We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic accommodation for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodation for a family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Waldorf Celestion twice at the start and finish of our family holiday in NZ. Here are a few points to help families:
- there are washing machines in some, but not all two bedroom apartments, apartment1006 had a washing machine, but not room 5006. None of the apartments has a dryer or a clothes line, so it is difficult to dry washed clothing.
- the single toilet is in the single bathroom, so there can be a queue for the shower and toilet in the mornings for a family of 4 adults like ours
- the rooms are not serviced for stays of 3 days or less as these are apartments, not serviced apartments. Only one towel per person per stay is provided so you need to hang the towels over the balcony chairs to get them dry each day.
- supplies in the apartments are limited e.g. We were given 1 roll of toilet paper for 4 adults for a 2 day stay. But another roll was promptly provided when we asked.
- no soap or shampoo is provided, only a body wash dispenser in the shower and beside the hand basin. On our first visit, the dispenser in the shower was empty but replenished when we asked.
- the location of the apartments is very close to Britomart, shopping and the ferry terminal, and about a 15 minute uphill walk to the Sky Tower, so very convenient as a base for sightseeing. Lots of restaurants close by ranging from budget to upscale. Lots of convenience stores also close by and a large New World supermarket only 3 blocks away.
- we discovered by accident the great farmers market which takes place every Saturday morning 2 blocks away between the Britomart and Westpac building - great food and produce at very cheap prices but only operates until 12 noon.
- front desk staff very helpful and courteous.
- if you have your own car, be aware that the parking provided offsite about 3 blocks away in the Britomart car park is expensive at $18.50 per day and charged extra. You cannot park in the street outside the apartments to check in or out as it faces a busy clear way. There is a very narrow side driveway that fits only 1 car, and if this is already occupied there is nowhere else to park to unload or load luggage and people.
- would rate the apartments 3 star rather than 4 star.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the time it takes to write a review. The feedback you have provided has been very instrumental in implementing changes at Celestion.

We look forward to having you back to our hotel in the near future, where you will experience complimentary shampoos & conditioners & Clothes Airers for guests to dry washing.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    590
    177
    81
    27
See reviews for
458
484
52
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nice and good value modern apartment stay during our 2 days in Auckland. The unit is spacious with excellent kitchen facilities and have 2 separate bedrooms. Living and dining area is spacious and clean. Perfect for a family. Close to the waterfront area, britomart and amenities. Only minor issue is that carparking is across the road at the britomart centre, but parking is secured. Great location

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afoo306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our large and clean rooms. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for New Years and we were not disappointed!!! Industrial, modern and spacious apartment with everything you could need including kitchen, sectional, bathroom, study and bedroom. We had a high floor with a city view and a large balcony. WiFi is not free but it works well if you pay a modest fee. You are within walking distance to everything in the city, the harbor, even the shops on Queen Street and the bars on Vulcan! The front desk was very helpful and friendly with good tips on where to go to see the fireworks, where to eat, and airport shuttles etc. thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LCM N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our apartment, location and staff. I and the entire staff at our apartment-hotel thank you for staying with us and for your great feedback and we'd love to see you here again. Wish you a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Good combination of location,value and quality accommodation. In Auckland.we stayed for a3 night stay in a very attractive one bed plus studio suite with great kitchen and veranda for my smoking habit. Excellent value for money and good friendly service.close to the railway station,Queen Street and the waterfront area.good selection of restaurants include a no site one

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardine0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location and staff. We hope to see you again soon! On behalf of the team at Celestion we would like to wish you a fabulous New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Very central to britomart and seafront. We stayed on the 16th floor. Good views and big balcony, 2 bedroom place but only 2 outside chairs and a very small table. A little bit of traffic noise outside but pretty quiet inside. Nice big dining table and comfy seating. No oven but quite well equipped kitchen with dishwasher. Would have loved a 4 piece toaster! Great service when the hair dryer died, straight up with another. Also very helpful when we couldn't figure out the wireless, they came up twice to fix it. Big tv and iPod stereo. Lovely big shower. Big bedrooms.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Juliettechristieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and their service with a smile, as well as the amenities our hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! On behalf of the team at Celestion we take this opportunity to wish you a very Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We chose a two-bedroom unit on a high floor and were not disappointed. The apartment was spacious and included a large balcony with a great view. The beds were comfortable, though the bedrooms were small. Our unit had one bathroom, which was modern and pleasant. Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful with transportation (including local bus) and tourist information. A self-serve Laundromat is available in the building for a fee. Internet also has a fee. The building is located in a fairly non-descript immediate neighborhood but is only a few blocks and an easy walk to the harbor, the Sky Tower complex, and other attractions. No service is provided in the apartments for short stays, so you need to make your own bed and keep your bathroom tidy on your own.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, and your kind words. We take the comments of our guests
very seriously, as our goal is to always improve on meeting and exceeding expectations. We
are very proud of our reception staff at Celestion, they have built a reputation of providing great service through their hard work and dedication to guest satisfaction.

Yours in hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Great 2 bedroom hotel apartment in a very central location in Auckland.We like the decor,the apartment was modern abd well equipped and we got a weekly rate which was a very good value, v\ery secured and friendly hotel to stay in Auckland City

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nabilgaloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and their service with a smile, as well as the amenities our hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
On behalf of Management & Staff Celestion wishes you a very Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing