We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tapas!”
Review of El Faro

El Faro
Ranked #165 of 2,305 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: El Faro is a Spanish inspired restaurant and tapas bar with an intimate and rather eclectic atmosphere.The owners of El Faro have had a love of Spain and it's people and have a passion for getting back to basics with food and a strong belief in sustainable natural farming, local produce and wild meats, they use the best possible ingredients to put together his ever changing blackboard tapas menuWhether it is a quick pre theatre meal, romantic dinner or letting your hair down, you will love the mojitos caipirinhas sangria Spanish wines, beer & funky music.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent tapas!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Great food and service and a very modest bill for this kind of place! And i'm quite spoilt by tapas bars in Spain. Well done, guys!

Helpful?
Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    55
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Campania, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food I've had all year.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Went here with my mum for dinner. And I definitely picked the right place. Their service is awesome. My 5 tapas were so quick to come. The food is outta this world and you won't regret going there. Awesome, delicious, friendly, warm, and inviting. Will definitely go back for more.











  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Intimate, friendly, authentic.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Four of us met up for tapas and we all loved it ... if the weather had been a balmy 35 degrees, then you could have believed you were back in Spain rather than another rainy spring evening in Auckland. A fine range of tapas were consumed before two of our party had to depart and the remaining duo made the easy transition to sharing a fine bottle of rioja via some excellent churros.

Attentive wait staff, an easygoing ambience, fine food and an excellent example of Spain's best known red wine made for an excellent evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonSammonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine food”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

After a few long days sightseeing we wanted somewhere to sit down, eat some great food and feel pampered. This was the place. Excellent service, homely décor and wonderful tapas. If you are in this area and want a great dinner and good value - look no further - its that simple,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic and inviting”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Second visit there in a week. Food interesting and warmingly delicious. Service is great and the ambience all you could hope for. We ha ve eaten out often in the CBD in the past six months and El Faro is certain to become one of our favourite restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Faro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to El Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing