We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value for money...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We found this 2 b/r apartment good value for money. Within walking distance of the piers, Queen St and other attractions. Plenty of dining options within walking distance. Clean, affordable accommodation which met most of our needs.
2 things to mention - wifi cost us $20 for 5-6 days ($10 per GB) and we only used internet for basic needs, not sure how this was worked out?
Also, it states in the apartment guide book that ALL apartments have heater - air conditioning with remote control. This isn't the case! Only the superior rooms had this feature apparently. I found our room a little chilly in the evenings and had to use a tiny (about 30cm in length) portable oil-filled heater to heat the apartment.
But, overall a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caros76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Caros76. Thank you for your review. When you next visit us please do not hesitate to contact our reception staff as we have someone on duty 24/7 to help with any requests - like extra heating/cooling - or questions that you may have. You are correct in saying that our superior rooms all have air conditioning/heating. We do also have various internet plans and charges for WIFI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    432
    203
    75
    35
See reviews for
478
203
33
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very frirendly nice qual;ity accommodation in a good Auckland location.Very spacious, modern and clean 2 bedroom hotel suite with A/c and good kitchen on the 12 floor.nice view, excellent value-free breakfast- good choice in Auckland city

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davegroson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Your ratings, comments and review of St Martins are very much appreciated davegroson. We would like to welcome you back the next time that you are in Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We weren't that impressed with the hotel. The kitchenette was very small and wasn't well stocked. Not even 4 sets of all the dishes and cutlery for the four of us! My confirmation said there would be a DVD player, but there wasn't. The choice of TV channels was limited and you have to pay extra for wifi. The main couch and floor had stains. The room was very hot even though it was not hot outside and there was only one fan. I'm sure there is better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmcc404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Kmcc404. Thank you for your review. Our reception desk is open 24/7 for staff to help with any concerns, questions or requirements for extra items for your apartment. Please do not hesitate to contact them. We now have 23 superior rooms with air conditioning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We (2 adults, 3 kids under 6) stayed in two bedroom apartment for three nights.
Double beds in the rooms were large and very comfy. However, there was little space left in the rooms to accommodate our luggage which resulted with suitcases in already tight living/kitchen area.
The living area was tiny and the furniture didn't work for the space. The furniture and curtains were quite dated, could do with freshening up.
We really appreciate little dishwasher, which meant we didn't have to clutter up small kitchenette with drying dishes.
There was a washing machine in the bathroom, but no tumble dryer - quite useless as there isn't space to hang your clothes!
Over all, it was functional space (just) but wasn't very comfortable. I definitely wouldn't recommend this place for long term stays.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you Ada H for your review of St Martins. We have taken note of your comments and suggestions from your recent stay. We have a communal laundry within the building that has washing machines and driers free to all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed five nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. The room was very spacious and clean and included a good size kitchen and dining table. There was some traffic noise from Symonds St (our room was on the South West corner).

The hotel is located on a steep lane and is about 10 minutes walk from K'Rd and Queen St. It is also relatively close to Auckland hospital and the domain (15-20 minutes walk).

The breakfast that was included in the room rate was reasonable and included toast, cereal, fruit and pancakes.

It felt a little like a student dorm as there seemed to be a lot of students living there. There was also a $50 bond (held on credit card) required at check in and an unusually strict visitor/party policy, both of which were a little off putting.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank quassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is an adequate hotel, the the 2 bed unit of the 18 floor was more that adequate for my wife, myself & my 18yr old son.
Our room was ideally situated to observe the New Year Fire Works which lasted for all of 5 minutes, and were all launched from the Sky Tower.
We found the staff helpful and very pleasant, especially Pedro.
Good location close to Grafton Bridge, and most places worth seeing are within walking distance if you are reasonably fit.
Yes the door needs some sort of hook or friction device to keep them ajar, as the constantly bang open and shut, if you try to keep them ajar. Most irritating!
TV channels very limited, and the actual TV is high up close to the corner. Not an ideal location.
WIFI worked quite well, but there should be better instructions on how it works, what the options are, and how you can use different devices, albeit not simultaneously. Also it is not particularly cheap, as many hotels now provide WIFI inclusive, and almost everyone wants to be/needs to be connected these days!

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously afford a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzysoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

It was a pleasant stay although all the facilities were very basic. We were a group of four in one of their 2 bedrooms type for only one night. Both of the bedrooms were clean but small, not even a place to hide our luggage. Laundry machine was put inside the bathroom, very inefficient. Kitchenette was well equipped. Internet connection only through cable with extra charge. Our balcony door could not be kept open as it did not have hooks, especially on windy days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Handoko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing