We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay. Excellent apartments.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Got a good deal four nights at this place and was glad I booked it.

From first glance, this hotel reception is dark, dingey and simply horrid. But I have always been of the view that hotels which spend all their money on grand and beautiful receptions usually have utterly rubbish rooms upstairs. This place, fortunately was the exact opposite.

Rooms are spacious, very well equipped and a good deal of attention has been paid to looking after guests every need. The view from the balcony in the mornings was appreciated. There's kettles, microwaves, cookers, and washer/driers. The bedroom was a little small, but cool and quiet, with a very comfortable bed. Perfect.

I used the small red CityLink bus up from downtown up to the K Road, which is free if you buy an AT Hop transport card, very inexpensive. You can walk it up Queen Street, but with luggage, the hill is backbreaking, especially in summer.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobWedekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

We loved it. Very affordable, still you get a feel of luxury. Loved the modern apartment with lots of light and great views from the huge windows. The hotel was clean all around and the location is quite good. I will definately return to this hotel if ever back in Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Embutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stay in a double room apartment with air conditioner very confortable, the kitchen was equiped and very clean. The staff was very helpful and sympathetic.
We was 15 minutes walking for the main street (Queen Street). I loved my experience and I'll come back to New zealand as soon as possible and definitely stay in this Waldorf Apartment again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyangel_K8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked a two-bedroom apartment. It has a room with two single beds and a room with a queen bed. Nice views on 15th floor (our unit 15J's balcony is facing the cemetery but we couldn't see the graveyards when we looked out as the trees are tall and leafy). But one of the rooms is facing the helipad of a hospital so it was very bright at night and we can hear helicopter noises in the night (especially when we opened the window to get some ventilation).

Things I like about the hotel: it provides shower cap. make-up remover, small packets of laundry powder and dishwashing detergent, and lots of towels. There is also a washing machine in the bathroom and a foldable hanging rack for the clothes. The bathroom floor is non-slippery and made of a material which is not cold when you step on it.

Things I don't like: there is no safe and hair dryer; WIFI for a fee; there is only one hook in the bathroom to (i.e. not enough to hang the clothing and towels); there is no bedside table, and the bedroom and bathroom doors in the apartment cannot be locked (and one of the bedroom door cannot be closed properly). The hotel has narrow corridors between apartments. Also, there is no ventilation in the corridor which means that your apartment door will rattle when your neighbours open and close their doors. There is also something wrong with the phones in the apartment. Our friend tried to call us but she always get the busy signal although no one is using any of the two phones in the apartment.

We checked out before 10 am and stored our luggage with the hotel while we went to collect our rental car. The hotel allowed us to store our luggage at a room at the back which is locked and can only be opened by the staff with a key. The guests have to bear the risk that other guests will not take the wrong bags as the guests have to store and take the bags themselves.

Hotel is located on an area which is slightly elevated to the city centre. We spent some time walking around the city centre and Devonport in the day hence the uphill walk back to the hotel from the city centre became quite tiring.

Another thing that irritated me was that, when we booked the room on Booking.com, we noted on the website that: (a) there is a 2% charge when you pay with a credit card; and (b) a deposit will be charged to the credit card and will be refunded on check-out if there are no outstanding charges or damages. Then there is also a fine line that states that the hotel will charge 100% of the first night on day of booking which is easily overlooked as you have to cursor over the free cancellation term for this term. As we only booked for one night, we had no choice but to pay via credit card and bear the credit card charges. Nevertheless, it is still quite good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simply1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Into my third week at this apartment hotel in Auckland city as part of transfer to Auckland Hospital this year and we are very happy. Great location, clean 2 bedroom apartment with friendly staff. Security car park, which is reassuring, and some free Sky channels to choose from if you don't want to take the short walk to restaurants and entertainment. .the wifi internet charge are very reasonable and you can use 2 pc at a time!.the free light breakfast was a bonus we did not expected.Will definitely make this my hotel of choice when in Auckland but may recommend it to other staff in the hospital

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borangassir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Travelled to Auckland for a conference. On arrival the one of the travelling party members tried to check us in. However they were advised that the person whom made the booking need to check in. Needless to say I then had to try to find a place to park the car as there is no area to park whilst checking in. Only on arrival did we discover that this hotel was located directly opposite a cemetery.

Then when checking in we were advised that parking would cost and additional $18 per night. This was not mentioned anywhere on the booking site.

Once checked in on the 13th Floor which looked directly over the cemetery.

For the price i would not have expected any of this

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mordys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

The rate we got on booking.com for a 2 bed apartment was good but the cons outweigh the pros.
The dryer didn't work in the apartment. We were told to pay for the one downstairs as they wouldn't repair it.
The fridge didn't work either which meant all out food went off. We told reception who said that there wasn't much they could do as they were fully booked and couldn't move us.
The website states that all rooms have air con but this only applies to superior rooms.
Waiting 15 minutes for an elevator because the staff were using both to visit every floor was annoying.
Getting into the carpark is a nightmare. You can see how many cars have crashed due to the black marks on the walls. The parking is $18 a day. The wifi works great but again you have to pay $10 a day. We didn't eat breakfast as we were too annoyed with paying extras.
The area is good which is the only positive.
All in all you get what you pay for if you just need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonFunlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 65 in Auckland Central
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £84 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing