We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and comfy”

K Road City Travelers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
K Road City Travelers Hostel
Ranked #60 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and comfy”
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

A bit hard to find and it is a small doorway on the road. Location very good< on a decently busy road>, but ten Auckland is very big! Double room, clean bedding, toilets also clean, service very nice, small kitchen but again for an expensive city, good value for money. A bit far from the intercity bus exchange, (15$ cab ride) but once you are in there (parked all heavy luggage) traveling by bus from there to anywhere is very easy as the location is pretty central with various bus stops nearby

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodwin123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    22
    21
    13
    3
See reviews for
1
27
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

Nice Place to stay... Bathrooms very clean And nice.. Rooms with only up to for beds. Location right next to Queen Street downhill into The City.
We had a Great Time... Meeting Lots of People. Enjoying a bbq on The rooftop, making Pasta Night... And simply Sharing our Adventures. Good Place to Kick Off your new Zealand Trip

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tvolpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

We arrived quite late but the guy on reception was friendly and helpful and gave us a tour before showing us to our room. We had a double room which was fairly big, had a desk, hanging rail, wall mounted TV, full length mirror and plenty of sockets. There was free wifi available. The bathrooms and kitchen were very clean and looked new. The kitchen was well equipped and there was plenty of room inside and out to sit and eat. The reception desk offered hair dryers and plug adapters which I haven't seem in a hostel before. There were loads of leaflets available for the whole of New Zealand as well as detailed local info. Other guests were friendly and there was a sense of everyone looking after the hostel. We didnt get to sample the free breakfast as we had an early bus to catch which was a shame! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here for 3weeks in September, 2012 initially had single room to myself but soon realised everyone there was really nice and was in a 4 bed dorm room for rest of stay. Rooms clean, staff helpful and really nice, Charles especially!
Free breakfast is great for saving money. Free WiFi and use of computers was brilliant. Would easily stay there again and again. Club a few doors down but it never really bothered me.
Met some good people and will def remain friends.b

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Good value for price, comparing to other hostels in NZ. Variety of food for the breakfast you can use as much as you need, very nice atmoshpehe, clean bathroom and everything. There were some people living there - they work temporarily in Auckland so that I could have useful tips about NZ from them. Location is ok. I only did not like the stairs due to my heavy luggage :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wombatWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My bed was super comfortable (which is great after a 30 hour journey), free breakfast (eggs, ham, and toast) was a great bonus. Free wifi was super convenient. Free linens and free towel, also great.

I did not like the stairs up, and I wish it was a little more central in location, but it wasn't too far out of the way. Others have complained about the location, but I didn't have any problems. Though I was never out late, so I can't say.

the place was quite clean. rooms were simple, but sufficient. I had a private double room.

The staff was helpful, but english was not their first language (at least with two of the ladies I dealt with), which limited their ability to understand what I wanted.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to a friend

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancouvergirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights. Compared to the rest of the country with this price range, you really get MORE than you pay for. Clean showers and bathrooms. Clean kitchen, free wifi, free breakfast. You even get a towel fire for free upon request. This place is located in the corner of K Road and Queen Street, many restaurants and bars nearby. This area of AKL is a bit more rugged and thus cheaper than the CBD.
Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I would stay here again if I ever come back to NZ. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iAMexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
Newton Lodge
Newton Lodge
#55 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#20 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#18 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 113 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#12 of 113 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#44 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Road City Travelers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Road City Travelers Hostel

Property: K Road City Travelers Hostel
Address: 146 Karangahape Road | PO Box 68884, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your K Road City Travelers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Road City Travelers Hotel Auckland Central
K Road City Travelers Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing