We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and central location with an annoying parking arrangement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The Celestion is very well located to explore Auckland and its surrounds. A short 5-10 minute walk in any direction will get you to the required areas of the city - the CBD, shopping area, harbour area, University of Auckland etc. I was there during the World Cup, but during the weekdays between the Quarter-Final and Semi-Final, so the room rates were of a typical yearly price. I did get a very good rate through Expedia however.

Check-in took a little longer that what I would have expected with only one reception staff at 8:30am in the morning. Coming off a 6 hour flight and crossing 5 timezones, I really wanted to get some sleep before a 3pm meeting. There were other occassions throughout my stay where there appeared to be a lack of attentiveness by the reception staff and I was left waiting to get an exit parking coupon despite them standing at one end of the desk not doing much.

The apartments were spacious with well functioning kitchen facilities and utensils. The bedroom was spacious with a separate closet provided, and a very comfortable and proper queen bed (not two singles pushed together). Decor is new, modern and comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious but they use the cheap liquid/gel dispensing soap that also doubles as shampoo, certainly not what I would expect from a 4.5 star hotel/apartment.

There are a bunch of restaurants located below, predominantly Japanese cuisine, but there is an Indian restaurant adjacent to the lobby (I did not try it). If you are after a quick and cheap meal then Tanpopo next door makes some decent ramen noodles and had cheap Asahi ($5). There is also a large Countdown supermarket 2 minutes walk from the apartments which is open 24/7 for groceries if you want to organise your own breakfasts/meals. Otherwise it's a short walk to the harbour area or short drive to the Parnell area for excellent choices of restaurants to suit all budgets.

The major annoyance however was the car parking arrangement. $18/day however you need to park your car in a public multi-story carpark which is a 5 minute walk away. Fine if your plans involve going out in the morning and coming back in the evening, but for someone who is frequently coming and going it's a real hassle as there is very limited street parking nearby.

This could well have been given a 5 but the parking arrangement, dispensing soap and attentiveness of reception rates a 4, given it markets itself as a 4.5 star outfit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jetsetter_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 November 2011

We appreciate your comments thank you for letting us know how your stay was. Parking is limited in Auckland CBD and many new hotels are unable to offer this service. Luckly we do have two parking providers our guests can use at competitive prices. There is also Off street parking on Emily place available for those not wanting to park in the car parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
There are newer reviews for Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,189 - 1,195 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

We rented 2 apartments for a group of 10 and it was amazing. The rooms are very spacious, clean and new. Love the living room for the comfy sofa and spacious enough for family to hang out. Very modern and contemporary design apartment, except the hotel lift looks a bit scary.

Location is central, only few minutes walk to the shopping area. But the designated parking for the apartments is not any close to the apartment but 10 minutes walk away so its a problem to unload and load the luggages.

Price is slightly expensive but definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ccylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 November 2011

Excellent to hear that your stay was a pleasurable one. We are proud of the rooms we have on offer and welcome those wanting to experience Celestion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Our first stay in New Zealand, the apartment was well equipped and comfortable with two bedrooms. We were travelling with our two sons aged 8 and 11 and it worked very well for us. Kitchen facilities were adequate for us to cook a meal one evening. Ten minute walk into central Auckland, reception staff were helpful. Supermarket short walk away which had plenty of choice. Only problem was noise outside late at night - which was mainly screeching cars and people shouting. Also we asked the receptionist to book us a taxi for our car hire pick up, which turned out to be just around the corner, but she either did not realise or did not point this out to us, so we had a pointless taxi journey which we could have walked.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOT3879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Pleasant apartment hotel within walking distance of Quays. Cleaning could come a little more often though. Reception staff were very helpful. Overpriced like most of Auckland during RWC.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Griffioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This is not a full service 24hour hotel. But it is an excellent apartment style hotel. The staff are friendly, helpful and seem to go out of their way to make you happy. I had reserved a one bedroom apartment with a pull out bed for my friend and I who were traveling through New Zealand together. The young lady at the desk when I checked in upgraded us to a two bedroom apartment for the same price as the one (with pull out) and it truly was a very nice two bedroom apartment. Clean, modern and very hip. Again if you are looking for a full service type of hotel with 24 hour room service this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a really cool, hip and clean apartment style room with friendly staff you can’t go wrong at this place. We found it to be a great location for exploring Auckland and if I’m ever in Auckland again I don’t know why I would stay anywhere else. I should also mention that the Indian restaurant in the lobby was one of the best Indian meals I’ve ever had…we actually ended up eating there twice, simply because it was that good. Not to say there aren’t plenty of great restaurant’s in Auckland, there are and we didn’t have a bad meal once but that’s just how good this Indian place was.

I should also point out that the hotel is about a two minute walk from the train station and ferries as well as being near a lot of fun restaraunts and clubs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ramblinAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel is perfect if you want a central base, reasonably priced, for very upmarket facilities. Extremely clean, very comfortable bed, cooking facilities and fantastic shower, everything you need.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is in a great location, within a comfortable walking distance to the harbour and central Auckland. The apartment was very well presented and beds extremely comfortable. Staff friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2011

Thank you for your comments our staff were very appreciative and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £76 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing