left the room at 10am and arrived back at 4pm. Nothing had been done. The self service coffee / tea etc had not been replenished either. The complimentary "light continental breakfast" is a joke. We so disgusted that we packed our bags and left. To their credit they refunded 1 night's carpark fee ($25). Would definitely NOT recommend. Oh and the bed is like sleeping on a plank it is so hard...

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaborde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share the experience during your last stay.

We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay and we apologies that your experience was less than top notch.

There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address

We would very much like the opportunity to discuss the points you have raised further, therefore can I kindly ask you, to contact me on boq.fom@vrhotels.co.nz at your convenience.

I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at boq.fom@vrhotels.co.nz if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Kind Regards,

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    217
    134
    94
    137
See reviews for
219
159
50
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Not bad, not 5 star though.

We needed somewhere cheap and easy to sleep, these apartments fit the bill. Staff were helpful, there was good amount of carparking. Rooms are well spec'd but the TVs were very small. If TV is importnat to you then these are not for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buds_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property and your positive comments on our location, friendly and helpful staff, hotel and room.

Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights to see the city, the appartments are very close to city. The first thing I saw when I opened the door to the room was the carpet it was so dirty, the furniture in the main room very basic and shabby. The bed was clean and comfortable. The noise from the air-con motors of the building next door kept me awake most of the night. Large balcony. Kitchen was well equiped with a couple of extra guests (cockroaches). Shower was ok, washing machine and dryer handy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns. I am happy that you enjoyed the facility and cleanliness of your room. We appreciate your feedback; it will assist us in improving our services for future guests.

I have addressed your concerns with relevant department heads; will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property.


Further, we are in Central Auckland, some amount of minimalistic noise is to be expected when opening up your balcony door. I am happy to say that our rooms are well insulated in general and therefore retain heat well and keep away most sounds. None the less, we will do some investigation to see what can be done to limit these sounds in the future.

Please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return! !


Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

new zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The studio room I stayed in was rather tight and compact, but appeared to have a good facilities for self-catering needs. The washing machine with accompanying powder was very useful. Wifi was free and worked well. The real draw-back is the $25 charge for carparking which really accelerates the cost of staying. Staff were friendly and helpful. A heater was brought in as the room felt cold.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the wonderful feedback. We are so glad to see that you liked and enjoyed what we offer here at our property. It is great that our friendly and efficient staff helped in making your stay better. I can also assure you that our car parking charges are among the lowest you could find in the central city.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

After reading some reviews from tripadvisor, I felt worry about the cleanness of the room. However, after I checked in, I found that the room was clean with full facilities: washing machine, dryer etc. Moreover, I found no problem with the speed of the internet. The location was nice too. Many interesting places are in the walking distance. All in all, good place with reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location with Complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. We truly appreciate it. I am so proud of our team and how they continue to perform to a high service level. Although we maintain a high level of standard here at Bianco off Queen Serviced Apartment Hotel, Auckland.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

A small apartment. It was a little cold and although there was no heater to be found, I'm sure that one might have been provided if requested. Very clean and quite well presented. Extremely comfortable large bed and small single for our daughter in the 2nd (very small) bedroom. Our other daughter was going to spend the night there with us and if she had it might have been a bit cramped with the sofa bed in the lounge area as the 4th person's bed. Functional kitchen area and bathroom. Perfectly fine for one night in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Thanks for giving us good marks for cleanliness and cooking facility. It is wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate your feedback.

Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights for a conference at Auckland uni. Overall, this place is pretty good and was only 13 min walk to uni, 22 mins to harbour.

- clean one bedroom apartment, but room shows a bit of wear and tear, it's fairly new but the room looked like it had had 'tough love'. There were a number of walls that had a4 sized sticky residue on the wall like a poster had been taken off.

The rooms are not heated centrally, only a portable heater, which admittedly did work fairly well in July.

There are two towers, a and b. tower a is closest to the front road and even from level 5-6 myself and my colleagues could hear noise at night. Lots of noise!! Trucks, alarms, garbage trucks, young revellers - very loud and clear. I am not one to be bothered by noise but this was probably the worst I've had. I was surprised as I didn't remember it from other reviews. But,for less than$400 for five nights in the city of Auckland, it was pretty good value. The area has some steep hills which makes for tricky parking (due to steepness). The front of the hotel seems to be in the backstreets of student residences and yha (maybe where the noise is from) there are a number of paid carparks around also for city workers. Not very pretty.

The staff were friendly mostly but often only one person was at the busy desk which made assistance slow. If you needed anything you generally had to ask twice- e.g refill breakfast, more soap.

The breakfast included could do with some improving. 2x yoghurt, 2x kiwi, 2x muesli bars, 2x juices with preservatives and additives galore and 2x pieces of butter cake which were seemingly stale, all products and flavours were the same every day. Breakfast is delivered to your room everyday if the staff remember to fill up your supplies. I would have preferred a variety of fruit at reception and a range of jams and sliced bread. There is a kettle, toaster, large fridge, microwave, cooktop, dishwasher and crockery in the kitchen, so it is easy to go to nearby convenience store for supplies. Lots of Korean/Asian restaurants nearby.

Bed was average for comfort, two TVs in room a surprise, would stay here again if needing to be in the area and not wanting to spend more. Average place which could be excellent with a bit more attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inkypinkgizmo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location with Complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. We truly appreciate it.

Further, we are in Central Auckland, some amount of minimalistic noise is to be expected when opening up your balcony door. I am happy to say that our rooms are well insulated in general and therefore retain heat well and keep away most sounds. None the less, we will do some investigation to see what can be done to limit these sounds in the future.

We hope to see you welcome back in the near future.

Take care and safe travels back to Australia.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#44 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#37 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#55 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bianco off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bianco off Queen

Property: Bianco off Queen
Address: Bianco Off Queen 2 White Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bianco off Queen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether travelling to Auckland for business or pleasure, Bianco off Queen serviced apartments offer the perfect location for your stay. Superbly positioned within minutes of Auckland ’s business, retail and entertainment districts. This is a serviced apartment hotel that will exceed expectation.All of Bianco off Queen’s spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments feature fully equipped kitchens, washing machines & dryers and large balconies. Limited onsite car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bianco off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bianco Off Queen Hotel Auckland Central
Bianco Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing