We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I spent five nights at this hotel in early November. Our rooms were located in the back tower, so all was quiet. We had two separate balconies that afforded great views of the city. The hotel is only a few blocks from pedestrian friendly Fort street as well as the pubs on Vulcan. A longer walk can take you the Parnell district, the museum at the top of the hill (which was excellent, well worth the money) or the downtown area. Also only a few blocks to the ferry terminal. The front desk were extremely helpful with tips on what to see in Auckland. There is an Indian restaurant attached to the hotel with good though pricey tandoori fare. Also close by is a huge supermarket. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We liked our upper floor room in the back tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sleigher48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and their service with a smile, as well as the amenities our hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! On behalf of the tyeam at Celestion we wish ypou a very Merry Xmas & a prosperous New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

very modern welcoming accommodation in a central Auckand city location.near the railway station and the main waterfront area.our 1 bedroom plus study apartment was nicely furnished and with good quality kitchen. Very secured and quite regardless of its central location.very good value

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiespikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments on our proximity to different areas. We hope to see you again soon.
On behalf of Management & the team at Celestion we wish you a very Merry Xmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were disappointed with this accommodation although it had looked good initially. Our first impression when entering the building was that is was rather dark and dreary. Our apartment was adequate but basis. The second bedroom did not have a window which was rather odd. When we were due to leave we were hassled first by the front desk who rang to remind us that we had to be out of the apartment by 10.00am and then by the Housekeeper who knocked on the door asking when we were leaving (this was before check out time). Having said all this, the apartment was clean and well situated for walking into Auckland. There is a large supermarket close by which is useful if you are self-catering. Even so, should we visit Auckland again we would look for alternative accommodation though not sure what else is available in the same price bracket.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vse40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate both the great comments, and the 'no so great'
comments that our valued guests provide to us. It is based on this feedback, that we are able to deal with issues & implement changes to ensure guest satisfaction. Celestion has a unique industrial look which is quirky & different but not everyone's taste!
We take this opportunity to wish you a very merry Xmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

After arriving from a very long 23 hour flight, we were not only please that received an early check in, but we got upgraded as well. Delights for our first day in Auckland.

The staff were courtious and expedient on check in, and the room we had( 1604) on the top floor had partial view of the harbour basin. The superior room was really spacious, and well appointed, and had it not been for the fact that we were only booked here for the night, I would gladly recommend this establishment for longer stays.

5 minutes walk down to the viaduct area in the Auckland waterfront, brings you to a myriad of restuarants, although if you wanted to self cater, the room provides execllant facilities to serve this option.

Waldorf Celestion apartments is deffinitly great value for money, and can reccomend this establishment

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor so it was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to hear that everything went smoothly for your entire stay, from a prompt check-in process to the service received from our staff. We appreciate your comments on our proximity to different areas.

Please let us know when you will be back! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The flat was well furnished and the building is located very close to city center (Britomart).
The staff is helpful.
The aerobus to join the aiport will leave you at about 500m from the hotel.
24/24 food shops is just under to cook or just eat something.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location and staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Celestrion; one on our arrival and two after touring the North Island. Both rooms were on the 11th floor in the adjoining building and consisted of the main sitting room with TV and kitchenette, bedroom with deck, bathroom and a spare room which offers an office and a good place to store your suitcases. The view was limited but we really weren't there to sit on the room and look out over the city. The rooms are clean and functional. We are not fans of shower gels, and if you agree suggest you bring your own soap and shampoo, but all the other bathroom supplies were fine. The hotel is about 2 blocks from one end of the Britomart and its array of restaurants, and right next to Fort Street which again has good restaurants and bars. We returned to Auckland by train and the station is just an extra block away at the other end of the Britomart. The dockside and ferries, yacht harbour and central Auckland are from 4-5 blocks to kilometer or so away and a comfortable walk. The hotel is also well positioned to easily access the highway going north or south (even for NA drivers), and close to car rental agents. The desk staff were also helpful. Our luggage did not arrive with us and they were very helpful contacting the airlines and helping reroute it once it arrived to our next stop. They also attended to our luggage when we had to store it. A well located and well appointed accommodations for the newly arrived or returning traveller/tourist.

Room Tip: Our room in the adjacent building and on the 11th floor was quiet with a reasonable view across cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We take the comments of our guests
very seriously, as our goal is to always improve on meeting and exceeding expectations.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future & take this opportunity to let you know our hotel always has a supply of amenities to offer our guests which includes soap, shampoo, conditioner, moisturisers, etc. We would like to wish you a very Merry Xmas & a wonderful New Year.
Best regards


Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed two nights here. The apartments are really big with plenty of space. Mine had a bedroom, lounge/dining room/kitchen (well appointed, plenty of tea and coffee etc), big bathroom and a spare room too as well as two balconies.

The reception and the floor landings could be tidied up a bit but overall this is a great place to stay in a fairly central location. It's about five minutes to a britomart station with a supermarket and plenty of food outlets nearby.

Minor quibbles - the wifi isn't free ($10 for a day, but a good signal) and in my room (1508) there was a constant noise like an air conditioning unit coming from the ceiling in the bedroom. But I'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robot3021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for for taking the time to write your review on your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments on our proximity to different areas & we are presently looking at getting the 'fresh air units serviced. We hope to see you soon & wish you a Merry Xmas & a very Happy New Year!
Best regards


Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
951 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £79 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing