We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still in Shock.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Ranked #10 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still in Shock.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We arrived on a hot afternoon to a hot, stuffy apartment. We tried to find the air-conditioning but there was none and no fans. (The hotel information booklet in our room stated that 'all rooms are air-conditioned...totally inaccurate) This shocked me as I had booked 6 months before and had advised that two of us were asthmatics. They gave us 4 pedestal fans...tricky in an already tiny apartment.

THE ROOM -This is the most basic accommodation. The couch was very uncomfortable and there were not enough seats for all of us (or cutlery for that matter). The room has a very unloved feel with only one picture on the wall...the bedrooms devoid of any decoration. Both bedrooms were tiny with only enough room for 1 bedside table. The single beds were comfortable the main bed was not. There were no curtains in the bedrooms, just blinds which didn't keep out light (the sun didn't go down until after 10pm) The bathroom was big and had a washing machine (no dryer). The balcony was tiny.

THE PARKING - Parking is an extra cost here and is in their 3 basement garage. Very scary, steep and narrow with lots of black marks on the walls and driveway where previous vehicles had scraped. We left this negotiation to the man of the family...the women folk just refused to go there again. (felt like the car was going to tip over when negotiating the driveway)

PRIVACY - No locks on either of the bedroom doors but the bathroom also could not be locked. This is a basic privacy measures in any establishment. Very uncomfortable using a toilet and never knowing if you are going to be walked in on.

STAFF - Professionally presented and pleasant enough. Foyer is really nice but doesn't reflect the quality of the room. They provide plenty of pamphlets to help you find something to do.

OVERALL - Our room felt more like a 'flop house' than a hotel. It is a place you would only want to stay if you are going to be out most of the time and then ONLY if you get a fantastic deal. The location is pretty good (there is nothing much within walking distance. like most of Auckland, you can see the Skytower) and there is an old cemetery next door which would have been nice to wander through but seemed to attract homeless people. Nothing of what I read here prepared me for how basic this accommodation was going to be.

Room Tip: If you are scared of heights...don't get a high room because the bedrooms are so small that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieRater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    458
    218
    77
    40
See reviews for
509
227
35
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at St Martins apartments for the 3rd time and it remains the great apartment hotel for the money. We paid nS300 for two night including parking underneath as well as free breakfast for a family of 4.
We booked the 2 bedroom apartment with City view. We got the 15th floor this time as it is quite busy in Auckland in late November
The apartment is equips with kitchen, watching machine, and dryer. We didn't use any as we stayed only 3 days and always eat out and had the free breakfast at the dining room overlooking the pool
I think the higher floor is better especially the corner room with extra balcony space. .The hotel location is the best. Close to everything. Walking distance to Queen Street or NEWMARKET shopping area beach, plenty of nice restaurants around. .Overall it's pleasant stay and definitely come back again because of the apartments quality and value

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saloud1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathalbyn, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We found these apartments on Wotif & the price was right as was the location. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 12th floor. The views over Auckland were good & the beds were comfy. The king size bed took almost all the space in 1 room & it was tricky walking around the bed to open the window let alone get in the bed on that side, so narrow. Not really an issue for 1 night but a nuisance for 3 or more nights. It looks like someone had a fight with the blind in one of the rooms and the blinds do not fit within the window frame leaving a gap around the window allowing a fair bit of light in & as the city is well lit it was a bit bright for sleeping.

The little kitchen bin was emptied the first day but not after that; the kitchen is compact, well kitted out & functional however the larger plates don't fit in the dishwasher.

If you have any mobility issues I wouldn't choose this accommodation as St Martins Lane is very steep with a steep flight of stairs to the foyer (you can access the foyer from the small loading park though). A glimpse at the underground car park access made me glad we didn't need to use it - scary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Located in the CBD, this hotel is not far away from Queens Street. We were very impressed by the standards of this hotel for the price paid. Everything is inclusive inside - refrigerator, cooking facilities, dishwahser, washing machine, wine glass etc. The best part is that we get to have a bird eye view of the whole of Auckland, including the sky tower. Really beautiful view! The staff is also very helpful and professional with her work. She even helped us to do research on the ticket price for the ferry and printed out the schedule from the internet. Very impressed! :)

Room Tip: One minor thing to note is that they do not provide housekeeping everyday and the carpark fees is NZ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank logapluslogb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The two bedroom apartment on the top floor was spacious, extremely clean and offered great views. There was some traffic noise, but as we walked the length and breadth of Auckland each day, it didn't bother us much as sleep came easy in the comfortable beds.
It was very well appointed, even including an iron and an ironing board - not that I used them that much. It was very convenient for catching buses to the centre, and even getting a bus out to Eden Park. The airport bus dropped us off right outside and the welcome was warm and hospitable.
A good sized kitchen and a pleasant lounge added to our pleasure. Even though one idiot set off the fire alarm at midnight, the building was cleared effectively and efficiently and we were outside for only 20 minutes. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.
Do have the breakfast - a great choice - lots of cereals, fruit etc, toast and even pancakes. The fresh coffee was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nirrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My sister and our two young daughters stayed over the weekend in a two bedroom apartment facing the Grafton Bridge. Getting down to the under ground parking lot was a mission, you could clearly see paint scraps on the concrete wall from previous incidents - it is extremely narrow and drops steeply at the entrance. The room was extremely noisy, you could here traffic from the roads below and the people staying above us decided to have a get together at 12am on their outside balcony which kept us awake for a further hour. After going out the next day shopping we arrived back late in the afternoon to find our room hadn't been serviced, so had to go down to reception for clean towels etc. On our departure morning, our daughters checked under the queen bed they slept in and we were disgusted to find a used condom. I have tried to speak to the manager about this, but my calls have not been returned. Because of this we would never stay here again and would definitely not be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wondawomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

4 friends and I stayed for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The rooms were well set out with everything you need for a short, medium or long term stay; including a full size fridge, microwave and stove top. The hotel was in a great location a short stroll from the city- but not in a good location for people with mobility issues as there are some steep hills in the area (i.e City street).

There are bus stops right outside the hotel and the staff were fantastic and very friendly. It was excellent value for money and I would recommend this hotel for people looking for a good value option without compromising style and comfort.

The beds were super comfy too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,065 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing