We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
“Just Ok”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed 2 nights with my family at Waldorf St. Martins. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. When we arrived (in July) it was cold and windy outside and it wasn't much warmer in the hotel. It was cold and we only had one small oil heater to try and heat the whole apartment. We were given instructions about parking and how to get to our room (not shown where to go). There was no coffee (there was tea and milo). We called reception and they asked us to come down and pick up the coffee but offered no alternative to heat our apartment more efficiently. The room was clean and simple, the facilities were good. If we needed anything, we had to go down to reception to get it. Upon check out I asked for the $50 bond I paid for the room to be refunded in cash but they refused and put it back through on my credit card. They said it could take up to 5 working days to show in my account. This was unacceptable to me so I asked for alternatives. They gave me a receipt and said if I took it into the bank they would put the money through straight away. It was a sunday so no banks were open. After a few phone calls between the bank and the hotel to try and sort it out (the hotel staff first did not send the required fax to the bank, implied that the bank was just trying to 'hold my money for their own gain' and then sent a fax with missing details even though I had clearly explained what was required- they obviously were not trained to deal with this type of situation- and provided all the details), the bank finally went out of their way to sort it for me by contacting the hotel. I found the staff to be unhelpful and almost rude. Really let down by their customer service. For the price you pay to stay there and all the competition with other nice hotels in the area, they really need to give better service. I will not be staying with them again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review of St Martins Michelle691.
We regret that you found your stay with us unsatisfactory.

Our staff on front desk are only to happy to help with any guest requests with regard to room amenities and supplies.

As stated on all of our web sites the $50 pre-authorisation on a credit card is a pre-requisite of your stay with us. The other alternative is a cash bond which was not taken from you. This is not a charge on your card but a hold, hence the reason why we can not give you a "refund" in cash.
When the "hold" is released on check out by us this is immediate and occurs at the time of process and a receipt is produced as evidence to all guests. This money is released to your bank also. We do not hold onto this money. If there are any charges to be put onto a credit card the guest is informed of this. We have not had any of the banks contact us recently with regard to problems associated with pre-authorisations.

We do not have fax facilities which is explained to guests when they request these.

Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    481
    231
    79
    43
See reviews for
528
244
36
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The service staff were very friendly and helpful.
The apartment could have done with some way of controlling the room temperature. They did provide a heater which heated the room well overnight.
A lack of information regarding nearby places to dine.
Access to the Auckland motorway system is good from here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello JackieW, Thank you for your review of St Martins.
It appears that you did not have a compendium in your room that gives a list a restaurants and cafes in the area and where to dine. We apologise for this.
Could I suggest that next time you book with us that you book a superior room which has air conditioning/heat pump in the room and you can therefore control the temperature within your apartment.
We agree the access to the motorway is very good from St Martins.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great apartment - clean and spacious for us and exactly what we needed for 3 nights. Kitchen was well stocked with appliances/utensils etc. Good location - quite central and shops/eateries in walking distance, and bus services nearby too. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would stay there again !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisiFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you alisiFJ for your review.
We do indeed have a good location that is central to buses, restaurants, supermarkets and cafes.
Our kitchen's are well equipped as you say so that you can enjoy being able to prepare your own food in your apartment if you require this.
Our housekeeping department take pride in the level of cleanliness within the apartments so thank you for your comments.
Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Absolutely fine for the price. Rooms too hot for my liking and no mini bar was a nuisance but other than than comfortable and clean. Service was good at reception. Very central and perfect for city Auckland life.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
LynnB thank you for your review of your recent stay at St Martins.
We are indeed very central to the city and many restaurants, cafes and buses. We unfortunately do not have mini bars in any of the Waldorf group of apartments.
We are sorry that you found your apartment too hot for your liking. When you stay next you may like one of our superior rooms which has air conditioning.
Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culverden, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We are a family with an 18 month old child. All of the facilities were fantastic and it was ideal for our stay in Auckland. The staff were really helpful and very pleasant. The only thing I would suggest is that they replace the bases of the portacots or provide portacot foam mattresses as the bases were a bit tired and out of shape. Just a small change that would make a big difference. It wasn't a problem, we just added another blanket to the base and our boy slept beautifully. Would definitely recommend and will certainly stay again. Really good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HannahD142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
HannahD142 Thank you for your review of St Martins.
We are pleased that our level of service to you was at the required standard.
Thank you for your suggestion and I have asked our Housekeeping Manager to check all of our cots, mattresses and blankets.

Thank you once again for your review

Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Were disappointed with stay we drove with two young kids, from Wellington asked for car park when we booked. Get there and told no car parks available. Go down road to Wilson parking was pouring with rain had to go take kids and luggage, then cost $30.00 for 24 hr parking $60.00 for two days. Rooms okay for money

Room Tip: ask for room with view, not motorway and gravesite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leia45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you leia45 for your review of St Martins.

We are sorry to hear that your booking for parking was not entered at the time of making your apartment reservation and that you had to park in the Wilson car park in rainy conditions.

When booking next time please book direct with us and we will endeavour to ensure that this does not happen again.

Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

For the low price, I was a bit nervous, but we found our 2 br apartment spotless and perfect for our overnight stay. It is a budget hotel, so there were no frills such as night stands or little soaps, the blinds rattled noisily (no way to stop it short of shutting the windows), there were no spare blankets and the steep, corkscrew parking route is not for the faint of heart!

However, the linen was new and crisp, the suite was immaculately clean, there was a good kitchen and lounge, breakfast was included for a very reasonable price and staff were very welcoming and helpful, especially in the breakfast room. Highly recommended for a basic stay in central Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMargaretNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
MaryMargaretNZ thank you for your review with regard to your recent stay with us.

I have passed on your positive comments to our housekeeping staff and breakfast room staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed the crisp linen on the bed

If you have a request when you stay with us again please do not hesitate to ask at our front desk.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,264 reviews
0.5 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing