We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill Out”
Review of Goode Brothers

Goode Brothers
Ranked #713 of 2,259 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chill Out”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Once again Goode Brothers does NOT disappoint. Good service, excellent area to sit "outside" under cover, great menu selection and fine range of beers. To top it off very good service all at a reasonable price! May be one small gripe was the music outside was a bit loud and made conversation difficult

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    44
    18
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Goode Brothers”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Yummy Food, Filling and reasonable prices. Love the atmosphere. the place in general looks really neat :) Loved it keen to go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faaiza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I would highly recommend Goode Brothers for a casual meal. The food is amazing - beautiful simple Italian food. The staff are really friendly and accommodating, and the food is great value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sez444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Goode Brothers is not terrible, it's just okay - painfully and disappointingly; just okay.”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We dined at Goode Brothers on a very busy Friday night. We didn't mind waiting for a table because they have a bar where you can order drinks. They have no waiting area as such which made us and the others waiting alongside us feel very awkward. With a drink in hand we dodged frantic waitresses and tried to stay out of the way as best as possible.

The service we received from our waitress when we sat down to order was of a very poor standard. I appreciate that the staff are young and when stressed and busy, find it difficult to give high quality service. She did not want us to order an appertif and a main separately and we were left with the feeling that we were being encouraged to eat quickly and then go. The food was fine - salty (very salty), saucy and tasty but it was, by no means, gourmet or special in any way. After taking our order the waitress fled. Amused, I wondered if she planned on taking our drink orders - luckily, I own a husband who got up and went to the bar and got drinks for us.

A quick internet trawl and you will find that raving reviews of this restaurant are few and far between. I guess its busyness can be attributed to a lack of choice in the area - average food and poor service versus location.

All in all it felt like a dimly lighted food court with restaurant prices. Goode Brothers is not terrible, it's fine. Are we to expect anything more in middle class suburbia? Nah!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat and drink”
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Its a nice place to eat, with a good bar menu and fresh basil at the tables! The only downside is that the menu is limiting and therefore makes repeat visits less likely, once you've tried two or three things there isn't much that jumps out at you. Worth a visit if you're in the area, not worth the trip if you're not.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelChick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goode Brothers also viewed

New Lynn, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Goode Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing