We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice & Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice & Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This apartment hotel is right in the CBD area and is quite close to Auckland Sky Tower. We got a family apartment with two bedrooms. Apartment was nice, clean and compact. The only issue we observed was wireless router for internet connection were not enough in numbers and were given to other guests when we wanted. None was available till we checked out...Staff was courteous and helped to scan and email some documents that we needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powerbyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf N, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your review Powerbyte. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The waiting list for routers has now disappeared as in this past week we have gone wireless.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Jeannette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    470
    229
    78
    42
See reviews for
520
233
35
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North City, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed at Waldorf Apartment on St Martins Lane for two nights. The rooms were tidy and clean. The location is not so good as you need to walk about 15 mins to get to centre Queen street. However, you can hop on the CityLink bus (bus stop is 100m away from hotel) and get to Britomart at 50c/adult & 30c/child. If you plan to cook your own meals, the kitchen is there, however, there is only 1 small pot (size 12 I think) so you should be prepared. Other than that, I think the hotel is good (especially at the rate of $100+).

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NgoDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf N, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
NgoDT we appreciated your review of St Martins. I am sorry about the lack of pots in your kitchen as there should have been more and I have discussed this with our housekeeping department.
When you stay with us in the future please do not hesitate to contact reception if you have any problems or queries.

Jeannette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

in the reception they asked for 50 dollars guarranty
" if the cleaner will find the room o k " you get your money back???
no thanks we do not like it

the room for family very small , the sofe in middle of room
location o k

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maroma1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf N, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
maroma1957 - Thank you for your review of St Martins. As explained to guests on check in, the $50 guarantee is held on your credit card and then released on the day of your departure and the release documentation is then emailed to guests.

Jeannette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My family of 8 (including great grandmother, 2 year old) recently visited New Zealand and while in Auckland, had the pleasure of being guests at the Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel. The modern two bedroom apartments suited us perfectly with very comfortable beds, well equipped kitchens, and most importantly, exceptionally clean rooms. Being right in Auckland Central meant that we could walk everywhere. Being only a block from K Road, there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance and when we found ourselves by the harbour at the end of the day, it was only 50 cents for a City Link bus back to the hotel. I did not think we could find such a reasonably priced hotel in the heart of Auckland and would heartily recommend at the Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf N, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your review Muz58. It was a pleasure to have your family stay with us and appreciated your stay and comments.
We agree that St Martins is central to many cafes, restaurants and buses which makes it far easier to get around the city.
We hope that your tour of NZ was enjoyable and look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future

Jeannette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We arrived on a hot afternoon to a hot, stuffy apartment. We tried to find the air-conditioning but there was none and no fans. (The hotel information booklet in our room stated that 'all rooms are air-conditioned...totally inaccurate) This shocked me as I had booked 6 months before and had advised that two of us were asthmatics. They gave us 4 pedestal fans...tricky in an already tiny apartment.

THE ROOM -This is the most basic accommodation. The couch was very uncomfortable and there were not enough seats for all of us (or cutlery for that matter). The room has a very unloved feel with only one picture on the wall...the bedrooms devoid of any decoration. Both bedrooms were tiny with only enough room for 1 bedside table. The single beds were comfortable the main bed was not. There were no curtains in the bedrooms, just blinds which didn't keep out light (the sun didn't go down until after 10pm) The bathroom was big and had a washing machine (no dryer). The balcony was tiny.

THE PARKING - Parking is an extra cost here and is in their 3 basement garage. Very scary, steep and narrow with lots of black marks on the walls and driveway where previous vehicles had scraped. We left this negotiation to the man of the family...the women folk just refused to go there again. (felt like the car was going to tip over when negotiating the driveway)

PRIVACY - No locks on either of the bedroom doors but the bathroom also could not be locked. This is a basic privacy measures in any establishment. Very uncomfortable using a toilet and never knowing if you are going to be walked in on.

STAFF - Professionally presented and pleasant enough. Foyer is really nice but doesn't reflect the quality of the room. They provide plenty of pamphlets to help you find something to do.

OVERALL - Our room felt more like a 'flop house' than a hotel. It is a place you would only want to stay if you are going to be out most of the time and then ONLY if you get a fantastic deal. The location is pretty good (there is nothing much within walking distance. like most of Auckland, you can see the Skytower) and there is an old cemetery next door which would have been nice to wander through but seemed to attract homeless people. Nothing of what I read here prepared me for how basic this accommodation was going to be.

Room Tip: If you are scared of heights...don't get a high room because the bedrooms are so small that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieRater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at St Martins apartments for the 3rd time and it remains the great apartment hotel for the money. We paid nS300 for two night including parking underneath as well as free breakfast for a family of 4.
We booked the 2 bedroom apartment with City view. We got the 15th floor this time as it is quite busy in Auckland in late November
The apartment is equips with kitchen, watching machine, and dryer. We didn't use any as we stayed only 3 days and always eat out and had the free breakfast at the dining room overlooking the pool
I think the higher floor is better especially the corner room with extra balcony space. .The hotel location is the best. Close to everything. Walking distance to Queen Street or NEWMARKET shopping area beach, plenty of nice restaurants around. .Overall it's pleasant stay and definitely come back again because of the apartments quality and value

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saloud1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathalbyn, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We found these apartments on Wotif & the price was right as was the location. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 12th floor. The views over Auckland were good & the beds were comfy. The king size bed took almost all the space in 1 room & it was tricky walking around the bed to open the window let alone get in the bed on that side, so narrow. Not really an issue for 1 night but a nuisance for 3 or more nights. It looks like someone had a fight with the blind in one of the rooms and the blinds do not fit within the window frame leaving a gap around the window allowing a fair bit of light in & as the city is well lit it was a bit bright for sleeping.

The little kitchen bin was emptied the first day but not after that; the kitchen is compact, well kitted out & functional however the larger plates don't fit in the dishwasher.

If you have any mobility issues I wouldn't choose this accommodation as St Martins Lane is very steep with a steep flight of stairs to the foyer (you can access the foyer from the small loading park though). A glimpse at the underground car park access made me glad we didn't need to use it - scary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing