We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, excellent ice cream!”
Review of Giapo

Giapo
Ranked #1 of 72 Dessert in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$10
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: New Zealand Ice Cream.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, excellent ice cream!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

First of all, this is not just an ice cream shop. Giapo is for me a piece of my memories in New Zealand. I arrived there just a few days after they opened in 2009 and I had the privilege to follow the first months and taste the first flavours they originally created according to the best italian ice cream tradition and their innovative and revolutionary way of interpret the ice cream itself. I'll be back there sooner or later, but for the lucky ones already in town, don't miss the unique opportunity to taste a real piece of art.. ehm.. a great ice cream!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcioweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,624
    346
    104
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice ice cream”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

interesting flavours,unfortunately some of them were sold out, service was good

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a yummy treat”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Yes its exactly what it says I arrived to find the owner ironing fairy floss to make sugar sculptures. A very entertaining event whilst enjoying his beautiful ice cream and sorbet.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank aliboo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Getting worse”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We loved going to Giapo each time we went to the city and we were never dissapointed. But last 4 times we went the whole group was really dissapointed - the taste is just not the same anymore, very bland. All the group decided not to go there for a while - hope it will get better in time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sport_guy_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have tried many flavors at Giapo and have always been impressed. Excellent ice cream!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smetheney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giapo also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Giapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing