We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good stay in a serviced apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 26 July 2014

we had a very good 6 nights stay in a 2 bedroom serviced apartment in St Martins Waldorf In Auckland.Excellent location in the city near the University & hospital- just 5 minutes walk.Very modern and spacious apartment with nice views and all the required facilities.Free breakfast.Excellent internet wifi service.Very good value for money.We were very happy with our stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahoud0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you dahoud0000 for your review. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay at St Martins for six nights. You are correct in saying that we have a great location and are very close to a number of universities and Auckland City Hospital. It is great that you enjoyed our breakfast and that you considered your stay value for money. We look forward to welcoming you to St Martins again when you are next in New Zealand.
Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights along with 16 other family members. Fantastic facilities, location & service.
The rooms were clean,well laid out and user friendly. There was also good storage for our unpacked luggage. Access to motorway, City Centre and buses were perfect. We are already planning our next visit. Thank you for a lovely experience xox

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marama W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Marama W thank you for your review of St Martins. We are delighted that your whole family enjoyed their stay with us. You are correct in saying that we are close to the motorway access, particularly the southern motorway.
We look forward to seeing you and your family members again in the future and it was our pleasure to provide a lovely experience for you all.
Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed 3 times at Waldorf apartments and always had a good experience. So close to everything you don't need to use the car much. The rooms are well equipped for a family (kitchen and laundry facilities in the apartment).

Room Tip: Nice views from the hotel - the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank KateCBGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your review of St Martins KateCBGNZ. We appreciate your loyalty and return visits to us.
As you enjoy having the washing machine in your apartment for your family please ask for a higher floor or superior room when you book next. The lower floors do not have washing machines but we do have a communal laundry which is free for guests.
You are correct in saying that we are close to everything including buses so that you can get around the city easily.
Once again thank you.

Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

No signs or instructions anywhere. Where are the stairs? Where are the elevators? What floor is the help desk on?
If you forget your card you will be trapped in the elevators as there is no way to open the doors from the inside without your card.
There is a special puzzle for tired passengers to get themselves and their luggage out of the car park. Can you find the hidden elevators because we certainly can't and there isn't a single sign guiding you to them. So the second option is to carry luggage up some incredibly tight stairwells, through two fire doors that barely provide room for you to walk through let alone you and your suitcase.
There is no information in the room, not even how to call front desk let alone information on nearby restaurants or other useful information.
Not enough toilet paper, milk or soap provided for the number of people staying. You have to constantly traipse to the front desk to please for it.
An apartment is tiny.
Just driving into the impossibly tight entrance gate for the car park will redecorate your car paint, as made evident by the many layers of paint scratched along the wall from side panels and bumpers.
The digital keys are dodgy and sometimes you will have to try six times to get your door to open.
We had problems with the breakfast door though the staff pointed out there was a problem so I hope that they're working on it.
Five people booked in. We had a 6 seat table but only two chairs provided. Only four cups, plates, etc provided.
There is a strange yellow stain on the armchair and the sofa smells bad. The sheets on the beds aren't high enough to fold over the top of the seldom washed blankets so you will have them against your face unless you fold them back and sleep with only a sheet over your shoulders.
Should I end on a positive? The rooms were pleasantly quiet and the shower nice and hot. We like the curtains and the balcony has a great view.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katkat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you KatKat27 for your review of St Martins with regard your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
As you are aware our reception is on level one and this also is our help desk.
You are never trapped in the elevators as anyone can always get to level one, without an access key, as this is a requirement for our building.
The two lifts for the building are in the middle of each floor as you are aware and this is also the case in the three parking levels.
You can not access the floors from inside the two sets of stairs in the stairwell as this is for security but I am sure that you would have seen the signs on each level stating "Exit Only. No Re-Entry" Therefore if there is an emergency guests can always get down to the reception level.
With regard to information about the building and dining, taxis, bus timetables etc is found in the red compendium that is in each apartment. Perhaps this was missing from yours at the time of stay.
With regard to sheeting and covers on your beds. All of our beds are double sheeted which means that there is one sheet under the duvet and one on top. This allows for sheeting to cover over the duvet from both directions. Our duvets are usually washed at least once a week and I am sorry if your apartment covers were missed.
You are correct in saying that we were having problems with the breakfast room door but this has now ben fixed.
Reception Staff are only too happy to help with any general problems or with keys or amenities required.
Thank you for your comments

Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed three nights. Booked directly with hotel a couple of months in advance, so got a really good deal for a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was clean and tidy. Close to Queen street and shopping. Excellent for the family. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hello Kelly A. Thank you for your review and we are always pleased when guests feel that they have received value for money as this is one of our goals. When you and your family are coming to Auckland next from Rotorua and require accommodation we would be pleased to book you into St Martins.
Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My partner and I were in auckland for 4 nights . we weren't really going to be spending that much time in the room any way. However the 1 bedroom apartnment we booked had a full sized . and shower, a nice king size bed and a ok view of the city (11th floor). The apartment was clean but and well looked after. The staff were very helpful and friendly. ..we arranged a shuttle with the concierge which was a low 30$ for the both of us on the way back to the airport!! Overall it was a good stay and great value for money which include free breakfast daily- I think you can get it for less if you book direct with the hotel.. Auckland central is a great place to eat at very reasonable costs- Great place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cortan3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Cortan3333 thank you for your review of St Martins. We are delighted that you and your partner think we are a great to stay at. You are correct in saying that we can arrange a cheap cash fare to the airport for guests. We have many who use this. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast when you stayed. All of our website prices should be all the same or as you say you can book direct with us for your future visits.
Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The staff were all friendly. It was convenient for as was quite near the university. They do a service mid week of our stay. The housekeeper needs to vacuum the bathroom before mopping cause the hairs on the floor were all clump up near one side of the bathroom. other than that we are happy with the place.

Room Tip: top floors would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jenmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hello Jenmanda,
Thank you for your positive review of St Martins. We have passed your comments onto housekeeping and will ensure that this does not happen again. We do look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 65 in Auckland Central
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £83 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing