We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent appartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Paihia, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“excellent appartment”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Celestion Waldorf for one night beginning of November, as it was by far the cheapest option compared to other hotels in the CBD.
Our room was super clean, modern and especially the bed was totally comfy. Very nice and helpful reception staff.
As it was pouring that evening, we had dinner at "Little India", just next to the Hotel entrance. We can only recommend this restaurant, food was excellent.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you Iris Z for your comments. The restaurant is a great place to eat and many guests have enjoyed their food on offer. I have let our housekeeping and front desk know of your thoughts. They do work hard in making every guests stay as memorable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    599
    183
    84
    28
See reviews for
464
498
52
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here for both the semi final and final weekend of the world cup. These apartments are quite luxurious and located in a good area of Auckland. There are many shops and restaurants nearby as well as the famous Queen Street.

Our experience of this place was increased hugely by the service provided by Muse Mohamed, who works at reception. He helped us with directions, tips on what to do and where to go and provided an all round friendly service.... a good guy who has now become a friend of ours. Well done Muse.

The only sour note was when we were leaving the apartment after the semi final weekend - another employee by the name of Laseef (i think) kept calling our room from circa 10.30am onwards trying to get us checked out and out of the building... which, when paying such inflated world cup prices was quite annoying. We checked out at circa 12pm and we were hit with a $50 fine for checking out late!!!??? He was rude and emotionless when we tried to remonstrate - which was disappointing and left a sour taste.

The bulding only has one lift which sometimes leaves you waiting for a long time as there are many rooms.

Will I stay here again? Yes, if Muse serves me - no, if Laseef is still working there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for the positive comments about Muse. I have passed this on to him. The hotel has a standard checkout time of 10am which is clearly stated on our registration form.

There is a late checkout fee also mentioned on the registration form. The desk staff did try to make contact and were leanant in extending the check out time and the fee applicable for departing at 12pm. This is something standard at most hotels throughout the World.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Good value for a good place to stay.Was lucky to have top floor 1 bed apartment with amazing views over the harbour.
Good points are it's location...easy walk to Viaduct,and having Countdown Supermarket around the corner a bonus!
No parking on site,but safe parking available at a cost not far away,was the only downside.
Take your own soap,shampoo etc as only have liquid soap dispensers.
A great place to stay if you are after a room bigger than a hotel room,and it's relatively new and good value too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cater63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Our location is a big bonus for many who stay here. Countdown the Largest Food Supermarket in the CBD is only 2 minutes walk away. There is certainly a lot to see and do near Celestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed here for two and a half weeks - late september to mid October. As many have mentioned before the location is very convenient, tons of cafes, restaurants and bars virtually on your doorstep, I recommend the thai cafe Zap 2 - best thai ever and really reasonable. 24/7 countdown supermarket minutes away - great at 3am when you have the munchies.
Use of a gym and lap pool across the road, entry is via a card which you obtain from reception. Laundry facilities are available for which you buy tokens from reception.
Spacious apartment with all mod cons, a comfortable bed but the bedroom wasn't big. As we were staying far longer than most people the apartment was supposed to have been serviced twice a week, reception did not advise us of this and indeed on the first week it wasn't serviced midweek at all.
The shower whilst fairly powerful, is not situated high enough and so if you are 6ft or over you will have to wash in stages, the shower door also leaked. No heated towel radiator so towels were draped over the chairs in the main apartment to dry. Heating was by the air conditioning unit at the opposite end of the apartment to where we were seated and it took a while to warm the whole apartment up.
In an age of "going green" the windows were not double glazed - this was rather baffling to us as the property is on a really busy junction so would shut out some of the traffic noise and ensure better insulation, I slept with ear plugs in each night as the ducting ran through the bedroom and so made sleep impossible for me and I am not a light sleeper.
There is no service lift and staff have no alternative but to use the only available lift, not good when you can't even walk up the stairs as the doors will not open from the outside.
Internet access was via a cable for which you had a choice of tariffs to buy. Wifi?
We were on the fifteenth floor and had a balcony, and we were able to enjoy some spring sunshine.
If I had stayed here for only a couple of days then I dare say that my moans would not be quite so extensive, when you have to live somewhere then you see the failings in greater detail.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner of beach and anzac i.e the front of the building you walk in-much bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsb1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
We appreciate your comments and are in the process of investigating WIFI for the building. Like most businesses it is only through customer feedback can we improve. In regards to the air duct the noise can be stopped by removing the card from the power socket. Our team is always on hand to assist if there is an issue.

Our aircon units are industry standard and majority of the hotels in NZ have something similar. in heat mode is does take a couple of minutes to heat up and disperse.

The stairwells are a fire exit and by law must be locked from the outside but thank you for mentioning this as we are looking at options available to improve the speediness of our lifts.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Hotel was in decent position but room was cosy ie bedroom had two doors as there wasn't enough room at foot of bed. Parking wasn't onsite and with no street parking out front you have to plan your arrival. Book online for best rate ie xpedia or similar

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Our rooms are uniquely designed. There is off street parking on Emily Place or we have two great parking locations available for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed here for two nights in August while in Auckland for a show. Great value for money and a good location. It was great to have an apartment for this price. It was on the small side, but functional. We did not have a view - only the neighboring building. Felt a bit hemmed in for that reason, but we would stay again as feel it is good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thanks for the comments and we look forward to seeing you agin for the next time you are up here for a show!!! With Vector Arena only 5 minutes walk and the city central also 5 minutes away you are very well placed to take advantage of what the city has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerobokan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Staying at the Waldorf Celestion for the Rugby World Cup final. Yes, prices for any accommodation in NZ for this tournament have been hyper-inflated, regrettably. But quality stands out...and this place has it in spades. Funky decor throughout, tasty interior design, very friendly and helpful reception staff and the apartments are excellent. We had a 2 bed unit, great space, large bedrooms, very comfortable beds and pillows, large lounge/dining area with kitchenette and a balcony to kick back on a great extra. We smiled the moment the door to our apartment was opened and it has been hard to wipe that smile from our faces! We have loved our stay - simple. A must if you find yourself heading to Auckland!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MenariOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
A pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to seeing you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing