We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the $”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Spacious and comfortable room with good facilities. Only problem was the difficulty in traveling from one floor to another- understand that this is for security- but had friends staying on a different floor, and could only get to them by careful co-ordination, or returning to the ground floor.

Room Tip: cheaper rooms seemed to be better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CarolAM1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you CarolAM1958 for your review of St Martins.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and look forward to you being our guest again in the future.
With regard to having friends or family on other floors which you would like to access. It is a security measure that you can only access your own floor but in some circumstances staff can code your card so that you can access other floors.

Regards
Jeannette Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights on 2 separate occassions in two different apartments in the complex; Great location in quiet area of the city-yet quite central; very secure apartments ; secure undercover parking (at extra cost); quiet spacious sized room with good facilities; friendly staff available at front desk 24/7 comfortable king bed; very clean; good tv reception with free sky; aircon was quiet and worked well - heating and cooling. A reasonable rate was offered by on-line search.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gottam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello gottam2014.

Thank you for the overall excellent review that you gave us for St Martins after your recent stay with us.

I have passed your positive comments on to staff with regard to friendliness and cleanliness.

We look forward to your company on your next visit to Auckland.

Regards
Jeannette Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom family room on the 14th floor, views over Symonds Street but very noisy. The apartment was well set up but needs a major upgrade, looks like someone has used a white paint brush to touch up paintwork over a beige colour - very tacky looking. Management need to speak to staff about body odour issues - very unpleasant be stuck in a lift! The car parking is an absolute nightmare small and very tight area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOIHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear BOIHA

Thank you for your review of St Martins with regard to your recent stay with us.
Unfortunately it appears that you were put into a room that maintenance was in progress with regards to touch up painting being done before it was finished. We apologise for this.

With regard to the noise factor that you experienced, it appears that the windows were not closed properly. All windows are double glazed and have double locks and if not closed correctly allow both air and noise into the apartments.

We have spoken with all staff with regard to body odour and prevention methods.

Thank you once again for your review

Regards
Jeannette Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Decided to check this place out as the price was fantastic at NZ$120 and I was looking for an alternative Auckland downtown place to stay. Check in was quick and the ride to the 17th floor was speedy. Apartment style rooms offered awesome city views toward the harbour bridge. Separate bed and living areas are big and a full complement of appliances, including full size fridge, oven and dishwasher, mean you could easily host a meeting in your hotel room. Only downside is that there is no grocery store within close proximity (maps said the closest was a 15 min walk one way) so if you don't have a car it would be a bit of a haul lugging groceries back. The living space is awkwardly furnished with a 32" flat screen TV positioned at the furthest edge of the wall toward the sliding balcony door and it was not possible to adjust the angle of the screen. The large sofa bed and 2 seat couch were along the opposite wall side by side. Repositioning the TV and moving the furniture would create a more 'homely' feel in this apartment setting. Bathroom is small, but functional and shower pressure was good enough. Bare walls could do with a few pictures/prints. I wasn't so impressed with having $50 deducted off my credit card on check in - no mention of this in the info about staying at the hotel. A note in the room says if you make a big mess, the extra cleaning will be taken out of your $50. There's no definition of what's an acceptable mess however. I agree with the idea, but this should be explained prior to booking so you know what you are up for.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello Ash B.

Your suggestions with regard to room layout and TV positioning in your recent review of St Martins have been noted. Thank you.

We are sorry that you did not find the grocery store that is a five minute walk from our property and had to use the supermarkets further away.

The $50 pre-authorisation that is taken on check- in is a hold on a credit card which is released the same afternoon after you check out with us and a copy of this release is then sent to the email address that is on your documentation. No money is taken from your card.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Jeannette Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed one night traveled from Christchurch to catch flight to Kuala Lumpur next day. Family of four stayed in two bedroom apartment. Very clean and neat apartment. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Sound proof windows. kitchen with dishwasher, very convenience. We will stay here again in our next trip to Auckland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerfrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Jerfees we appreciated your comments and review of St Martins.

I have passed your positive comments about cleanliness and neatness on to our staff.

Many of our guests comment to us about the comfort of our bed and pillows and I am glad that you found this to be so also.

We look forward to you staying with us when you're family is next in Auckland.

Regards
Jeannette Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we stay here for 3 nights. it's a really good place for family. quiet, clean, and not so expensive. Also,Location is so great, near the queen street, 5-10 min by walk and when i took off the bus from airport, very easy to fine where the hotel is.
if have chance, i would come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello Erica H. Thank you for your review of your three night stay with us.

We appreciate your comments and our staff work hard to ensure that our apartments and building is cleaned to the highest of standards, which you obviously appreciated. Thank you.

You are correct in saying that we are close to the airport bus drop off and pick up points plus we can also offer a greatly reduced rate for a taxi to or from the airport,

We, as a company, are pleased that we could offer you value for money as this is one of our objectives.

Regards
Jeannette Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed on the 17th floor and while the views were great, the traffic noise was unbearable. We hardly slept at all. This place needs an upgrade and double glazing is required to reduce the traffic noise. It was a shame because the rest of the apartment was pretty well set up.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the northern side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

DHFH we appreciated your review of St Martins.

All of our windows are double glazed but with regard to noise in your apartment, it appears that the windows were not on the completely closed latch setting. We have two separate settings on the window latchs and I would suggest that these were on the first setting that lets in air and some noise whereas the second setting completely closes the window.

We do look forward to you staying with us again and if you have any concerns or questions please do not hesitate to contact our front desk which is manned 24/7

Regards
Jeannette Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 65 in Auckland Central
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £84 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing