We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money… but fairly no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 28 December 2011

With a good location in Auckland, the Celestion Waldorf provided us with a fully functional service apartment for a great value. While not a luxury experience, the hotel definitely provided utility for a good price.

+++:
Value: Housing up to five people, the 2-bedroom apartment with full kitchen amounted to less than US$20 per person. The apartment itself isn’t that spacious, but the rooms could (fairly) comfortably accommodate us, and there was even a dining table. Good location in the center of Auckland, too.

---:
Bathroom: Nothing overly bad about the bathroom, but the water pressure in the shower was quite low, and the shower itself seemed very fragile (the floor kept shaking).

Amenities: Fairly no frills, so for toiletries only shampoo and a soap bar provided. Funnily enough, they provided shoe shine…

No wifi: But wired internet was provided at a price

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesjen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed 2 nights in March.
On my arrival, the front desk staff was discourteous. As I had an apartment I didn’t need them anymore.
I was at the 15th floor but the view from this hotel is not special, because the buildings opposite the hotel look anonymous.
The apartment number 1504 was big and beautiful, I was alone so it was really spacious. It was very clean and comfortable. The furniture and interior design were modern and functional. It had a nice balcony, furnished. The bathroom was nice too. I felt like being at home.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bimbo_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We were happy with the hotel and didn't experience any of the small issues mentioned by other reviewers. There is free parking, but it is a bit of a walk (about 5 minutes walk). It is just behind the other Waldorf. This Waldorf is closer to the food and action though, so we were happy we chose this hotel. Place was clean and nicely done up, used the kitchen quite a bit with no problems.

Room Tip: we had a higher floor and in the back and didn't hear any noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hassanScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We had a great 2 bedroom suit it was spacious and nicely furnished. We asked for a quiet room and we had a room at the back that was so quiet we had our best sleeps in all of NZ. The beds were great. The room had a nice balcony. The little kitchen was compact and worked well. It even had a dishwasher. We could walk to most restaurants or the ferry terminals. The free city bus was less than 5 minutes away walking. For us the location was perfect. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We would stay there next time we are in Auckland.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveladventure07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Huge apartment in highrise for a very reasonable rate in close walking distance to the water and downtown restaurants. Full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, living room. Quiet despite being in downtown area. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamBroBra_Intl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Spent a week here with my wife. Nicely appointed apartment, ours was one bedroom plus study, but study was easily big enough to be a second bedroom. Good location, close to Britomart and good Japanese restaurants + ramen place within walking distance. We were impressed with our cosy home away from home and would gladly return here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porkpiegaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Reading all the good reviews about this hotel, we decided to book a two-bedroom family apartment for our short two-night stay in Auckland. The location of the hotel was great, close to shopping centers and bus stops. However, this did not make up for the quality of the hotel itself.
The receptionists were unfriendly and did not provide any information about the room, check-in/out time, etc. The room was dark, one of the light in the living room wasn't working properly. Cleaning was inadequate, there was white patches at the corner of the door and the bathroom still has the amoniac smell (maybe of urine). All the rooms were dusty. My duvet had dark red/brown stain (which looked a lot like blood) on it. I requested duvet to be changed the next day and the receptionist was very helpful in this istance and promised to ask the cleaners to change it when servicing the room. However, when I came back, the duvet still had stains on it. I wonder if it was changed at all or all the duvets in this hotel were this uncleaned. Our family felt very uncomfortable in this hotel and did not have good sleep due to the fear of unhygienic sheets, furniture and the surroundings in general. If we had had to stay for more than 2 nights, we probably would have moved to a different hotel.
This is a terrible hotel, definitely not recommended for any short or long term stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sapih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Sapih, thank you for your comments regarding your stay. It is definately not an experience i want any guest staying at Celestion to come across. I am concerned that the room wasnt cleaned and the stains you've mentioned are surprising. We check our rooms / beds regularly. Did you request to move rooms? Our rooms are kept to a high standard and this is reflected in our guest comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £80 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing