We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST HOSTEL IN AUCKLAND CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frienz Backpacker Hostel Auckland
Ranked #70 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WORST HOSTEL IN AUCKLAND CBD”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

If you're traveling to Auckland DO NOT STAY AT FRIENZ HOSTEL. They have 5 floors of mold, no elevators. They had the second floor ceiling in the girls bathroom cave in twice in three months because they have water leaks that they don't want to fix or is too costly to fix. The pictures on their website is false advertisement, the hostel DOES NOT LOOK LIKE THAT. It's known for being "the chillest hostel" because the people who work for accomodation don't do anything. I would recommend staying somewhere else. All the rooms are dirty, you'll be lucky if they change the bins. Save your money... do not go there. BEWARE!

Room Tip: I had a private room and couldn't sleep in there because it was damp and moldy and I did not get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    14
    13
    23
See reviews for
Families
0
18
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wellington
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I would not recommend staying at the auckland branch of this hostel. We went with the cheapest hostel ($60 per night - double room) and it was gross. The womens bathroom ceiling leaked into the toilet cubicles from the gapping holes in the ceiling. The sink was blocked and I asked the receptionist to get someone to fix it and 24 hours later there was still a very full blocked sink. I don't think this hostel has regular cleaners and management and staff have no pride in the hostel. Guests pay the price of cheap accommodation by staying in squalid conditions. Our windows did not have latches so they didn't not close so we got all of the traffic noise. The floor and window ledges were filthy, the fridge in the room was also broken and the clock in the room had no batteries. We were suppose to stay for two nights and ended up staying just one. We went to the YHA instead and although the YHA seems very expensive in comparison its worth the money. We also dropped the fact that we were staying at frienz and they said they have allot of people coming to them after bad experiences there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

we stayed in a 12-bed-dorm but it was quite spacious.
kitchen quite clean
internet on 3 or so computers free

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Myself & a friend stayed in the Christchurch Frienz and we anded up having to stay for 8 nights as they do not do cancellations. They only issue vouchers which is not useful when you are leaving the country. I'll start with the 'reception'... it is the worst reception area I have ever experienced. The English, not Kiwi, staff are more concerned with personal calls, facebooking or trying to recover from a hangover than serving. Is it like experiencing a Spanish holiday to Torremolinos. Most of the staff live there so they basically don't care about service. The 'common' area where the reception is is usually full of resident staff who sleep on the couches, drink and eat on them and never seem to leave the building except to have a smoke. The area is not welcoming to an actual visitor who is paying to stay there. It also smells. The kitchen is a tiny box area which is always a dump, nobody puts anything away or wipes up after themselves. There is a serious lack of utensils, no bowls ever and no space to cook when its dinner time. Our room was a 6 bed dorm room which had no windows. We asked to move to another room and she said that many rooms have windows that don't open or have no windows at all. Very good in an earthquake area!!! Basically our stay was a joke. The only good thing about the hostel is the free internet (although not free on your own laptop) and the central location. If you are not bothered about saving $2 a night then DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugged030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed here one night in a dorm. The receptionist was unfriendly and rude. She didn't know much about the area and was in general not helpful. The beds in our dorm were uncomfortable and squeaky. There are only 2 toilets for the entire floor. The bathroom on our floor was dirty (hair in sinks and on floor etc). There was a pay phone on our floor which was used at 2am and you could hear every word.
They offered free movie screening which we didn't attend (already new the movies) and we were told there was free popcorn as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I had a nice stay here. The desk staff were friendly. The place was clean for the most part, but the ceiling in the bathroom was leaking a bit. The free internet was nice. The kitchen was fine, but was also leaking, near the stove, not that cool. I had a nice chat with one of the people staying there, from Japan. That made my experience nice that I got to meet some people. I slept pretty well in the dorm. Check out was pretty easy and I got my deposit back. Overall, better than any hostel I stayed in Auckland.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafortress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

After a glitch with our accommodation booked for the Big Day Out the manager arranged for the 6 of us to stay in the Common Room even buying new Linen for our beds and reducing the rate substantially. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canterburycrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#55 of 113 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#22 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Suites
Metro Suites
#19 of 113 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frienz Backpacker Hostel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frienz Backpacker Hostel Auckland

Property: Frienz Backpacker Hostel Auckland
Address: 27-31 Victoria Street East, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Frienz Backpacker Hostel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frienz Backpacker Hostel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing