We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel of Horrors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frienz Backpacker Hostel Auckland
Reviewed 5 March 2012

If you like sharing your room with bugs then by all means sleep here. Stayed here recently and woke up next morning itching my arms due to being bitten by BED BUGS during the night. Ants are also present in the room, when a cleaner came in to tidy up she calmly said ' oh every room has them' ...so that make's it ok then?? Ladies bathroom has ONE SHOWER...how does that make sense? Only positive is the location apart from that avoids this place. No refund offered either for the unpleasantness of this disgusting hole so be warned. Also to conclude there was a constant stench of sewage that ran through the room, noisy neighbours all night/early morning slamming doors or entering court yard after 10pm-ignoring the signs. And finally the cleaners dont knock to take bins out etc they just wonder on in-which can be quite annoying if your changing etc...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murbikiss_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed in a double private room for 4 nights. The only good thing was the location. We did not get any sleep for 4 nights due to the noise of traffic and drunk people on the streets at night. The street lighting also keeps your room lighted during the night. Paranoid that I was being bitten by bed bugs I got up in the middle of the night, turned the light on and saw the BIGGEST BED BUG I have ever seen crawling from the head of the mattress up the wall. Thankfully I was leaving the next day, after this I then checked the rest of the mattress underneath and found lots of black dots - I presume to be faeces of the bed bugs. Almost a week later now and my bed bug bites have become very inflamed and have turned into abscesses! Dirty sheets. Ants crawling on the window sill. The staff always seem to be mopping the floors yet the floors remain dirty after. The $10 WIFI only works efficiently between 2am-5am once all the freeloaders are off the free internet access downstairs. When we enquired into the laundry facilities we were told BY STAFF that there were 2 tumble driers, one drier makes your clothes dampy and smelly, the other dries well but shrinks your clothes. So choose what you want -very wet, smelly clothes or dry shrunken clothes. In my opinion, pay a little more somewhere else for far better quality. Bathrooms are old an moldy and noise travels throughout the hostel due to wooden floors. DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed there in Nov. 2011 and I just can say, dont go there! Ladies Bathroom door was partly hinged out, the ceiling was coverd with mildew, the bed sheets were stained and we thing they had bedbugs too! In the kitchen the ceiling showed a big hole. Receptionists were not very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
Thank nokiaNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

If you're traveling to Auckland DO NOT STAY AT FRIENZ HOSTEL. They have 5 floors of mold, no elevators. They had the second floor ceiling in the girls bathroom cave in twice in three months because they have water leaks that they don't want to fix or is too costly to fix. The pictures on their website is false advertisement, the hostel DOES NOT LOOK LIKE THAT. It's known for being "the chillest hostel" because the people who work for accomodation don't do anything. I would recommend staying somewhere else. All the rooms are dirty, you'll be lucky if they change the bins. Save your money... do not go there. BEWARE!

Room Tip: I had a private room and couldn't sleep in there because it was damp and moldy and I did not get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I would not recommend staying at the auckland branch of this hostel. We went with the cheapest hostel ($60 per night - double room) and it was gross. The womens bathroom ceiling leaked into the toilet cubicles from the gapping holes in the ceiling. The sink was blocked and I asked the receptionist to get someone to fix it and 24 hours later there was still a very full blocked sink. I don't think this hostel has regular cleaners and management and staff have no pride in the hostel. Guests pay the price of cheap accommodation by staying in squalid conditions. Our windows did not have latches so they didn't not close so we got all of the traffic noise. The floor and window ledges were filthy, the fridge in the room was also broken and the clock in the room had no batteries. We were suppose to stay for two nights and ended up staying just one. We went to the YHA instead and although the YHA seems very expensive in comparison its worth the money. We also dropped the fact that we were staying at frienz and they said they have allot of people coming to them after bad experiences there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

we stayed in a 12-bed-dorm but it was quite spacious.
kitchen quite clean
internet on 3 or so computers free

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Myself & a friend stayed in the Christchurch Frienz and we anded up having to stay for 8 nights as they do not do cancellations. They only issue vouchers which is not useful when you are leaving the country. I'll start with the 'reception'... it is the worst reception area I have ever experienced. The English, not Kiwi, staff are more concerned with personal calls, facebooking or trying to recover from a hangover than serving. Is it like experiencing a Spanish holiday to Torremolinos. Most of the staff live there so they basically don't care about service. The 'common' area where the reception is is usually full of resident staff who sleep on the couches, drink and eat on them and never seem to leave the building except to have a smoke. The area is not welcoming to an actual visitor who is paying to stay there. It also smells. The kitchen is a tiny box area which is always a dump, nobody puts anything away or wipes up after themselves. There is a serious lack of utensils, no bowls ever and no space to cook when its dinner time. Our room was a 6 bed dorm room which had no windows. We asked to move to another room and she said that many rooms have windows that don't open or have no windows at all. Very good in an earthquake area!!! Basically our stay was a joke. The only good thing about the hostel is the free internet (although not free on your own laptop) and the central location. If you are not bothered about saving $2 a night then DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbugged030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#55 of 131 in Auckland Central
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Host...
#69 of 131 in Auckland Central
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Base Auckland Central Backpacker...
#68 of 131 in Auckland Central
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#31 of 131 in Auckland Central
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
K Road City Travelers Hostel
K Road City Travelers Hostel
#67 of 131 in Auckland Central
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#38 of 131 in Auckland Central
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frienz Backpacker Hostel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frienz Backpacker Hostel Auckland

Address: 27-31 Victoria Street East, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £13 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Frienz Backpacker Hostel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frienz Backpacker Hostel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing