We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to City Center, Ideal Place to stay in Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Nice Place with füll Service for a reasonable Price. Located only 5 min walking to City Centre. Negative is close to THe motorway intersection, that means Day and Night loud and noisy. Additional paying for Car parking in Hotel garage

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank O K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review of St Martins O K. We appreciate your feedback. Yes, we are close to the motorway which makes for easy access if heading south. I am sorry that you found it loud and noisy. We do have double glazing in the windows and I suspect that your windows were not totally closed as we have double hinges and the first one lets in noise and air, whereas the second setting completely closes the window and does not let in the noise or air.
You are correct in saying that we have a charge for car parking which is $20 per night or $90 for seven days or more.

Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at this place on a recent trip with my daughter. Very happy with the location as close to Ponsonby road and queen street . We had a 2 bedroom apartment which worked out well. Beds were comfortable and everything was adequate for our stay as we weren't in the apartment much.
Staff very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bedoiunfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

bedoiunfamily thank you for your review of your recent stay at St Martins.
We appreciate your feedback and comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again as our guest in the future.

Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 nite with daughter-in-law and 2 grandsons. Carpark was a worry to get into. Paid extra $20 for but was great to know car was safe. Room was adequate, clean and tidy. Had 4 guests but only 2 flannels. Kitchen facilities were adequate but elements very slow. Very close to numerous cafes, takeaways. Bus stop across street and outside, was very easy to get to Vector. Reception were very helpful and offered good advice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riverbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review Riverbend. We appreciate your comments and hope your family enjoyed their stay. The car park is tight to enter and depart from but as you say it is a safe place to park while in the city. We have taken note of your comments about the flannels and will make sure that there are sufficient for the number of people in the apartment. When you are next with us please do not hesitate to ask at reception if you require anything.
The elements do take a while to heat up but are of the sort that once heated hold their heat, making for more economical cooking at a lower temperature.

Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We are a mature, seasoned travellers. We moved from Quest Newmarket, Auckland to Waldorf St. Martins because of lack of further vacancies in the former. Although the price difference between the two places was in favour of Waldorf, it was small. The difference in quality of experience was significant: no more daily cleaning and replenishment of essential bathroom items; no drier in the room; no daily disposal of rubbish; change of bed linen cleaning once a week, or if asked for more frequently "charges apply"; no free internet - "charges apply". Everything had to be obtained by actually going to reception and asking for it, e.g. A roll of toilet paper. You have to go down to the basement with your washing to get to the drier. The room itself, although -like Quest - good sized and equipped with a kitchenette, was tired. The location of the Waldorf is "central", but that means 15 minutes walk from anywhere, and the immediate neighbourhood has nothing to offer. Quest Newmarket is located in a vibrant part of Auckland, you just need to go out the door to find shops, entertainment, cafés etc.
if you want a better deal for your money, go to Quest Newmarket.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Crulajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review of St Martins Crulajk. You are correct in saying that we do not do daily services. As a conservation measure we do a mini service on day three of your stay and full service on your sixth day. The mini service involves taking out rubbish and changing the towels whereas the full service is a full change of sheets, towels, amenities etc. Guests are always able to contact reception at any time if they require amenities. The only time that they are asked to come down to reception to collect these is in the evening when we have one receptionist on who can not leave the front desk. If guests require any extra cleans for their rooms - they only have to ask. There is usually no extra charge applied.
With regard to our communal laundry with washing machines and driers, this is as you say in our level B1 with free access, usage and soap powder for all guests.
It is a shame that you did not discover all the local cafes, world class restaurants and shopping that is within a 5 minute walk from St Martins.
Once again Thank You for your Review.
Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Comfortable, clean and tucked in the top end of town. Buses close by to move about Auckland freely or a brisk walk uptown for those who love fresh air. Staff were so helpful and happy to provide advice. We particularly loved the advice to go to a Queens street french restaurant. Thanks to you all

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LaurelK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

LaurelK22 thank you for your review of St Martins after your recent stay.
You are correct in saying that we have lots of buses almost right outside the door which makes it very easy to move around the city. The staff member that recommended La Grande Manger in Upper Queen St is one of their regulars so this is why she recommends it as it has lovely food, atompshere and value for money.
We appreciate your comments
Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am a regular at St martins and enjoy my stay there. But this time our apartment had some carpet issues with regards the cleaning took the shine off the stay. I'm sure its a one off but does need attention.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1abcxyz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

1abcxyz1 Thank you for your review of St Martins. We always appreciate when our regular guests give us positive feedback. We are sorry to hear about the carpet issues and when investigating found that this was a misunderstanding between housekeeping and front desk staff. Your room was released into the system as clean when the carpets had still to be cleaned.
We apologise for this.

Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the moment we were greeted at reception by a cheerful and pleasant staff member until the moment we departed, we couldn't fault our stay at St Martins. Apartments have everything you need. Comfortable beds, very adequate lounge area and fully equipped kitchen if you don't want to dine out every night. Clean, comfortable and convenient says it all with the added bonus of not blowing the budget. We have stayed here before and will stay again should our travels bring us back to Auckland.

Liz C

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie2650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your Clean, Comfortable review Lizzie2650. Staff really appreciate a review like yours that says that you found their attitude to be both cheerful and pleasant as they always try to give each guest a positive experience for your stay with us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfortable beds, lounge and fully equipped kitchen. If you do not feel like cooking or eating out then we can also recommend a number of delivered take away options. We think that our room rates are very competitive and give great value for money.
We look forward to you being our guest again in the future.

Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 65 in Auckland Central
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £84 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing