We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Whilst this hotel appears modern and functional, it lacks good customer service and has one of the noisiest ventilation systems we have ever experienced. Neither my partner nor I slept in the noisy master bedroom as the sound from the ventilation system was incredibly loud. The poor customer service related to the afternoon check in staff. Appalling.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank CalleyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am concerned that you did not receive a high level of customer service which is what we have prided ourselves on providing to our guests & I ask that you contact me directly on 09 280 22 00 so I can address this situation. I have passed on your feedback to staff as it can only help to make us better.
We will now implement changes & I would welcome the opportunity to create a better experience where we can demonstrate superior customer service.

Kind regards


Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We booked here to attend a show at Vector Arena which is about 3 minutes very easy walk from here.
The room was lovely and we were upgraded to the 14th floor so the views were great.
Having Little India on the ground floor also worked well as we ordered takeaways then brought them up to our rooms and sat looking out at the harbour and drinking our own wine.
Parking is a bit of a pain as it was about a block away but as it was nice weather this wasn't too bad. Not sure how I would feel on a wet and wild day.
Shower pressure sucked but otherwise all was good.

Room Tip: The higher up the better as the views over the harbour are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Celestion Hotel.
We appreciate your comments on our proximity to different areas & that there are some great views from both Towers. We hope to see you again soon & take this opportunity to suggest that you email or ring us for parking onsite where you can drive into our driveway & straight into our onsite parking which is very popular & always requires booking.

Best regards


Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We booked 2 Rooms here for the Beyonce concert. When we arrived there a lady served us who was not helpful at all but when the Manager walked into the Reception area she changed her tone and was more helpful towards us. When we got into our room the first thing we noticed was there was hair in the basin area,when we made our way to the rooms there was 1 room with a Queen bed and 1 rooms with 2 single beds. When I moved the single beds together there was rubbish all under the beds from the last people staying in the room and there were marks on the top duvet cover. The balcony had smoke butts and rubbish on the ground and the kitchen bench top had margarine marks left on it.
There were pots and pans missing from the room and if we hadn't noticed that there was missing pots and pans I am pretty sure they would of charged us for it. When we phoned the Reception they sent some guy up who was so apologetic and lovely. A housekeeper then came up to change the Duvet cover but asked if she could leave the duvet on the table for us to do as she didnt want to go into the room because my nephew was in there which was fair enough. Overall the amount of money we paid for our accommodation which was $1029 NZ Dollars for 2 nights was not worth it. I personally will never stay here again alongside my family have sworn this is a place to avoid. Word has spread on how appauling the cleanliness was here. It's a shame because the 2 Managers were actually really lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest,

I was disappointed to read your comments and am very sorry for the problems you encountered. There are some obvious areas that we need to address and I assure you retraining in both procedures at Front Desk and Housekeeping will be given where necessary and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. I would very much like to hear from you in person if you have the time. I can be reached on 09 280 22 00.

We do hope that you return to The Celestion Hotel to experience us in a more positive light and I ask that you contact me prior to your arrival.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards

Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked a 2 room apartment here for one night only to attend a concert at the nearby Vector Arena. The apartment was very compact, very clean and tidy, the staff were excellent, and although the view from the balcony was rather uninspiring, was very good value for money. The proximity to the bottom of town, its many bars and restaurants, plus the previously mentioned Vector Arena made this place an obvious choice for us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyvose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location and staff which I have passed on your comments. Please don't hesitate to ask for an apartment with a view on your next stay as each of the towers are different.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards

Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a very spacious apartment in the rear of the hotel, well appointed, including the kitchenette, very clean. The location is good, easy walk to the quays for ferries, Maritime Museum and restaurants, but no well stocked supermarket nearby. A pity that wifi is not free.

Room Tip: I think that apartments on the Anzac Road side of the building could be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our large and clean rooms. We are very close to many shops, restaurants, bars & the 24 hour countdown located conveniently across from Celestion We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards


Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here with friends when attending a show at the Vector Arena. We were very happy with our apartment. It was clean, well appointed, had comfy beds, good pillows and linen and had everything we needed. We parked overnight in the car park building just a bit further up the hill on Anzac Avenue and it was very reasonable. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We always appreciate the positive comments left by our guests& we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our large and clean rooms which I haver passed your comments on to our executive housekeeper & her team. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A great place to stay for a family wishing to see Auckland. Just minutes away from the CBD and ferries. The 2 bedroom apartment is clean, modern and excellently appointed. A fantastic base to explore all that Auckland has to offer

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us & thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value & location. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards


Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £80 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing