We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tudor Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at this motel in December. We chose it because of its proximity to Starship Hospital.

We got the room at a very reasonable price and because of this it was good value.
The room was very small as was the kitchen but as we were only there to sleep it did not matter to us. The decor was fresh and the unit was immacuately clean. The bed was possibly the most comfortable I have ever come across in a motel or hotel. Similarly the bed linen was very good quality. There is a pleasant restaurant next door as well as others within walking distance.

I would recommend this motel if looking for quality at budget rates and if the unit is only needed to sleep in.

Room Tip: We were at the back and even although railway was close we did not find it noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cressida_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YUCHEN W, Manager at Tudor Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Hi Cressida_7

We're very pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that you felt that our hotel was pleasant and clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Phillip Wei
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    35
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
32
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had a change of plans whilst holidaying in Northland and had to sepnd 2 nights in Auckland on the way home.

We chose this motel as it was close to family and the airport and within walking distance of shopping.

The rooms are tiny after what we were used to and we had someone in the adjoinong room whom we could hear often and he went outside to use his mobile too many times. We stayed awake until 1.00am before we could sleep then they were up at 7am along with staff. The rooms are nicely decorated though and there is free wifi and excellent bath and shower.

Traffic noise was constant and we had builders next door banging away until 6pm on a Saturday !

However the location is excellent and the staff very kind and pleasant.

Room Tip: Probably furtherest away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadeWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip W, Owner at Tudor Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Hi SadeWellington

We appreciate you taking the time to give us such a detailed review of your most recent experience with us.

We're glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of our motel and loved our newly refurbished rooms.

We are disappointed to hear that our motel did not live up to your expectations from your previous experience. We will guarantee you a quiet corner room will be offered during your next visit of our motel.

Best regards,
Phillip Wei
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Really impressed with how clean, tidy and cosy this place was! It's central and was a great spot to be in for a function we had in Newmarket.The place has been refurbished and it was nice and modern. It was also easy to find, warm and safe. I was also impressed with the Organic tea, coffee and hot chocolate they had! Fantastic value for money, we will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newlyweds246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip W, Owner at Tudor Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Hi Newlyweds246

Thank you for giving us such a detailed review of your most recent stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoy the location of our motel. We continue supporting our community by using Fair Trade products; also to protect our environment by providing our guests Bio-degradeable toilet tissue and rubbish liner.

We hope that you will return to stay with us again very soon.

Best regards,
Phillip Wei
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The motel is small but certainly very comfortable. There is some traffic noise from Great South Road and you can hear trains running nearby during the day, but it was not intolerable. That is to be expected for the location ( I have yet to stay in any motel where road noise is not an issue).

The staff were very pleasant to the point when I was not feeling well one day the owners were very caring and did everything to cater for my needs (they presented me with a fruit platter to ease my sore throat which was an unexpect pleasure and surprise).
The units are clean and comfortable (the bed and pillows were a dream). The bathroom and kitchen were very presentable. Staff were excellent and responsive to all my requests. A complementary paper was delivered each morning of my stay. I stayed 7 nights and will be coming back next time I visit Auckland.

I travel a lot and frequent a lot of motels. I don't write recommendations in general, but for the price, comfort, cleanliness and service, this is the best accomodation value in Auckland.

To the family, thank you for making me feel most welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Switchedonlady_Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip W, Owner at Tudor Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Hi Switchedonlady_Fran

Thank you for giving us such a detailed review of your most recent stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you love our newly refurbished rooms and we are always aiming to provide the best services to our guests. We hope that you will return to stay with us again very soon.

Best regards,
Phillip Wei
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We bought tickets to the All Blacks vs Ireland first test match 2012 Steinlager Series and had no idea where to stay as it was our first time. We wanted somewhere cheap and near to Eden Park Stadium. The stadium provides free shuttle buses which ferry passengers from several points at the Newmarket suburb. The nearest to us was about 15 mins walk from Tudor Court Motor Lodge.We paid NZD95 per double room (ensuite). It comes with coffee making facilities, TV, hot and cold shower, a queen bed and free internet and a portable heater.laundry machines are available. Breakfast was NZD12 per person but we had our meals at nearby cafes. There are a number of cafes next to the motel including a Malaysian and an Indian restaurants. Buses to Auckland CBD stops infront motel. We would stay here again to watch the All Blacks match at Eden Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anissha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip W, General Manager at Tudor Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Hi Anissha

I am glad to hear that you love our motel. We just finished a major refurbishment in June. I am looking forward to meet you again in the near future. Thank you very much.

Regards,
Phillip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This was on a busy road and was noisy both day and night. The kitchen was a joke very small and hardly worthy of the name. The drainer on the sink was pathetic no more than 4 inches wide - put one cup on it and it was full - hardly any room in that kitchen area.
although clean and regularly serviced it wasn't a great place to stay in Auckland there are much better to choose from avoid if you can.
Free internet was the only good point.

Room Tip: Get rooms at the back further from the road if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip W, Manager at Tudor Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Mike

Thank you for your review. We did a major renovation in our bathroom and kitchen in Aug 2011. However, due to the size of the room we were unable to install a full kitchen in the rooms.

We are very glad to hear that you like our Free Wifi service. We definitely look forward to welcoming you to come to visit our motel again.

Best regards,
Phillip
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
2.0 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#33 of 66 in Auckland
287 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#43 of 66 in Auckland
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Greenlane Suites
Greenlane Suites
#3 of 8 in Greenlane
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oaktree Motel
Oaktree Motel
#39 of 66 in Auckland
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland Newmarket Motel
Auckland Newmarket Motel
#60 of 66 in Auckland
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Court Motor Lodge

Property: Tudor Court Motor Lodge
Address: 108 Great South Road | Epsom, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tudor Court Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our brand new Qualmark 4.5 star motel offers you “Contemporary Charm” accommodation; a truly home away from home.FULLY REFURBISHED in June 2012. All rooms are BRAND NEW from top to bottom. FREE Off-street Parking, FREE Newspaper, FREE Wi-Fi. 18 all ground floor rooms best for corporate travelers, couples, families and tourists. All units are designated non-smoking with en-suite bathrooms. Rooms feature brand new “Sleepyhead” beds with thick mattress topper makes you feel sleeping on the cloud. Tea/Coffee making facilities, Toaster, Fridge, Heating, HD LCD TV with Freeview, Sky Movie and Sky Sports are standard in all rooms; while our Kitchenette rooms equipped with Hobs and Microwave oven. Guest Laundry onsite, Continental and Full Breakfast available. We are located in the centre of Auckland with easy access to both Southern and Northern motorways. 10 mins to Downtown Auckland; 20 mins from Airport; 3 mins to Newmarket and ASB showground. Main attractions such as Auckland Domain and Museum, Ellerslie and Alexandra Racecourse, One Tree Hill and Cornwall Park are all within 5 mins drive. Auckland hospital, Greenlane hospital and Mercy Ascot hospital are also within 5 mins drive. Bus stop just cross the street and train station is 500m away that will take you to anywhere in Auckland. Easy walking distance to local shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tudor Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Court Motor Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing