We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and handy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Celestion Waldorf is a very nice hotel/apartment complex located in great proximity to Vector Arena, so fantastic if you are looking to head to a concert. Located right on Anzac Avenue, the entrance is however a little difficult to see and my GPS even struggled to tell me when I had come across it, but when you do arrive at your location, it really is a great find.

Hidden behind what could look like any other shopfront is some of the best accommodation I have had the pleasure of staying in in Auckland city for the rate that we paid, which worked out to be around $65.00 each between four of us. One thing you will need to be aware of however is that there is no attached parking for this hotel and you will need to utilise offsite parking. The hotel front desk advised that we use a carpark across the road at $18.00 per night, which is not too bad, but just be mindful that there is really nowhere to park your car while you remove your luggage, so if you travel with a lot of luggage like me, you will be best placed to be aware of this before arriving.

Arriving into our room we found it to be very nice and tidy, however, and this is a rather large however, there was a large stream of vomit or fecal matter that had not been wiped off the front of the toilet and ran from the top of the bowl to the floor. It is things like this that can truly make or break an opinion on a hotel for me, and had this not been present I would have rated this hotel as very good.

The beds and room were presented in a good manner and were spacious enough for the four of us that occupied the room. The lack of individual soaps and shampoos being provided however made the whole experience feel a little cheaper. Soap was provided by in-built liquid dispensers.

Staff at the Celestion Waldorf were friendly, especially the young man on the front desk. It was however very awkward for both of us that I had to request in person that the mess on the front of the toilet be cleaned and he appeared to be as uncomfortable hearing it, as I was having to state it.

I would stay here again, as I said it is very close to Vector Arena and only a short distance from Queen Street. Grab a group of friends and treat yourself to a weekend away, shared between a few others it really is quite affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eyekiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I can only agree that we have a great location & we are currently looking at better signage options.
I was disappointed to read your comments and am very sorry for the problem you encountered. There are some obvious areas that we need to address and I assure you retraining in procedures and checking of apartments will be given where necessary and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you for mentioning the staff who handled this situation.
We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself.
Yours in hospitality.

Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

For 4 adult family travellers this proved a very good accommodation option in an excellent location.
2 bedroom apartment: - all clean, modern, v comfortable. Not as brightly lit as per the website photos and I never saw the advertised bar area in operation. Public area decor a ittle gloomy in spots.
24 hours reception and secure entry/exit.

Complimentary carparking is not onsite however it is perfectly do-able to pull into the side lane, unpack, check-in and then park the car.

Excellent value and close to restaurants, the water front, the Britomart precinct, a Countdown supermarket and botlle shops.

Indeed the Indian Restaurant on the foyer level served up a great take-out on our first night after a couple of lagers at Brew on Quay nearby!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pmariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for your positive feedback on the facilities Celestion has to offer. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value & location.Please let us know when you will be back as we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Kind regards


Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

very good accommodation option in a very good Auckland City location.We had a 1 bedroom plus office hotel apartment-nice,clean,modern and well equipped hotel suite.Secured hotel with 24 hours reception and security arrangement,Excellent value and near a lot of restaurants,the water front and the central rail way staion of Auckland-great accommodation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Celestion. I have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping team who work hard every day to ensure a positive guest experience. I can only agree that our location is hard to beat & I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours in hospitality

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were looking forward to the bright room with view as advertised on the website but unfortunately looked straight into the bedroom across the alley and needed lights on during the day. The room was comfortable but wish we had been warned that the carpark was quite a trek before having to haul all our bags back to the hotel after parking. A lot of noise from another carpark right outside bedroom window. Good location though to the CBD and Viaduct.

Room Tip: Ask where the room is situated first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate both the great comments and the 'no so great comments that our guests provide to us. We are limited for carparks onsite which always have to be booked.Our staff are there 24 hrs a day to provide our guests with options if they are not happy with an apartment & I do appreciate your comments on our proximity to different areas. We do hope to see you again.

Best regards


Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

we came to New Zealand for a visit. The 2 bedroom room was perfect for our short stay--the room was clean, we had a good view of the City Skyline ., facilities were very good and there was a complimentary parking as well.Excellent value we got via the intenet Everything was convenient. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good location to move around the city. Bus stops were close by. Would consider staying there again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggielam00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location and staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality

Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights and loved it since day one. Despite the hallways being slightly 'dark and creepy/ gray walls with dim lighting' the location, service, friendly staff and room were excellent! As a self-contained unit, I loved the the fact the couch was just was comfy as the bed lol. I kid you not, after working 10hrs a day and coming back to the apartment, passing out on the couch was just as comfy as sleeping on the bed - you really feel at home. In terms of noise from traffic, just close the sliding door and you're sweet. You

All in all, it was a great place to stay on such a short visit and definitely would come back on more business trips as it's walking distance to Countdown, restaurants and central city!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Simata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear valued guest,

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such a review on your experience at Celestion Hotel Apartments. Our hotel is committed to the satisfaction of our guests & we strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we truly value the opinions of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We only had one night in Auckland and stayed at the Celestion. Close to take away spots, a "countdown" for groceries and shopping. Clean facilities and friendly and efficient staff at reception. Was hoping there would be a washing machine in the room, unfortunately not, and only the one bathroom also slightly disappointing. Apart from that was happy with the level of service and facilities.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank 5holdens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We take the comments of our guests
very seriously, as our goal is to always improve on meeting and exceeding expectations. We do have apartments that have washing machines in them & there are suites with two toilets. I am pleased that you were happy with the service & facilities as we undergo constant change to improve the guest experience and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this.

Yours in hospitality


Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
755 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £86 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing