We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Spent a week here with my wife. Nicely appointed apartment, ours was one bedroom plus study, but study was easily big enough to be a second bedroom. Good location, close to Britomart and good Japanese restaurants + ramen place within walking distance. We were impressed with our cosy home away from home and would gladly return here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porkpiegaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    594
    177
    82
    27
See reviews for
460
488
52
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Reading all the good reviews about this hotel, we decided to book a two-bedroom family apartment for our short two-night stay in Auckland. The location of the hotel was great, close to shopping centers and bus stops. However, this did not make up for the quality of the hotel itself.
The receptionists were unfriendly and did not provide any information about the room, check-in/out time, etc. The room was dark, one of the light in the living room wasn't working properly. Cleaning was inadequate, there was white patches at the corner of the door and the bathroom still has the amoniac smell (maybe of urine). All the rooms were dusty. My duvet had dark red/brown stain (which looked a lot like blood) on it. I requested duvet to be changed the next day and the receptionist was very helpful in this istance and promised to ask the cleaners to change it when servicing the room. However, when I came back, the duvet still had stains on it. I wonder if it was changed at all or all the duvets in this hotel were this uncleaned. Our family felt very uncomfortable in this hotel and did not have good sleep due to the fear of unhygienic sheets, furniture and the surroundings in general. If we had had to stay for more than 2 nights, we probably would have moved to a different hotel.
This is a terrible hotel, definitely not recommended for any short or long term stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sapih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Sapih, thank you for your comments regarding your stay. It is definately not an experience i want any guest staying at Celestion to come across. I am concerned that the room wasnt cleaned and the stains you've mentioned are surprising. We check our rooms / beds regularly. Did you request to move rooms? Our rooms are kept to a high standard and this is reflected in our guest comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed one night before flew back to the states. The apartment building is in a good location, about 10-15 minutes’ walk from the viaduct harbour. The staffs were courteous and helpful. The 2-bedroom unit we stayed was clean and well-maintained. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was that it would offer paid internet service according to its website. Since my husband was on a working holiday, he needed the internet access for his work laptop. However, the unit we stayed did not have a working internet connection. After we spoke to the front desk, a staff came to our unit to check it. Then we were told the problem was caused by the internet service provider and he would try to contact them to fix the problem but no guarantee whether it would be resolved anytime soon because it was late in the day. We asked him if we could switch to a different unit, he told us that the whole building was fully booked during that weekend. Well, lucky us! So if you really need an in-room internet connection, you might call the front desk to secure a unit with such a feature when you make your reservation.

If you have to bring your car, you’d better call ahead to reserve an on-site park space. As other reviewer have mentioned, it is difficult to find a space in front of the apartment entrance to load/unload luggages. I paid NZD$20 for one night parking for the convenience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger62z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary a few weeks ago. We usually stay at a hotel on Hobson Street but wanted a change this time as we felt that our usual place had become a little weary.
The Celestion was a lovely surprise and very good value. The apartment was much larger than we expected and ideally located for central Auckland. It was clean, modern and relaxing - we will definitely stay again on our next visit.
I was a wee bit annoyed with myself though because I left a packet of Tunnocks Teacakes that I bought from Smith & Caugheys in the cupboard (I was sooo looking forward to eating those!) and also my Next magazine which I hadn't even read!

Room Tip: We chose a higher room to get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This hotel was incredible value so we were not expecting too much and it isn't in the best part of town but in reality only a short walk away from it. The common areas of the floor we stayed on must be about to be renovated and were incredibly dingy but the apartment was excellent! We were over the moon. Two bedrooms, sitting room well equipped kitchen, balcony - couldn't ask for more. The reception staff were very helpful indeed and provided a detailed map to access the car park which is a bit of a hike with luggage.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickytraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We have been in Waldorf Celestion for an extended stay of 16 weeks until this month.We have great time as the location of this apartment5 hotel is very central nad very suitable for extended stay.It is only 600-700 from the mail Auckland rail & bus station, 200 m from a 24/7 lrage Countdown supoermarket and variety of good quality ,reasoably price restaurants & coffee shops. We shared ( me & a girl freind) a lovely 2 bedroom hotel apartment on the 6th floor which has very modern kitchen & nice veranda( she smokes).Cheap & quick interner service (only NZ$30 per week). Very secure complex with 24 hours a day reception and security.Excellent rental based on weekly rate.Great quality-highly recomended

Room Tip: try to get the weekly rate these rates are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salimdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The apartment was just right for us. We had two bedrooms (tightly packed) and a kitchen. The location was great since we didn't have to climb a hill to get there. Staff was friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was excellent.

Room Tip: See the web site for room choices for number of bedrooms, etc. All the same type rooms are the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfitball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing