We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the pork belly”
Review of Coco's Cantina

Coco's Cantina
Ranked #175 of 2,305 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Loved the pork belly”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Great pork belly, so-so meatballs, better than average Tiramisu and really good homemade nougat. Fantastic service in an absolutely chaotic environment. Get there early or join the lengthy wait list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank litigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    38
    6
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yummy meatballs”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Wow! This is great Italian food. I had the meatballs (definitely recommended), my partner had a special fish dish (which I did not try). I "won" apparently but there was not much in it. Nice antipasto plate too. Lovely staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JannyMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

18 June 2013
Went to Cocos recently on a very busy night for them. The food was outstanding, wait staff outstanding and atmosphere outstanding. Can't wait to take very keen foodie friends soon. Congratulations to the chefs, wait staff and owners and exceptional dinning out experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Millydog0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere food average”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

As a chef I know it doesn't take much to raise ordinary food to something special. Coco's has fantastic staff,atmosphere and vibe but the food is lazy. The kitchen suppliers are fantastic i.e Neatmeat etc so the product is good but whoever is in the kitchen is not producing even simple combined flavours that jump off the plate, Presentation is uninspiring I mean jumbo fries supermarket rocket with the scotch fillet just dumped on the plate, sorry but there are so many reasons to come to Coco's but the food isn't one of them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AcaciaCliffsLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A very disappointing slip in standards”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I am a Coco's fan and have been since it opened. So it pains me to write this review but last night I had one of the worst meals I've had for a long time. I came here with a group of friends and we knew we'd have to wait for a table. No problem as the bar is generally superb. In fact, we ended up not waiting that long. The atmosphere at Coco's was as buzzing as ever. The maitre d' was friendly and helpful despite the place heaving at the seams. The barmen were doing an exceptional job of attending to everyone's beverage requirements.

So, what was the problem? Quite simply, the food. It was not up to scratch. Perhaps the chef has changed or had the day off but something was amiss. Even the polenta fries were missing their usual kick of rosemary. The chicken parfait was delicious but liquid... The chicken saltimbocca was bland - lacking seasoning and was a real disappointment. The cavolo nero side dish was tough. The side dish of beans and pork was the tastiest thing we had. I would have been quite happy with a large bowl of that with some mash but as it was I was left disappointed. My fellow diners were foodies and not impressed. One had a steak that was literally cold so had to be sent back. To top it off and add insult to injury, my margarita was awful. I'm a margarita fan but this one was lacking lime and tasted really watery. So, what to do now? Do we give you another go Coco's? We'll have to ponder this one as there are lots of other fine eateries in Auckland and some of them take bookings... The saltimbocca deserved a 1 or below. The pork and beans dragged the review up to a 2

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nesbitevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coco's Cantina also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Coco's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing