We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carpark nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Carterton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carpark nightmare”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good service at reception. Carpark is a nightmare, our car was damaged getting into the carpark. Bottomed out and ripped off brake hose. It is a Ford Falcon not particularly low so check you can get your car in before attempting to go down steep drive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clayton Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Clayton Leanne B, Thank you for your review of St Martins. Our reception staff strive to make your guest experience a positive one so thank you for your comments. We have had a number of Holdens and Fords negotiate our car park successfully. We are sorry it was not the case for you.
Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    486
    235
    82
    44
See reviews for
537
246
36
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great place to stay. Close to Queen st, and close to The Powerstation if you have a concert to go to.A few people are complaining about it being up a hill from Queen street, but I liked the walk, as it helped work off the food we just ate down there. The room was spacious and clean, and we didn't even notice the lack of heating (Wellingtonians, so Auckland is always warm for us anyway). The staff were very helpful and friendly. Parking is tight to turn into, but should only be a problem if you have a very long car or can't drive. Overall, very happy with the hotel, would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoyleSamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello Doyle Samu, Thank you for your review of St Martins. When you come up from Wellington to visit next and think that you may be too hot in the room then we do have superior rooms that have air conditioning. We appreciate the title of your review and your comments with regard the parking. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment and it was more than enough. The rooms were spacious and clean. Will come back again and stay for sure. Close to the freeway and good for heading into the main city part. Very happy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Positive comments in reviews are always nice to receive Yaz W, so thank you for yours. We are delighted that we could provide you with a pleasant accommodation experience and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great apartment for adult family of four. Good size for inner city apartment, also the kitchen had everything, full fridge, oven, microwave and hobs. I most appreciated the larger fridge, when you want to be a little more self sufficient and cater for adult family. Central location close to University, so handy for my son to go to Uni.

Room Tip: We were on the 18th floor, and partly view of city, part hospital/motorway. No noise. Must be good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello Jillian B. Thank you for your review of St Martins and we are pleased that your family enjoyed their stay with us and what we have to offer. We will look forward to welcoming you asll again in the future.
Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Booked a 1 bedroom apartment as I needed one night's accommodation for work. Upgraded to 2 bedrooms which was nice but not really needed as such.
Found the place to be incredibly quiet - or maybe I was just extremely tired. I liked the rooms and facilities in the rooms.
I would consider coming here with family as it offers a good location and reasonable rates for facilities provided. Thanks,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardjlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you richardjoyd for your positive review of St Martins after your recent stay with us. We upgrade guests for a variety of reasons and we are pleased we could do this for you. We look forward to welcoming you again on future bookings.
Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent 2 nights here in the last league of winter in Auckland and booked a 2 room apartment for my family (2 adults and 1 child). The place is sufficient in space but as it was winter, the draft coming in from one of the room was horrible! Although the window was closed shut, the cold winters wind was just blowing in from the window somewhere! I had to sleep in the living room on my 2nd night there and the couch was not comfortable at all.... Kitchen with full equipments and bathroom amenities are as expected....

Location is near a highway so if you are a light sleeper, forget this location. It's about a 10 minute walk to the city centre and it's near the Universities as well....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resortfamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Resortfasmilyguy thank you for your review of St Martins. Thank you also for discussing this issue with staff on check out. I checked the windows that you mentioned straight after your check out and unfortunately they were not closed properly, hence the noise and wind. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay. When you return to visit us again please do not hesitate to ask staff if you have any requests or concerns
Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I would recommend getting a superior room for the heating. Nice & clean amenties. Excellent shower with plenty of soaps etc. Carpark was a bit tight getting in & out of. Nice walk into Queen St but a hard walk back up the hill!

Room Tip: Getting a superior room for the heat pump is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nz_chick27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
nz_chick27 thank you for your review of St Martins. We appreciate your positive comments. I agree that we are at the top of a hill but next time you visit, if you do not feel like being fit, there is the "Red" bus that you can catch from Queen Street for 50c.

Kind Regards
Jeannette Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing